Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9

Author Topic: Ronski's Pfsense router build  (Read 15608 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5284
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #105 on: June 01, 2017, 12:04:42 AM »

The other end in this case is my mobile phone, wherever that may be in the world.

Ahh I misunderstood.

So its so you have a VPN between your phone and home firewall?

Then yeah I probably dont have the answer you need, but I will see if I can find anything out for you.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 22247
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #106 on: June 01, 2017, 03:46:38 PM »

Ahh I misunderstood.

So its so you have a VPN between your phone and home firewall?

That's a relief to know.  :)

I was originally getting myself in a convoluted muddle whilst thinking about things.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #107 on: April 29, 2018, 05:20:15 PM »

I've been trying to set up my VPN server again, so if I'm using my phone say on a hotels wireless I can connect via VPN to my home network and know my connection is secure.

I did have it working but having changed ISP it stopped working, so following the guide (https://chubbable.com/setup-openvpn-pfsense) I used last time I'm trying to set it all up again, but alas it's not working  :wall: :wall: :wall:

I'm currently getting this error notice after I use the wizard.

Code: [Select]
There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:190: unknown protocol udp4 - The line in question reads [190]: pass in quick on $VIRGINMEDIA reply-to ( em2 80.6.28.1 ) inet proto udp4 from any to <<removed my public ip address>> tracker 1525018272 keep state label &quot;USER_RULE: OpenVPN OpenVPN Connection wizard&quot;
Any idea's on what's going wrong???
« Last Edit: April 29, 2018, 05:24:19 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #108 on: April 29, 2018, 05:52:52 PM »

I've actually managed to track down the problem, I disabled any rules for OpenVPN one at a time until the error went away when reloading the filter, that way I identified the rule causing the error.

One of the auto generated rules didn't have the protocol set, once I did that it all started working.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5284
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #109 on: April 30, 2018, 01:44:04 AM »

from what you posted it would seem to be a bug in pfsense if its the case auto generated rules are using invalid syntax..
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #110 on: April 30, 2018, 10:19:44 AM »

It certainly seems that way, I may try and post on their forums,  but I'm certainly not going try and replicate it.

At one point I had four rules under OpenVPN as when you delete an OpenVPN server it doesn't delete associated rules, which I hadn't realised.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #111 on: May 05, 2018, 03:18:29 PM »

That was a bug in Pfsense, it's fixed in the next version.

Having  another minor problem. I swapped the patch cable from my router to the modem and I had to reboot Pfsense to get internet on other devices to work, although Pfsense reported the connection as up on the dashboard.

This also happened today when I upgraded to Vivid 350.

Any ideas why I loose internet on all attached devices until  a reboot?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5284
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #112 on: May 06, 2018, 12:34:18 PM »

pfsense can be problematic on things like that, its not completely fluid.

e.g. on a ipv6 prefix change it doesnt auto remove the old prefix leaving all ipv6 connectivity down until the old prefix is manually removed or a device reboot.

Tuning the timeout values in the WAN section may make it behave better.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #113 on: May 06, 2018, 12:47:08 PM »

Tuning the timeout values in the WAN section may make it behave better.

Thanks not sure where that is, had a look and a Google but drawn a blank?
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5284
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #114 on: May 07, 2018, 06:20:47 AM »

its in the WAN settings screen where you set it to DHCP type, then you play around with DHCP timeout values, I have absolutely no idea tho what values might be better.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #115 on: May 07, 2018, 09:24:54 AM »

Thanks, found it now, it only shows any timing values once you click Advanced Configuration hence why I couldn't find it.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1113
    • skyECI line stats
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #116 on: May 07, 2018, 09:36:38 AM »

if you have a spare drive etc you could give Opnsense a go. Couple of forum members here use it. I had issues with BT and wan port not re-establishing ppoe but since moving that to Opnsense it's been fine.
Logged
Sky Fibre Pro -  Billion 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab, G.INP disabled 16th April 2016.
 
click for  line stats

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2658
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #117 on: May 07, 2018, 10:49:58 AM »

Thanks for the suggestion, no spare drive at the moment, and too many other things that need doing - the wife's nagging me to get the decking built, which means I need to be designing that.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5284
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #118 on: May 08, 2018, 10:18:06 AM »

Same here really, I know you guys skyeci and marjohn56 have been bugging me on opnsense, but I just havent found the time to reconfigure my network yet which is what I need to do if I switch over.

I do now have a spare ssd for my old pfsense unit but forgot it needs ram, I plan to configure opnsense on that and then I can hot swap the devices when testing opnsense.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Ronski's Pfsense router build
« Reply #119 on: May 08, 2018, 04:36:31 PM »

Anyone using OPNsense with igmpproxy for BT multicast IPTV? I have it set up fine with pfsense at the moment, but it would be nice to know before having a go with OPNsense, TIA.
Logged

BT Infinity 2,  ECI PCP,  Zyxel VMG1312-B10A (bridge mode),  pfSense 2.4.3
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9