Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Author Topic: What is this new equipment BT are installing?  (Read 28453 times)

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« on: January 11, 2016, 01:56:48 PM »

So the other day BT (SONET was written on the side of the van) where installing new equipment on the poles at the bottom of my lane. Can anyone shed any light as to what this is for, FTTP possibly?
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5249
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 02:06:33 PM »

Interesting ?? Not seen anything like that before ?? Are you in a FTTP area ...... either on a trial or otherwise ??
Logged

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 9727
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 02:14:06 PM »

Is that FTTDP / FTTRN ?
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 02:25:57 PM »

Interesting ?? Not seen anything like that before ?? Are you in a FTTP area ...... either on a trial or otherwise ??

Not to the best of my knowledge but there really isn't a lot of information about what's going broadband wise in my area, all I get from the government website (http://www.online.detini.gov.uk/Broadband/Start.aspx) is that improvements "is estimated to be complete by 31 December 2015."
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 02:29:42 PM »

Is that FTTDP / FTTRN ?

Possibly, there does seem to be one of these on the poles that are next to houses on my road, for example there are 2 more houses further down the road from me and the pole right beside those houses have this installed on it but the other poles in between do not.

ETA: FTTPrN seems to require a lot of power so I doubt its that as there is maybe 4 of these within 1/2 a mile.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 02:37:52 PM by dk544 »
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40164
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2016, 02:34:37 PM »

It looks like a rocket taking off. Perhaps the European Space Agency is involved.
Logged
  Eric

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3472
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2016, 02:39:41 PM »

 SDH & Optical Fibre Backhaul   re .. 'Synchronous Optical Networking' (SONET)

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/21cn_network.htm
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com).
I have a set of 6 fixed IP's From my Kcom Business isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 as a Modem, Bridge, WAN Not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >pfSense (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2 linked Ethernet

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2016, 02:41:35 PM »

It looks like a rocket taking off. Perhaps the European Space Agency is involved.

Maybe ET is trying to phone home ;D
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2016, 02:51:52 PM »

SDH & Optical Fibre Backhaul   re .. 'Synchronous Optical Networking' (SONET)

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/21cn_network.htm

Well I don't know if this is what BT use to feed there cabinets but I do know there is no more cabinets to feed on my exchange. I am ~2800m from the cabinet that serves me and  I am also one of the last houses on this road/line that can receive any connection at all, on average I get 11/1 sync. From what I understand from that article SDH would be used to split a backhaul line to different cabinets(?) in the area, but as I've mentioned before there are 4 of these new equipment within a half mile stretch of road all on the same line.
Logged

licquorice

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2016, 02:59:50 PM »

SDH & Optical Fibre Backhaul   re .. 'Synchronous Optical Networking' (SONET)

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/21cn_network.htm

Definitely not.
Logged

dk544

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2016, 03:16:37 PM »

I should say that SONET http://www.sonetcl.com/ was the name of the company and not necessarly what they where installing.
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2016, 03:19:17 PM »

I should say that SONET http://www.sonetcl.com/ was the name of the company and not necessarly what they where installing.

It almost certainly was the company name.

While SONET is a name for a well-known type of telecom networking, in the UK it would normally be known as SDH. The SONET term would be restricted to the US and its close dependants, including Japan.
Logged

RealAleMadrid

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2016, 03:20:11 PM »

I am fairly sure it is a pole mounted fibre splitter for FTTP. I have seen similar near me in rural Herefordshire which is having FTTP installed in some areas by BDUK/Fastershire project. Still waiting for one on the pole outside my house!
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2016, 03:31:39 PM »

That box looks likely to hold some form of fibre splicing trays.

That could make it one of:
- A splitter, for an FTTP PON
- A fibre DP
- A combined copper and fibre "joint" for FTTRN.

An example photo can be found on Mr Saffron's webpages:
http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/fibre-cornwall/
Pictures 10 and 11.

Mr Saffron calls it a "pole mounted fibre splitter", and the number of trays inside suggest it could be. However, the number of BFT tubes routed down the side suggest the box might be acting as a fibre DP (which is where BFT tubes would terminate normally) or a combined box.

ISPreview have featured an architectural diagram for FTTRN a number of times, looking like this:
http://www.ispreview.co.uk/wp-content/gallery/2014-article-illustrations/fttrn_network_diagram_v1_ispreview_edited.gif

As Northern Ireland is going through it's second round of fibre installation, a lot of work is concentrating on extending the range of "fibre broadband", even where an FTTC cabinet has already been installed. We've seen a lot of use of the "all in one" cabinet so far. meanwhile Surrey is going through a mopping up process for the same "out of range" properties, but FTTP is being used there.

It wouldn't surprise me if @dk544 was being upgraded as part of the NI work, and could feasibly be seeing FTTP. It is also plausible that FTTRN is finally showing itself to be an alternative to the AIO cabinets, after the trials in Yorkshire a year ago.
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: What is this new equipment BT are installing?
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2016, 03:33:35 PM »

Still waiting for one on the pole outside my house!

It isn't likely to need to appear on every pole.

Every pole would need a manifold, up near the top, but the splitter would only be needed perhaps every 4 poles.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7