Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: High FEC Error Rate - Should I be Worried?  (Read 4549 times)

cliver

• Reg Member
High FEC Error Rate - Should I be Worried?
« on: September 06, 2016, 12:15:13 PM »

I am on TT fibre large and using the HG635 as modem only with Telnet newly enabled on it so started collecting stats.
I'm still learning the best way of getting stats, what to collect and what they all mean etc. using dslstats as it's the only one that seems to work on this router(modem).
I am generally happy with the performance from a user perspective: I get consistent circa 50Mbps down speed test results with 10ms pings.
I can stream TV well when I need to. Perhaps the only gripe is an issue with my TV service which doesn't stream via the internet but does poll a server for decryption of encrypted channels constantly when viewing an encrypted channel. This sometimes gives a picture freeze, presumably because there is a glitch on the line (although I can't rule out the server at the other end). Anyway it is annoying but no great show stopper.
The one thing I have noticed since I started collecting stats a few days ago is the high number of FEC errors I am getting. A typical graph is attached along with a snapshot of my Connection Stats.
The other thing I am pondering is  the IMP and G.IMP status in my stats. I have seen it display G.INP enabled on the downlink before but I have been swapping modems out for test purposes with a VMG8924 and come back to the HG365 as I get better results with it (especially now I can get to the stats).
So my question for the experts, Is there anything I should be worried about in my ststs and is there anything I can do to improve things>
Any input greatly appreciated.
Regards
Clive