Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: What Netmask  (Read 1728 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3249
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
What Netmask
« on: May 19, 2016, 11:01:07 PM »

I have a Motorola access point to play with but I'm struggling to get the web page up to configure it.



I have powered it up and used a 'Test' computer to connect it to. Static IP = 169.254.162.170
Netmask = 255.255.255.0

with the default IP address off the bottom of the Access Point 169.254.162.168

It seems to connect and I can ping it.

But putting http://169.254.162.168 in a web browser it does not connect.

Is the Netmask correct for that IP range ?.
Any idea's please.




Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 11:10:10 PM »

Try 255.255.0.0
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3249
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 11:29:26 PM »

Try 255.255.0.0

No good  :'(

It's an odd Default IP address 169.254.162.168
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2016, 11:41:19 PM »

It's in the link-local address range 169.254.0.0/16
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3249
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2016, 11:49:26 PM »

I need new glasses  :) the manual says " Point the Web browser to the AP6522's IP address (using https://)."
https://  :-[
Spent all night tying this , thanks.
it works ok on https://169.254.162.168/   Netmask 255.255.255.0
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2016, 11:54:31 PM »

Opps  :)
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26371
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2016, 12:15:14 AM »

It reads as if all is now well but here is what I was going to suggest (as it might be useful on another occasion) . . .

From your test computer, invoke an nmap scan as follows --

nmap -Pn 169.254.0.0/16

It's one of the first things that I do when investigating a new (to me) Ethernet device.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3249
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2016, 12:26:58 AM »

It reads as if all is now well but here is what I was going to suggest (as it might be useful on another occasion) . . .

From your test computer, invoke an nmap scan as follows --

nmap -Pn 169.254.0.0/16

It's one of the first things that I do when investigating a new (to me) Ethernet device.
Does it need nmap installed first ?
Just tried it and it says "Found no matches for service mask 'n' and your specified protocols " Quitting
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 26371
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2016, 01:26:03 AM »

Does it need nmap installed first ?
Just tried it and it says "Found no matches for service mask 'n' and your specified protocols " Quitting

I presumed that you were using a Linux or Unix based system and that it already had nmap installed. So if any of my presumptions were incorrect, then the relevant action would need to be taken. I.e. install the nmap utility.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3249
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What Netmask
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2016, 10:31:22 AM »

It was getting late last night.
I will look if it is installed on that machine later tonight, it does not look like it is.
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet