Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Estimating all UK cabinet locations with limited data  (Read 4565 times)

ej550

• Just arrived
Estimating all UK cabinet locations with limited data
« on: December 30, 2016, 04:55:57 PM »

I'm an acadmic researcher attempting to create a model for decision-makers that can be used for national digital infrastructure planning. Ideally, this will help improve access to digital infrastructure across the UK.

I've read many posts on this forum on how to try and locate your street cabinet. Rather than do this one-by-one, which isn't scaleable, I want to do this for all cabinets in the UK. I know many of you here are well versed in this issue. I have a number of questions and I would very much appreciate any help and advice :

1. What data sources exist that may help me in this endeavour?

I have exchange location data already. Additionally, I have data for some parts of the FTTC rollout that incidacte which postcodes are attached to certain cabinets. I suspect this is the best I will get, in which case I will have to estimate locations using the limited data available.

2. How do I estimate expected premises broadband speed?

Richard Moulynox's ADSL calculator is a cool tool that has been used by many. Is anyone aware of something similar for VDSL2/FTTC so that I can try to estimate postcode/premises speed based on distance?

Dray

• Kitizen
Re: Estimating all UK cabinet locations with limited data
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2016, 05:36:37 PM »

There's no need to estimate distances, speeds or cabinet locations. Just use www.dslchecker.bt.com and it does it for you.

Ronski

• Helpful
  • Kitizen
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2016, 05:56:46 PM »