Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Forum Time-Outs  (Read 10031 times)

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Forum Time-Outs
« on: March 30, 2008, 11:29:02 AM »

I've noticed I've been getting a lot of forum time-outs, both yesterday and this morning... is it just me or is it a server problem?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39632
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 11:43:51 AM »

I can't say I've noticed it in the last couple of days, but I have encountered it before.
Logged
  Eric

dave.m

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1453
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 11:45:42 AM »

It was fine to about 0200 this morning when I closed down and I have only been on about 15 mins and it seems OK to me
dave
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32469
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2008, 01:02:57 PM »

Havent noticed anything here.
Is it just the forum or does the main site do it too?

As roseway said it is something that has been seen in the past, at that time it wasnt certain if it was a routing or a server issue.   
But Ive had a couple of server upgrades/moves since then.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 01:31:32 PM »

It's been on the main site as well... been driving me mad.
Logged

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2008, 02:38:21 PM »

Grrr it's happening every few minutes now, driving me mad... though I suspect the fault lies at my end.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39632
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 02:45:13 PM »

Do you use Firefox, and if so, do you get a message saying something like "looking up forum.kitz.co.uk" at the bottom, and it never progresses from there? If so, it looks as though you may have a temporary DNS problem.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32469
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2008, 03:15:09 PM »

Its not the server floydy -
In Feb I was upgraded to a shiney new QuadCore Server and I've just checked it performance stats and current status. Its running real smooth, well under capacity and under absolutely no pressure at all.

It could either be an ISP DNS problem or routing issue.


Can you perform a tracert to www.kitz.co.uk
Then paste the results back to us.


This should tell us where the problem is.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2008, 03:19:49 PM »

Yes I do use FF, and i get the standard timeed out message.  i knew the fault must be my system.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>tracert www.kitz.co.uk

Tracing route to kitz.co.uk [91.198.165.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     4 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    29 ms    29 ms    29 ms  lo98.gr-acc-bras-6.as9105.net [212.74.102.21]
  3    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  10.72.4.89
  4    30 ms    32 ms    30 ms  10.72.4.124
  5    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ge-6-1-0.lon22.ip.tiscali.net [213.200.78.233]
  6    52 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ldn-s3-rou-1003.UK.eurorings.net [134.222.249.17]
  7   139 ms   214 ms   112 ms  ldn-s2-rou-1003.UK.eurorings.net [134.222.231.222]
  8   107 ms   202 ms   202 ms  134.222.249.14
  9    39 ms    39 ms    38 ms  br0.core.misp.co.uk [91.198.165.3]
 10    38 ms    39 ms    39 ms  ge-1-377.captain.core.misp.co.uk [91.198.165.5]

 11    38 ms    38 ms    39 ms  thermalnine.footholds.net [91.198.165.131]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32469
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2008, 03:40:44 PM »

Quote
7   139 ms   214 ms   112 ms  ldn-s2-rou-1003.UK.eurorings.net [134.222.231.222]
  8   107 ms   202 ms   202 ms  134.222.249.14

Im going to ignore the 99ms of your first hop - looks like the typical Speedtouch 1st hop.

Although not conclusive because the later pings are fine, but it looks like the peer point servers (the ones  tiscali use to go out on the internet) are pretty busy.  Its not unusual to see some busy hops on occasions but for the time of day that seems fairly high.

Mines about 10ms slower than normal atm, due to a BTw ATM routing issue since the power cut I had the other week.

Code: [Select]

  1     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.7.100
  2    26 ms    25 ms    24 ms  lo0-plusnet.pcl-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.27]
  3    24 ms    25 ms    25 ms  gi1-2-803.pcl-gw1.plus.net [84.92.5.57]
  4    25 ms    24 ms    25 ms  te2-2.pte-gw1.plus.net [212.159.0.186]
  5    25 ms    25 ms    24 ms  vl22.thn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.3]
  6    24 ms    25 ms    25 ms  po2-1052-cr0.thn.uk.as6908.net [195.72.128.21]
  7    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  ge-1-436.border1.core.misp.co.uk [195.72.130.246]
  8    25 ms    25 ms    26 ms  ge-1-377.captain.core.misp.co.uk [91.198.165.5]
  9    25 ms    26 ms    25 ms  thermalnine.footholds.net [91.198.165.131]



You could try keeping that cmd window open ready and next time you see a time out immediately hit the enter key in cmd and see if it shows any latency then.  (tip - pressing the up arrow key will auto insert the last command for you save having to type it again).

You could also try OpenDNS to see if that helps
« Last Edit: March 30, 2008, 03:42:55 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2008, 04:45:57 PM »

This is what I get when the site won't load:

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>tracert www.kitz.co.uk

Tracing route to kitz.co.uk [91.198.165.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    32 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    29 ms    28 ms    30 ms  lo98.gr-acc-bras-6.as9105.net [212.74.102.21]
  3    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  10.72.4.89
  4    30 ms    30 ms    31 ms  10.72.4.124
  5    31 ms    30 ms    29 ms  ge-6-1-0.lon22.ip.tiscali.net [213.200.78.233]
  6    29 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ldn-s3-rou-1003.UK.eurorings.net [134.222.249.17]
  7    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms  ldn-s2-rou-1003.UK.eurorings.net [134.222.231.222]
  8    31 ms    30 ms    31 ms  134.222.249.14
  9    39 ms    39 ms    38 ms  br0.core.misp.co.uk [91.198.165.3]
 10    39 ms    40 ms    41 ms  ge-1-377.captain.core.misp.co.uk [91.198.165.5]

 11    39 ms    38 ms    38 ms  thermalnine.footholds.net [91.198.165.131]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32469
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2008, 12:54:16 AM »

Did you try using the OpenDNS servers to see if that helps?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2008, 05:28:40 AM »

Did you try using the OpenDNS servers to see if that helps?

I didn't understand that so I left it alone.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32469
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2008, 11:35:13 AM »

Its actually quite easy.  DNS is what tells your PC "where to go" in terms of "reading" human web addresses into IP addresses.

If you click on the link I gave,
Click the PC Option
Then choose your operating system.

It then shows you exactly what to do.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: Forum Time-Outs
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2008, 11:46:30 AM »

OK, done that Kitz... you never commented on my second set of stats, btw
Logged
Pages: [1] 2