Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: VDSL Speed - issues or not?  (Read 2479 times)

MrHomer

• Just arrived
VDSL Speed - issues or not?
« on: May 04, 2016, 06:27:07 PM »

Afternoon all

I'm a newb here so bear with! Been on VDSL for a bit now but moved to a new property, I used to sync at 80/20 but I'm a little further from the cabinet now.

I've had problems with speed for a while and I think I have had a few resyncs. Up until this evening I was using an ECI modem but I've just received a HG612 and unlocked it to get hold of stats (I'm on Sky - stuff their hub)

I have an engineer booked for tomorrow, as previous to this I am sync'd at 27.4 which is low... now I have some proper stats I was hoping somebody may be able to confirm my suspicions that the line isn't right?

I'm on mydslstats under MrHomer, I've noticed that while I'm on G.INP however I am interleaved. My attain rate is quite high as well, but sync is comparatively crap.

https://www.mydslwebstats.co.uk/Container.htm

Any advice is welcome, and I hope I can contribute to this forum, I know plenty about most things other than xDSL

Cheers! ^_^

oh and wholesale has me down for the following:

FTTC Range A (Clean)   55.5   42.7   11.9   7.8   --   Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted)   41.7   22.4   9.6   5   --   Available

Dave2150

• Reg Member
Re: VDSL Speed - issues or not?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 06:31:03 PM »

Looks like you've been banded to 27.4Mbit. The engineer tomorrow should be able to do a DLM reset, causing your SNR to revert to 6DB and your sync to be alot closer to your attainable rate, most likely 32-34Mbit. Your line looks very similar to mine, have a look at my stats (Dave2150) for a rough idea what your line should look like.

MrHomer

• Just arrived