Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10

Author Topic: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password  (Read 48497 times)

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8383
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #45 on: January 17, 2017, 10:30:23 AM »

broadstairs - I take it from your reply that your password is in a hex format too?
I was more wondering if perhaps it related to part of a mac address or some other router property that is easy to get to.
It was just a thought, and as you say it's likely just random.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3565
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #46 on: January 17, 2017, 10:44:36 AM »

Yes I looked at the values printer on the rear of the router like MAC etc but nothing jumped out at me. It could well be something ZyXEL can work out if they need to access it remotely and you would be asked for during the discussions. It cold be related to serial number for example but probably some kind of algorithm which develops the password.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40887
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #47 on: January 17, 2017, 11:01:25 AM »

On my old 6b1 firmware the supervisor password is an ordinary English word with one number added.
Logged
  Eric

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8383
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #48 on: January 17, 2017, 11:23:51 AM »

On my old 6b1 firmware the supervisor password is an ordinary English word with one number added.

Yes, I think it was from V11 onwards that it became self generated.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3565
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #49 on: January 17, 2017, 11:31:10 AM »

However when I went back to V10 on my F1000 and a factory reset it did not go back to the original word plus numbers. Once I lost that it stayed as the random numbers & letters. So I doubt it was ever set originally by the router or F/W but was set at the factory. I believe from the pdf files associated with the F/W that it went back to static so unless you actually load F/W V11 and do a factory reset it is unlikely to change. My 8924 running V15 is still the original p/w and I don't think I ever used V11 F/W, jumped from V10 to a later one.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8383
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #50 on: January 17, 2017, 11:45:39 AM »

Stuart,

Interesting - thanks.
I can't fully remember which version my 8924 had when I got it as I just saw that it wasn't the latest version and upgraded it straight away.
Mine was however an ISP locked version so who knows how it was setup at the factory.
Thanks to you lovely Kitz people it's not locked any more.  :love:
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #51 on: January 17, 2017, 02:03:00 PM »

In my opinion the line is this:

1) the password is set at factory and is the same for all units
2) the firmware versions from 11 have a password generated on the serial or Mac for each units (I saw the support looking at one or both information before trying to get in as supervisor)
3) the password is only generated during a factory reset on a firmware greater than version 10
4) on firmware lesser than 11 the reset to factory won't affect the current password
Logged

paulsmith109

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #52 on: March 05, 2017, 02:44:44 PM »

I have run the `dumpmdm` command but can find no reference to the supervisor account or its password.
Please help somebody!
VMG8324 with firmware 15
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8383
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #53 on: March 05, 2017, 06:25:46 PM »

Have you managed to capture the full dump, as it's quite long and the default buffer in a Windows command line isn't long enough to get the whole thing.
I think I changed mine to 999 which is the maximum allowed.  I then copied the whole thing out into notepad and searched for 'supervisor'.
 :)
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #54 on: March 05, 2017, 06:45:33 PM »

Alternatively, in windows, open a admin command prompt and start the telnet session with the command

telnet -f c:\dump.txt 192.168.1.1

This sends the telnet output to the file c:\dump.txt, then all you need do is search this file for supervisor.
Logged

paulsmith109

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #55 on: March 05, 2017, 07:49:52 PM »

Alternatively, in windows, open a admin command prompt and start the telnet session with the command

telnet -f c:\dump.txt 192.168.1.1

This sends the telnet output to the file c:\dump.txt, then all you need do is search this file for supervisor.

I just get a flashing cursor in the cmd prompt window and nothing seems to happen.
I also tried the suggestion in the post above yours, and a word search shows no sign of `supervisor` whatsoever.
Any other suggestions guys?
Logged

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #56 on: March 05, 2017, 09:42:01 PM »

Works here with win vista and win 10.

Is it waiting for you to input a username and password?
Are you using a  command prompt with admin privileges ?
Logged

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #57 on: March 05, 2017, 10:35:48 PM »

I just get a flashing cursor in the cmd prompt window and nothing seems to happen.

I got that the first time in command prompt. Re-ran the command and it works fine. Try running it again in a command prompt with administrator privileges.

All of these work for me (I have a directory called Temp in the C drive):

Code: [Select]
cd \Temp
telnet -f zyxel.log 192.168.2.2
telnet -f .\zyxel.log 192.168.2.2
telnet -f C:\Temp\zyxel.log 192.168.2.2

Change the IP to your router's IP, obviously.

Quote
I also tried the suggestion in the post above yours, and a word search shows no sign of `supervisor` whatsoever.
Any other suggestions guys?

The output of dumpmdm on my device has around 8090 lines. The password appears around line 158. It is certain to disappear behind scrollback on most command prompts so logging the output of telnet is your best bet.

If logging simply doesn't work for you, increase the scrollback to around 9999 lines, which is the maximum you can set it to in command prompt. Right click anywhere on the title bar, click on Properties, Layout tab, Screen Buffer Size, Height. Change that to 9999 and apply. Then telnet to your device as normal and run the dumpmdm command.

Another way is to use a client like PuTTY (you can use SSH or Telnet protocol). Before you connect, click on Window and set lines of scrollback to 10000 or 20000.
Logged
Zen | Zyxel VMG8324-B10A (with RFC4638 patch) | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite

manny2003

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #58 on: March 06, 2017, 02:02:37 AM »

Just one more info about this topic is that on the 16C0 firmware Zyxel declares this:

Code: [Select]
[Bug Fix]
1. [# 31023 ][System] The password of supervisor would be "zyad1234".

Maybe they set it back to zyad1234 by default in the new firmware release.
Logged

paulsmith109

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: VMG8924-B10A unbranded supervisor password
« Reply #59 on: March 06, 2017, 07:58:58 AM »

Success!
I used Putty as suggested and copied/pasted the `dumpmdm` output into Wordpad in Windows 10.
The required password for my supervisor account was `Darkside1`.
Thanks again for all your help. I now have all the extra options in the GUI!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 10