Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access  (Read 8772 times)

NEXUS2345

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2016, 11:50:15 AM »

Newer versions of Kaspersky are known to install a root class HTTPS cert into systems, so this may be the cause of the issue you are facing. Otherwise this is very strange and not behaviour I have seen before from Kaspersky (if that is the cause).
Logged
Zen ADSL2+ | HG612 + TP-Link C2600 | Awaiting FTTC (build in progress)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2016, 01:27:32 PM »

Does indeed sound like a Windows 10/Kaspersky issue. If it were me I'd try something like Wireshark to trace the IP connection on the PC in question, it should show what is being issued to the router as the data is getting to the IP stack, that way you should be able to see the request in explicit detail.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 408
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2016, 07:15:06 PM »

Have you tried using Firefox? install then run in safe mode? turns off any extensions that have been installed by Kaspersky.
Logged

g3tcg

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2016, 10:12:32 AM »

Hi All,   First,  thank you for all your suggestions & help.
For the time being all is working OK.

What did I do......I wish I knew !!!

I read a article in PC PRO  July 2016 issue 261, where Antony Dowling writes about how he repairs infected computers.
I ran the ESET scanner (eset.com/us/online-scanner-popup) &  Windows Repair Tool from Tweaking.com.
There were pages of info produced, mostly unintelligible.
The repair tool had 47 items to repair but the first seemed to be taking an hour.  I left the computer running all night.
I am not convinced it had finished this morning, but I stopped it. I tested my router access... and it worked.
So far all items that matter seem ok.

@ parkdale.  I reinstalled Firefox,  and it did the same as the other browsers but it did say something about translation, which i now can't reproduce.
@ Stuart.   I tried Wireshark, I could not see how to pick out that bit of info, must try again.

Thank you,    Malcolm
Logged

g3tcg

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2016, 04:32:55 PM »

Hi All,   Further to the above,  the advice from ZyXEL, was to upgrade to 14CO.

Done that.  No obvious change but small increase in DL speed.

Regards Malcolm.
Logged

g3tcg

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2016, 08:05:26 AM »

HI All,      OH,   And in a couple of days, the situation has re-appeared.

Exactly as stated in the first email.

The repair sequence of Eset & Tweaking.com didn't work this time.

Regards Malcolm
Logged

parkdale

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 408
Re: ZyXEL VMG8924-B10A GUI Access
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2016, 06:37:51 PM »

Looking at your previous post you referred to an Intel 82579V ethernet adapter, now I have this exact one on my motherboard.
I did have a problem with Link Speed and Duplex Setting with it, do you use default settings with it or have you tweaked it?
I had set mine to Gigabit Link Speed and Duplex Setting only and in doing so could not connect properly to my router Billion 7800n!
Lesson learned leave at auto, the problem turned out to be a with the shielding on my cat6 cable - which i've changed now to a better quality cable.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 06:48:26 PM by parkdale »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything