Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

Author Topic: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password  (Read 48491 times)

machare

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #90 on: May 24, 2018, 09:23:16 PM »

Have you cleared ROM-D? If you don't, you may be in for a shock if you reboot the router from the command line.
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3625
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #91 on: May 24, 2018, 11:23:44 PM »

Oops  :-[ I knew it had to something simple, thank you very much for spotting that, it now works

 You're very welcome.  :P
Logged
Talktalk FTTP 550/75 - Speedtest - BQM

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4162
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #92 on: May 25, 2018, 06:21:03 AM »

Have you cleared ROM-D? If you don't, you may be in for a shock if you reboot the router from the command line.

I haven't, please explain the implications of not doing so and the shock?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

spring

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #93 on: May 25, 2018, 10:13:02 AM »

LOL, what's that old saying, never assume anything, which means it's always worth stating what appears to be the obvious.
Too many people nowadays lash out at me if I "treat them as if they don't know", but so far this forum isn't that like.

Login in web interface as supervisor, go to Management > Configuration > there will be a ROM-D tab.
The ROM-D stores a config file that replaces the firmware config when resetting the modem, if the modem wasn't straight from ZyXEL factory [retail?] there probably is a custom config file stored there, that you would be using now (might explain why you have the same supervisor password as v10). It's as if someone you don't know took a firmware config and did stuff to it, and by my logic is a v10 config (:no:). You can save the config stored there for research purposes (um, I don't know how), and after that clearing it and using the firmware config. To use the firmware config you need to reset it again once the ROM-D was cleared :o, everyone here recommends pin reset straight after clearing the ROM-D.


Edit: Well well, would you look at that: https://kb.zyxel.com/KB/searchArticle!gwsViewDetail.action?articleOid=012662&lang=EN
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 10:38:06 AM by spring »
Logged
No one knows what is the taste of the void.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4162
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #94 on: May 25, 2018, 11:21:33 AM »

Thanks Spring, yes some people do take great offence to being told the obvious, but it's often that which trips us up. I'm now fast approaching 50 so am wiser and appreciate that.

I spent a far while this morning trying to get save_default_clean to work, in fact it was only when I read my post prior to posting another help it doesn't work post that I spotted the error, the last underscore should be a space and then it worked  ;D

The default John Lewis username has gone form the broadband configuration details, and also the supervisor password has changed to a hexadecimal one.

I think I can finally start setting it up now  :fingers:

PS. I've also got the save button back in the login privileges section, not sure if it was the webstyle command that did it, or clearing rom-d
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 11:24:05 AM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

spring

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #95 on: May 25, 2018, 11:41:27 AM »

The more recent a generation is, the general prevalency is higher.

It's clearing the ROM-D that restored the privileges Save button.

Good to know the supervisor password behind the hash is the same (I guess it's generated from hardware info).
Logged
No one knows what is the taste of the void.

DeuxEx

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #96 on: August 24, 2018, 06:34:39 AM »

Hello! Can someone make a simple step-by-step tutorial, using Putty or something else to obtain dumpmdm file? I am a noob and I don't know how to obtain my supervisor username and password.
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10258
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #97 on: August 24, 2018, 11:44:04 AM »

Welcome to the forum DeuxEx!

If I remember rightly our very own Burakkucat did such a thing a while back, now where to find it. There is a search thing that will search the entire set of posts, and it can do it by content text match or subject or both and optionally limit it to one person's posts and recent posts.



Is the following any use?https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,21936.msg378037.html#msg378037

I did a search for posts by user=Burakkucat and containing=supervisor and there are a lot so I could not go through them all, in too much pain just now
« Last Edit: August 24, 2018, 11:50:09 AM by Weaver »
Logged

DeuxEx

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #98 on: August 26, 2018, 01:25:26 PM »

Welcome to the forum DeuxEx!

If I remember rightly our very own Burakkucat did such a thing a while back, now where to find it. There is a search thing that will search the entire set of posts, and it can do it by content text match or subject or both and optionally limit it to one person's posts and recent posts.



Is the following any use?https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,21936.msg378037.html#msg378037

I did a search for posts by user=Burakkucat and containing=supervisor and there are a lot so I could not go through them all, in too much pain just now

I'm a noob to this, but thanks. I think that i have now an other problem. After a put the lates firmware, I did a reset. No I can't acces the user interface with zyuser/1234. Any solution? I also mention that user and password supervisor/zyad1234 never worked for me, not now, not before the upgrade.
If someone is willing to help me, he can access my computer through Teamviewer
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #99 on: August 26, 2018, 05:10:17 PM »

Have you tried admin/1234 ?
Logged

DeuxEx

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #100 on: August 30, 2018, 02:39:51 PM »

Yes, I did. Is not working. I also try supervisor/zyad1234 and zyuser/1234. Not working.
It has 1.00(AAPQ.15)C0 firmware version. Ca I downgrade it to an other version? That will modify the login credentials to default (admin/1234 or supervisor/zyad1234)?
Sorry for my poor english!
Logged

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #101 on: January 24, 2019, 03:23:14 PM »

Hi folks,

I've just got a VMG8924-B10A with firmware v.20 and I was able to find the supervisor password with "dumpmdm", then I've cleared ROM-D, factory reset and finally updated to the latest v.28

Now, after the update the supervisor password apparently has changed + if I telnet to the device and type the command "dumpmdm" I get the following error message:
Code: [Select]
> dumpmdm
telnetd:error:733.204:processInput:599:unrecognized command dumpmdm

The strange thing is that if I type the command "help" I get a list of the available commands and "dumpmdm" is listed...  :'(

I'm quite confused and not sure what else to do, can someone please advise ?

Tia.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34344
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #102 on: January 24, 2019, 04:45:47 PM »

Hmm . . .  :o  :hmm:
  • Have you tried "supervisor" with "zyad1234" as the password?
  • Could you roll-back the firmware image to version 20?
  • Does powering on the device whilst the reset button is held operated, until the power LED shows constant (not flashing) red, then have a firmware upload page available at the 192.168.1.1 IPv4 address?
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

hushcoden

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 403
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #103 on: January 24, 2019, 05:00:49 PM »

Also, is it normal that if I type the command "ls" I get an error message:
Code: [Select]
> ls
telnetd:error:477.203:processInput:599:unrecognized command ls

yes I did try "supervisor" with "zyad1234" and it didn't work!

And assuming I am able to roll back, then I should stay with an older firmware ?  :'(

And this the list of commands I get when I type "help":
Code: [Select]
> help
?
help
logout
exit
quit
reboot
adsl
xdslctl
xtm
loglevel
logdest
virtualserver
ddns
dumpcfg
dumpmdm
meminfo
psp
dumpsysinfo
syslog
sntp
voice
ethwanctl
wlan
wlanctl
arp
defaultgateway
dhcpserver
dhcpcondserv
igmpcmd
dns
lan
lanhosts
staticdhcp
portforward
passwd
ppp
pppoectl
firewall
dmz
snmpctl
rmtmgmt
restoredefault
route
save
swversion
uptime
cfgupdate
swupdate
exitOnIdle
wan
interfaceGroup
udpechod
tr69c
webstyle
radvdconf
vcautohunt
vlanautohunt
sys
save_default
captiveportal
celld
zyims_watchdog
wanaslan
tr064
wakeOnLan
snmp
phonetest
dhcpmachash
udpportrange
mapp
redirect
buttondisable
« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 05:03:44 PM by hushcoden »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34344
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #104 on: January 24, 2019, 06:08:59 PM »

And assuming I am able to roll back, then I should stay with an older firmware ?  :'(

That would best be discussed with other users of the same device.

Quote
And this the list of commands I get when I type "help":
Code: [Select]
> help
?
help
logout
exit
quit
reboot
adsl
xdslctl
xtm
loglevel
logdest
virtualserver
ddns
dumpcfg
dumpmdm
meminfo
psp
dumpsysinfo
syslog
sntp
voice
ethwanctl
wlan
wlanctl
arp
defaultgateway
dhcpserver
dhcpcondserv
igmpcmd
dns
lan
lanhosts
staticdhcp
portforward
passwd
ppp
pppoectl
firewall
dmz
snmpctl
rmtmgmt
restoredefault
route
save
swversion
uptime
cfgupdate
swupdate
exitOnIdle
wan
interfaceGroup
udpechod
tr69c
webstyle
radvdconf
vcautohunt
vlanautohunt
sys
save_default
captiveportal
celld
zyims_watchdog
wanaslan
tr064
wakeOnLan
snmp
phonetest
dhcpmachash
udpportrange
mapp
redirect
buttondisable

One command in that list caught my eye . . . "sys". I suspect that if you just enter that command without any arguments it will probably return a "help" message. Perhaps there will be something that can be used.

It would be good if other users could give their opinion(s) on your problem, as I can only offer general thoughts.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10