Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!  (Read 2977 times)

HelenMitchell

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« on: March 31, 2008, 11:47:27 AM »

This is probably going to sound ridiculous but please read on. 

I have a wireless access point and I have plugged it into another PC from the one i'm using via ethernet.  I've configured it and given the network a name and used a wireless adaptor in my PC to try and pick it up.  But it's not working.
The wireless network comes up as the default name (netgear - 0) and I also cannot connect to it.

I know I must be doing something wrong, I have to set up 3 of these access points exactly the same as one another and I've never done this before.

I think that the reason I can't get it to broadcast properly is because i've missed out a setting or I haven't got a router....can someone help me?  I don't know whether WAPs need a router behind them to work properly and i can't seem to get a straight answer off the net. 

Many Thanks
Logged
views and opinions that I express on this website are not representative of those at the company I work for.

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 12:47:40 PM »

I'm not to sure on this but,
If you use the networking setup, there are I believe three (3) options to chose from, be careful to chose the correct setting that says (something like) "This Computer connects through another computer"
Those are not the exact words but something similar.

Also make sure all of the PCs have the same "Work Name" IE: MSHOME.

Yes, WAP is one of the types of protection used in routers.

What OS are you using, is it XP or?

***************************************

edit.
Actually I think I may be going up the wrong route for what you want, but no-doubt one of the other "more learned more knowledgeable folk" on here will step in and come to your rescue soon.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2008, 12:57:25 PM by oldfogy »
Logged

HelenMitchell

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2008, 01:34:49 PM »

It's not a type of protection.  I think you're thinking about WPA. 

WAP - wireless access point. 

Thanks for the info all the same, IT hey.... it's a bloody minefield.
Logged
views and opinions that I express on this website are not representative of those at the company I work for.

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2008, 05:29:14 PM »

  :-[  :-[  :-[

************************
edit.
I think your post must of been missed.
Hopefully this might bring some attention.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 02:33:43 AM by oldfogy »
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2008, 10:31:08 AM »

or I haven't got a router....

I'm a bit confused here... what hardware are you using?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39617
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2008, 11:19:02 AM »

I think the above is the clue to the problem. If the WAP is plugged into the PC's ethernet port and the PC is connected to the internet by some other means (e.g. USB modem) then it won't work, at least not without some more fiddling.

What you need is an ADSL router to provide the internet connection, with both the PC and the WAP connected to the router (both by ethernet). Or if the router only has one ethernet port then you could use a 4-port switch connected to the router and the PC and WAP connected to that.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 11:22:27 AM by roseway »
Logged
  Eric

HelenMitchell

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2008, 11:02:51 AM »

I got it working eventually. 

I was ONLY configuring it then trying to test it.  I repaired the wireless connection eventually adn it worked just fine. 

Sorry I know that was confusing, i just tend to start thinking very deeply when I get that kind of problem.   :-[
Logged
views and opinions that I express on this website are not representative of those at the company I work for.

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Wireless Networking with WAPs - help needed!!
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2008, 04:00:18 PM »

Glad you got it sorted Helen. :)
Logged
 

anything