Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13]

Author Topic: FTTC Modem Question  (Read 31224 times)

JoshShep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #180 on: May 14, 2016, 10:41:09 PM »

Hello everyone, got a question.

I'm going to put in some new sockets in my house and need to turn off the power to sockets downstairs.

The modem is powered in my living room and will have to be powered off. What is the best way to do this as I would hate to upset DLM as my line has only just recovered.

Am I right thinking as discussed before, to unplug the power leave for at least 30 mins and re connect power again?

I will do this in the morning hopefully.

Thanks everyone!   :D

 

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31070
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #181 on: May 14, 2016, 11:15:00 PM »

When you are ready to start installing the sockets, just power down the modem, wait a few seconds, disconnect the patch lead which connects the xDSL port of the modem to the filter, note the time and then continue with your electrical work.

Once the new sockets have been installed and all checks have been made, check the time. If more than 30 minutes have passed since the modem was powered down, power up the modem, wait for it to stabilise and then reconnect the patch lead from the modem's xDSL port to the filter.

Hopefully that will be sufficient to keep the DLM at bay.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

JoshShep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #182 on: May 14, 2016, 11:41:39 PM »

Thank you burakkucat  :)

JoshShep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #183 on: May 15, 2016, 05:36:40 PM »

All work is done, doesn't look like it's had any effect the connection.

Also mounted the HG612 on the wall right next to the NTE5. Then back to ASUS router using a 0.5m ethernet cable. Looks tidy  ;D

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31070
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #184 on: May 15, 2016, 05:38:06 PM »

Excellent news.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4844
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #185 on: May 15, 2016, 07:20:38 PM »

Also mounted the HG612 on the wall

My favorite position against the wall with two small wall screws 4 inch's apart and you can hardly feel any heat coming the from the HG612 apart from the top vent which feels like 21 celsius
Logged

JoshShep

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
Re: FTTC Modem Question
« Reply #186 on: May 15, 2016, 07:44:19 PM »

I was going to put it right next to the radiator but don't think that would have been wise...  ::)
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13]