Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 25

Author Topic: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?  (Read 35383 times)

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #135 on: January 26, 2018, 06:06:21 PM »

Thanks Stuart, that should mean four weeks or so and I should be able to order.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3030
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #136 on: January 26, 2018, 06:24:42 PM »

I'm still watching for them to dig up our road, nothing showing yet in next 12 months. They are working all round here just not in our road.  :'(

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #137 on: January 27, 2018, 09:03:15 AM »

I also keep having a look at your road, they will do it as they've done the side roads. Bit like my road was left to last in our area.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

hornet156

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #138 on: January 27, 2018, 06:52:49 PM »

oh sounds promising maybe it will be ready b4 my bt contract ends hope so
Logged

hornet156

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #139 on: February 02, 2018, 12:09:27 PM »

lots of workers working on the little gray cabinets today on the wimpy
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #140 on: February 02, 2018, 01:21:57 PM »

Thanks for the info, I miss stuff like that as I'm off to work before they start and home after they've finished.

Sounds like things are progressing well, hopefully won't be long before we can order  :fingers:

I've started things in motion by moving my email to a dictated system (hosted by d2d4j) to get away from ISP hosted email.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

beeblebrox

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #141 on: February 07, 2018, 10:05:43 PM »

Hi. Been lurking and keeping my eye on this thread for a while. Got a letter from Virgin today and looks like work is about to start on the roads around Budgens in Broadstairs, Fourdon, Percy, Walmsley, Ethel etc.. Have been with Sky for 7 years, but now out of contract with them so have moved over to NowTV for broadband (fibre) and phone on a rolling monthly contract. Hopefully not too long before Virgin offers some nice deals for us in Thanet. Slightly put off about the amount of complaints on the VM forums about the Hub 3 ping\latency issues. Main thread is 290 pages long! Big house of gamers here so lag will not go down well... Could be a while before it's all ready anyway, so hopefully that will be fixed by then.

Anyone here actually up and running with VM in Thanet yet?


Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #142 on: February 07, 2018, 10:50:15 PM »

There's somebody in Westgate/Garlinge area on the TBB forums that posted on the 3rd December to say they are up and running.

PS beeblebrox welcome to the forums, I've lost count of how many locals we have on here now.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2018, 10:52:40 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

beeblebrox

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #143 on: February 08, 2018, 12:03:42 PM »

Cheers Ronski  :cool:

I'll have a chat with the workers when they appear in my road (next week I believe), and see if I can glean any further info.
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #144 on: February 08, 2018, 01:25:46 PM »

They won't know much, keep a look out for your hub cabinet, it's the large grey cabinet. They do the ground work then put a yellow cover over it, once the hub cabinet is stood it's about 5 or 6 weeks to being live I think.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

CharTang

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • YouTube
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #145 on: February 21, 2018, 04:48:27 PM »

Hey everyone, another person who has been stalking this thread for pretty much its existence here, I too am close to the Hub opposite Harvester/KFC it's been up for about 3 or 4 weeks now (I go past almost every day) so hopefully only a couple more weeks of waiting and I can get off this depressing 7.5down/0.75up that I have been stuck with since February last year haha, feels like an eternity ago I first heard Virgin were coming to the area.
Logged
I reject your reality and substitute my own.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #146 on: February 21, 2018, 06:42:36 PM »

Hi CharTang and welcome to the forums, you must be one of a handful that is on cabinet 9 I'm guessing, as every other cabinet in the area has FTTC.

Hopefully it should not be much longer before we go live.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

CharTang

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • YouTube
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #147 on: February 23, 2018, 02:33:13 AM »

Hey Ronski.

Yeah cabinet 9 indeed rather frustrating, strange that every other cabinet in the area is FTTC but hopefully that wont matter for much long.
Logged
I reject your reality and substitute my own.

supernoodles

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #148 on: February 23, 2018, 01:51:43 PM »

They finished digging up clements road (ramsgate) in december had a couple of guys back and forth doing wires in the small cabinets over the past few weeks and the big cabinet is done at the end of the road but still no sign of being able to order =/ call them atleast once a week and no info still also noticed they are going back to pysons road again on the 28th of feb.

I'm getting close to the end of my contract with plusnet getting fedup of this 38meg down because of the aluminium cables in the road.

You'd think the call centers would atleast have a rough date for area's going live

Interestingly on the DSL Checker site it shows im on Cab 18 and that FTTP on Demand is Available

« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 01:59:26 PM by supernoodles »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
Re: Virgin Media coming to Thanet?
« Reply #149 on: February 23, 2018, 03:37:33 PM »

Hi supernoodles, welcome to the forums.

It will show FTTPod on most fibre enabled cabinets these days, but unless you're willing to pay potentially thousands of  pounds in construction costs its not even worth thinking about.

Hopefully won't be long before VM is live, I've been checking on the website, it still says they are not in my area  ???
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 03:40:35 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 25
 

anything