Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.  (Read 4961 times)

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« on: April 25, 2008, 02:10:05 AM »

Basically my PC won't go into System standby.
(This is not the same PC that I have a similar problem with "that's a power supply problem")

I use this setting sometimes:-

3 minutes "Turn off monitor"
5 minutes "Turn off hard disks
10 minutes "System standby"

After 3 minutes, yes the monitor goes off and after a further 5 minutes the HDD powers down, but, after a further 10 minutes, the monitor comes back on and then goes through the whole cycle again without ever switching off into standby.

It seems very strange that it is exactly the same 10 minutes each time, the time when it should be turning off, so I don't think it is something checking the PC to keep it running.

Might anyone have any suggestions as to what to look for or check please.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8386
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

Yorkie

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1432
  • I'm working on my warm and fluffy side
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2008, 02:30:06 PM »

Gremlins, pesky little blighters, run up and down your motherboard causing havoc.

I had a similar problem about five months ago, I don't know what caused it or what resolved it. It stopped going into power save or hibernation for about a week and then started behaving normally again. I did all the usual scans, but nothing showed up.

Yorkie
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2008, 02:40:05 PM »

Thanks floydoid.

I have had a quick look at the links but none of them seem to be appropriate to this situation.
This is a new PC so all of the equipment is pretty-well up-to-date and no USB speakers.

One of the nearest things that could be the suspect sounds like at the appropriate time something is activating writing to a log file, thus starting the cycle over again.

I will try it later tonight, but this time with it disconnected from the network.

(On my previous XP networked PC it used to work OK which is why I have not thought before of it being network related)


Warning - while you were typing a new reply has been posted. You may wish to review your post.

It stopped going into power save or hibernation

Thanks yorkie
I never use Hibernation, but will give that a try out of curiosity.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2008, 02:42:41 PM by oldfogy »
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8386
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2008, 03:35:14 PM »

Personally I've never used stand by mode, so I don't know if it works or not on my system.  I prefer to shut right down when I've finished using it.
Logged
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams, Mostly Harmless

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2008, 03:58:01 PM »

 I tried the hibernate mode and it worked (the first time.)
 Then the second time I changed the hibernate to "Never" and it seemed to to go into standby okay. Which is good.

Now going back to the original Hibernate settings, because I forgot to listen to find out if the internal fan had turned off, after a brief time the PC re-booted again with the message "Resuming windows etc".
So for some unforeseen reason it "now" does not like that setting because it's now re-booted on four occasions.


"Well what can I say", I was just about to close this post when the other PC now actually went into hibernation.
Forget that, "it's just woke back up"
It seems to have a mind of it's own.

I will get back "LATER" with any update info which I may have.
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2008, 04:06:22 PM »

Just had a thought, it could be the wakeup settings in the BIOS... there's all sorts of things that will wake the PC up - network activity, Wake-on-LAN magic packets... etc.

Might be worth a delve into the BIOS and look at Power Management settings to see if there's anything to do with waking the PC - if so, disable them!
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2008, 04:28:12 PM »

>> Then the second time I changed the hibernate to "Never" and it seemed to to go into standby okay. Which is good.

Having gone back and left Hibernate set to never and all other times as previously mentioned.
The PC has now been in standby for some time (since my last post)

So if it "partially works" I can't really see it being a BIOS setting. (but thanks for the reminder)
But a MS software setting problem.
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2008, 04:33:45 PM »

If you make sure the BIOS is set to S3 (Suspend To RAM or STR), then Suspend mode should turn of all the fans anyway.
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2008, 05:49:32 PM »

Phoenix - Award-BIOS
I can't find this setting: (Suspend To RAM or STR),

Power Management Settings:

Original settings are:
1. PS/2 KB Wake-up From S3 ................ Enabled
2. PS/2 MS Wake-up From S3 ............... Enabled
3. PS/2 KB Power On ............................ Disabled
4. Intel Quick Resume Technology ........ Disabled
5. Restore On AC Power Loss ............... OFF
6. Wake-up by PCI Card  ...................... Enabled ...... Changed to .... Disabled
7. Power On by Ring  ...........................  Enabled ...... Changed to .... Disabled
8. USB KB Wake-up from S3  ...............  Enabled ...... Changed to .... Disabled
9. Resume by ALARM  ..........................  Disabled

These are the PM settings and the ones I have changed so-far, but that also has not worked.
(The numbers on the left are just for my benefit, they are not in the BIOS)

****************************

Chris
As an aside, is there any chance of you doing some sort of tutorial on how to use the "Table" function please.
I know I used it a long time ago, but all I did was to copy and replace someone else's text (yours) with my own, but forgot where it is now.
Logged

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2008, 05:58:53 PM »

Strange that the PM settings haven't worked. Maybe as you say, something in the OS, or maybe something else running that's preventing standby from working?

As regards tables, I'll draft something, probably not tonight coz I'm working in a bit.
Logged
Chris

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2008, 06:10:16 PM »

Thanks.

I'm convinced it's a software problem because in one setting it seems to work, yet change it slightly and it does not.
Logged

exo

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2927
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2008, 08:40:46 PM »

Hi, just out of curiosity, does the computer go into Standby OK  when requested via Start/ Turn Off computer?
Is the option for Standby and Hibernate shown. Pressing the shift key will alter the options.
If so, does it enter Standby when selected and still resume after 10 minutes after ensuring moue and keyboard remain untouched?

I can't find this setting: (Suspend To RAM or STR)  [OF]

Usually the first line in Power Management Setup

exo
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: XP with SP2 Won't go into Standby mode.
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2008, 09:19:32 PM »

Hi exo.


Hi, just out of curiosity, does the computer go into Standby OK  when requested via Start/ Turn Off computer?

Yes, it's goes straight into standby as you ask as I have just this second tried it, but .....
Before I tried that ....

the b****y thing is now doing what it's supposed to do.

The only thing different that I have now done is to alter the times slightly, although still using only a couple of minutes between each other.

edit:
NO it's not, it's now reverted to not working properly "again"

This thing has definitely got a mind of it's own.
It worked perfectly for about the last 45 minutes


So now I am giving up on it. "At least for the time being"
I'll just leave the standby time set very high.
I don't particularly need it, I just wanted it working, so if it works it works and if not to ** hell ** with it.

****************
Thanks to everybody for their input, but this seems to be a lost case.
Logged
 

anything