Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Possible cure for a Program that stops working in Vista  (Read 4440 times)

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Possible cure for a Program that stops working in Vista
« on: March 24, 2008, 11:51:55 PM »

Every time I tried to open my Ad-Aware program, Vista reported it as "Crashed"
(thats the shortened version of the info that was given).

With trying to get it to work again "because it used to work" I followed the information message which ultimately led me to the:  "Data Execution Prevention" (DEP) settings in:-

Control Panel > System > select "Advanced System Settings" > Advanced > then the first option, Performance, Settings > Data Execution Prevention.

The default setting should be this first one (a):-
a. "Turn on DEP essential Windows and services only".
b. "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select:"

At some time or other, this setting had changed to the second option (b) which then stopped the program from working.

********************

edited to reduce the amount of text. (not to mention the typo)
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 12:30:51 AM by oldfogy »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32106
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2008, 11:55:40 PM »

:(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2008, 12:03:13 AM »

On top of that,
IE just crashed as I was trying to save that message. :'(

Fortunately it didn't lose it, I don't know if i would of had the patience to type it again.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32106
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2008, 02:41:07 AM »

I think all the permission stuff was one of the major reasons I stopped using Vista - annoyed me too much.

I just want to be able to use my PC as I want - not how it wants :/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2008, 02:51:22 AM »

Yes, the permissions is was getting to be a bit of a nightmare, but now each time (which is getting less and less) it crops up, I just right click the same file and set the permissions to "All Users"

I have also now mastered how to arrange the start Menu how I want it, in individual folders for things such as Paint Tools or Movie Tools, all bunched into individual folders instead of having a 101 items on display.

It was not very easy to find the folders to start with though, same as the "SendTo" folder (found that one by accident) shh
« Last Edit: March 25, 2008, 02:56:44 AM by oldfogy »
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2008, 06:41:20 AM »

After spending the best part of the last 24 hours trying to get Ad-Aware "re-installed" and working, but no, every time I tried to open it Vista reported it as crashed (at least that was the info given).

Obviously still trying to get it to work "BECAUSE IT USED TO WORK" I followed one of the messages which ultimately said and led me to the "Data Execution Prevention" (DEP) settings in:-

Control Panel > System > select "Advanced System Settings" > Advanced > Settings > Data Execution Prevention.

One of which is labelled, "Turn On DEP essential Windows and services only".
The other is labelled, "Turn DEP for all programs and services except those I select:" (This one was selected)

Now I don't very often turn things on, (if anything I turn things off)
So this I can only surmise has possibly been activated by an update to windows itself.

However the problem may not stop there, if the program needs to be allowed to be update for whatever reason IE: Anti-virus, Spyware programs etc.

Because if you don't turn it of, you need to select (Add) ALL the relevant .exe files from the program concerned to allow it to work properly.

Bl***y Vista

OF, On my computer the 'Turn on DEP essential Windows and services only'was ticked and I have never altered it?
Logged

oldfogy

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
  • If it ain't broke....... I'll soon fix it.
Re: Possible Cure for Program stopped working in Vista
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2008, 12:30:03 AM »


OF, On my computer the 'Turn on DEP essential Windows and services only'was ticked and I have never altered it?

UB,
Yes you are quite correct, thats the default setting and the way it should be.

Sorry I missed this post, hope it's better late than never.
Logged

J.Man

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • When PC's couldnt get any worse there came Vista
Re: Possible cure for a Program that stops working in Vista
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2008, 06:49:44 PM »

Probably why I think people should only get Vista if you have time for the updates but you still have to bear in mind that Vista is a semi-new technology and is still sort of a work in progress like some other things.
Logged
 

anything