Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7

Author Topic: What is this new equipment BT are installing?  (Read 28454 times)

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2016, 03:38:39 PM »

When I first saw it I immediately thought FTTP, it's just frustrating that there is no real information on what is actually happening.Since I am in quite a rural area  I am concerned how much the service will cost, anyone know what kind of prices BT charge for FTTP?

@WWWombat, it doesn't make much sense if it is a remote node as there are 4 of them within a half mile stretch of line but then again i'm cerntainly no expert, most likely FTTP or FTTDP, I just wish now that I had time to stop and chat with the guys installing it maybe they could have provided me with more information, never the less it is definitly an exciting development going from no internet ~3 years ago to this.
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2016, 03:39:41 PM »

I should say that SONET http://www.sonetcl.com/ was the name of the company and not necessarly what they where installing.

It almost certainly was the company name.

While SONET is a name for a well-known type of telecom networking, in the UK it would normally be known as SDH. The SONET term would be restricted to the US and its close dependants, including Japan.

Nor would it be deployed in the context shown.
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2016, 03:41:52 PM »

An example photo can be found on Mr Saffron's webpages:
http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/fibre-cornwall/
Pictures 10 and 11.

The poles in these picture look almost identical to what I have, I'll try to get some pictures of the top of the pole when I get home.

Edit: quoted the wrong thing.

Some more pictures of my pole if anyone is interested. http://imgur.com/a/xZwOG
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 04:31:41 PM by dk544 »
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2016, 04:51:42 PM »

@WWWombat, it doesn't make much sense if it is a remote node as there are 4 of them within a half mile stretch of line

Yeah - that sounds more likely to be FTTP. One single FTTRN node would cover that, in terms of length, though perhaps not in capacity.

How many homes and poles are in that stretch?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32304
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2016, 06:06:04 PM »

Some more pictures of my pole if anyone is interested. http://imgur.com/a/xZwOG

That looks like the infrastructure for a FTTP deployment, to me.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32304
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2016, 06:16:22 PM »

Since I am in quite a rural area  I am concerned how much the service will cost, anyone know what kind of prices BT charge for FTTP?

My understanding is that for native FTTP (i.e. not FTTPoD) the products available (40 Mbps DS / 2 Mbps US, 40 Mbps DS / 10 Mbps US and 80 Mbps DS / 20 Mbps US) are sold at exactly the same price as the FTTC products.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2016, 06:44:49 PM »

My understanding is that for native FTTP (i.e. not FTTPoD) the products available (40 Mbps DS / 2 Mbps US, 40 Mbps DS / 10 Mbps US and 80 Mbps DS / 20 Mbps US) are sold at exactly the same price as the FTTC products.  :)

My understanding too.

In addition, higher speed tiers are available, known as "Infinity 3" and "Infinity 4", at 200Mbps and 300Mbps - at higher price points obviously.

The only downside is that, even though the slower tiers have identical pricepoints to FTTC, very few retail ISPs bother to sell FTTP-based services at all. BT themselves are one seller, as is Zen. Plusnet will connect you, but as part of a trial rather than a normal part of their service.

Some more pictures of my pole if anyone is interested. http://imgur.com/a/xZwOG

That looks like the infrastructure for a FTTP deployment, to me.  :)

Ooops - I missed the update with the new pictures...

The sixth picture, where all three pole-top boxes are visible, gives the best view. The upper-left "thing" appears to be the usual bottle-shaped FTTP manifold to me.

As far as I can make out, the only bit of cable going into the green splitter comes from the manifold. It ought to have a yellow stripe, to indicate fibre ... so is there any other yellow-striped cable in the vicinity?
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32304
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #22 on: January 11, 2016, 06:49:47 PM »

The sixth picture, where all three pole-top boxes are visible, gives the best view. The upper-left "thing" appears to be the usual bottle-shaped FTTP manifold to me.

b*cat nods in agreement.  :)

Look closely at the sixth picture. Isn't there a yellow stripe just visible on the right-hand side of the tubing which comes down from the fibre manifold?  :-\  It looks as if the yellow stripe is almost hidden by being placed against the wood of the pole . . .
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 06:55:57 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2016, 06:59:35 PM »

There's more yellow round to the right. Chalk spray or yellow paint?
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2016, 07:04:53 PM »

How many homes and poles are in that stretch?

Well between the last pole with that equipment on it (20m from my house) and the pole shown in the photos' (10m from my house) there are 3 houses. If your counting the houses on the line coming from the cabinet, altogether 100+.

My understanding is that for native FTTP (i.e. not FTTPoD) the products available (40 Mbps DS / 2 Mbps US, 40 Mbps DS / 10 Mbps US and 80 Mbps DS / 20 Mbps US) are sold at exactly the same price as the FTTC products.  :)

That makes me happy  :)

... so is there any other yellow-striped cable in the vicinity?

There's more yellow round to the right. Chalk spray or yellow paint?

I'll have to take another look tommorow as its dark out now.
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2016, 07:14:46 PM »

Another question you guys might be able to help me with, if it is FTTP does come directly from the exchange or from the cabinet?
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5249
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #26 on: January 11, 2016, 07:29:07 PM »

If there's existing FTTC ...... from the Cab.
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #27 on: January 11, 2016, 07:34:50 PM »

If there's existing FTTC ...... from the Cab.

Yeah there is. Thats what I currently have (even if it is only 11 Mbps DS 1 Mbps US)

The reason I asked is that I seen BT running some fibre a few weeks ago at a crossroads where the cable disappears under ground for a few meters.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 07:39:11 PM by dk544 »
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5249
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #28 on: January 11, 2016, 07:52:22 PM »

Just to go back to the original question ..... I've just found documentation that conclusively states these are 'Pole Mounted Enclosures' for FTTP Brownfield.

It was never in any doubt.  :)
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3472
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2016, 09:12:12 PM »

What exchange / area are you. ?
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com).
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From my Kcom Business isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2 linked Ethernet
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7