Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: G.fast Chipset  (Read 4911 times)

adslmax

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 844
G.fast Chipset
« on: June 05, 2016, 11:45:21 AM »

Interesting stuff here about BT G.fast chipset:

http://www.sckipio.com/cp1000-g-fast-cpe-chipset

http://www.sckipio.com/dp3000-product-detail

I think BT Openreach are using cp1000-g-fast chipset for g.fast modem or router.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2016, 03:06:23 PM »

Thank you for those links to the reference material, Max.

To date I have not seen any information from BT's research department at Adastral Park, so any information is interesting.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 851
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2016, 03:29:21 PM »

BT have been trialling chipsets from several firms - and I know they recently said they had chosen what they plan to use for their forthcoming 25,000 trial - any reason you think this will be Sckipio?

I suspect that like FTTC, we will eventually see Openreach use two different firms..
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2016, 03:31:43 PM »

I suspect that like FTTC, we will eventually see Openreach use two different firms..

A minimum of two . . . maybe more.  ;)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

phi2008

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2016, 01:06:30 AM »

Who is confirming your info adslmax?
Logged

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1040
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Logged
-----
Deploying better networks, not just faster ones.

gt94sss2

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 851
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2016, 01:05:58 PM »

Openreach have been trialling g.fast equipment from ADTRAN, Alcatel-Lucent and Huawei. That ISP Review link just shows the compatible CPE's used in each trial.

I believe only ADTRAN’s kit is based on Sckipio chipsets - if I recall correctly, the others are based on Broadcom chipsets (though Alcatel may use Ikanos instead)

Adslmax seems to suggest that Openreach have opted for the Sckipio chipset for their 25,000 pilot and if that's the case, it would be good to know the source. Afaik BT confirmed they had chosen a chipset but not who.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2016, 01:08:56 PM by gt94sss2 »
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2016, 01:40:05 PM »

Beyond the pilot, BT needs a vendor that can give them 48-port and 96-port nodes, which don't exist yet. I'm surprised they'd want to lock down on vendor choice just yet.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5656
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2016, 01:49:50 PM »

If openreach are capable of learning from past mistakes they wont use ADTRAN on the commercial rollout.  Stick to just broadcom only and maybe they will hit less trouble this time round.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

S.Stephenson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2016, 02:00:33 PM »

What about the revision to allow higher power for G.fast i thought that standard wasn't finished yet, surely BT won't commit to any hardware before hand.

Range of 300mbps is currently ~250m with the new standard they're looking to increase the range.

I though Skipio had the best G.Fast chips or is the problem Adtran?

They aren't just going to use one vendor it's too risky.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5656
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2016, 04:15:08 PM »

They can use two vendors but have both vendors using the same chipset.

What is the risk of one vendor? it provides consistency, reduces testing costs and less maintenance.
There can be backup vendor used to keep the prime vendor on their toes should they slip up.

On VDSL both hauwei and alcatel use broadcom so e.g. those 2 could have been used for FTTC.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

S.Stephenson

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2016, 05:08:03 PM »

Main risk of using one vendor is supply say the factories flood or the company goes bankrupt it would cripple the roll-out.

You can't really say to a 2nd vendor can you just have like 10,000 DSLAMs just in case this other guy doesn't deliver.

In terms of what chipset they should use broadcom is great but I was under the impression Skipio was the leader in G.Fast, but you are right using the same chipset across the board should in theory make all the modems work perfectly.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5656
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2016, 10:06:23 PM »

Most companies I worked for make contracts with multiple suppliers, however alot of these contracts were standby only, they had to be ready to supply but no orders got made unless the first supplier failed for whatever reason.

In some cases I have also seen multiple suppliers at once and this did lead to a lottery in the product quality, e.g. at walkers crisps they had more than one supplier for the potatoes, but there was some very big variance in the quality from one supplier to another.  The low fat crisps always had priority of the better potatoes.

If skipio this name I never heard off really is the leader, then yeah pick two vendors both using that chipset.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25879
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2016, 11:57:10 PM »

If skipio this name I never heard off really is the leader, . . .

The name is Sckipio which (unfortunately) is an anagram of sicki po:D

Sckipio Technologies, Ramat Gan, Israel.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.fast Chipset
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2016, 12:55:14 PM »

« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 01:01:16 PM by WWWombat »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2