Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: IPv6 users  (Read 11533 times)

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #30 on: April 20, 2016, 09:38:13 PM »

Provider Independent.    Address ranges allocated directly to the end user, not part of their ISP's allocation.   Theoretically this means you can change provider and still keep the same addressing,  or have more than one Internet connection from different ISPs all routing your addresses.   
Logged

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #31 on: April 21, 2016, 05:11:09 PM »

Just to amplify that, the point about PI addressing is that you could number potentially all your network using these addresses, then ask any ISP to route them.  So you'd have the ability to route without using NAT, and without being tied to a single ISP, or having to renumber everything if you change ISP.   That's the good bit.

The disadvantage is that if that becomes standard practice, it's going to hugely increase the size of the Internet routing tables.  To take and example if the ISP has a /32 block assigned, this could be used to issue a /48 block to each of 65536 customers, but to the rest of the Internet it's a single route pointing to the ISP.  Very different if each of those 65536 customer has their own personal and not necessarily related assignment.   Telephone providers must have gone through this pain when number porting came about, and you can no longer look at the first few digits to tell for example a Vodafone number from an O2 one.
Logged

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #32 on: April 22, 2016, 05:39:15 PM »

Odd one, I briefly either lost IPv6, or lost the A&A gateway.  Things seemed to lock up, and when I tried a basic ping this is what I got ...

C:\Windows\system32>ping ntp.plus.net

Pinging ntp.plus.net [212.159.13.49] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.159.13.49: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=57
Reply from 212.159.13.49: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=57
Reply from 212.159.13.49: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 212.159.13.49:
    Packets: Sent = 3, Received = 3, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 23ms, Maximum = 27ms, Average = 24ms


Couple of minutes later it's back.   

C:\Windows\system32>ping ntp.plus.net

Pinging ntp.plus.net [2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32: time=141ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32: time=120ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32: time=170ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32: time=194ms

Ping statistics for 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:d49f:d32:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 120ms, Maximum = 194ms, Average = 156ms

C:\Windows\system32>
Logged

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10294
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #33 on: April 23, 2016, 01:18:05 AM »

What happens if you try something like ipv6.google.com ? Or any domain name where there is only a AAAA record no A?

The whole business of selecting IPv6 or IPv4 is weird. Lots of website I have connected to which report the client's IP address report IPV4 first and then if you try again then they report IPv6. It seems to me that the (dynamic) preference selection by either browsers or poss operating system is very odd.
Logged

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #34 on: April 23, 2016, 09:18:22 AM »

Good point, I'll check that if it happens again.  This was from a dual stack Windows 7 - my understanding is that it tries IPv6 first, and with A&A special name servers that should always succeed.   In my example there it looks like ntp.plus.net is v4 only, as the v6 address shown there is from A&A.   On the other hand it could have been a glitch at my end, and v4 came back before v6.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6678
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #35 on: April 23, 2016, 10:37:10 AM »

unexpected present arrived from hurricane electric today :)

Shall I wear this with pride.

front


back
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 10:43:10 AM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10294
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #36 on: April 23, 2016, 11:29:50 AM »

@chrysalis - now I'm impressed. Not much chance of me getting off the bottom of the ladder. My "website" such a paltry thing that it is, is on an IPv4-only *nix server, so an early must-have tickbox can't be ticked.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33035
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #37 on: April 26, 2016, 08:41:38 PM »

I don't mess with things like this and usually leave it up to my hosts, but after chrys brought it up once before I asked.
They said they could configure it for me, but something or other which Ive forgotten now, which could involve some downtime.

The other reason I didnt bother is SMF (this forum software) only appears to support IPv4.   
I dont understand it fully but say weaver he presents an IPv4 address to the software.  Yet sometimes I see in the forum logs what Im assuming must be IPv6, but the software just shows blanks. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10294
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #38 on: April 28, 2016, 05:41:44 PM »

@kitz - I won't be sending you IPv6 packets unless you indicate that you can speak IPv6 by publishing a AAAA record for your webserver in the DNS.
Logged

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #39 on: April 29, 2016, 01:46:51 PM »

Sending to an IPv4 only destination, I as the sender see an IPv6 address from within A&A's range with the IPv4 address embedded as the last four bytes.

C:\Windows\system32>nslookup forum.kitz.co.uk
Server:  totd.aa.net.uk
Address:  2001:8b0:6464::1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    forum.kitz.co.uk
Addresses:  2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225
          185.24.98.37
C:\Windows\system32>                                                                              

C:\Windows\system32>ping forum.kitz.co.uk

Pinging forum.kitz.co.uk [2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225: time=44ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225: time=46ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225: time=44ms
Reply from 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225: time=47ms

Ping statistics for 2001:8b0:6464:0:666:616:b918:6225:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 44ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 45ms

C:\Windows\system32>


At the destination, they will see this traffic originating from an IPv4 address, not sure if that's always the same address or whether there's a range.   For example if I got to whatsmyip.org it shows my originating address as 90.155.46.46, which actually A&A's gateway.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6678
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #40 on: April 29, 2016, 01:49:20 PM »

root@vps1 unbound # ping6 forum.kitz.co.uk
unknown host
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10294
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #41 on: May 01, 2016, 08:06:13 AM »

To explain, aesmith is using Andrews and Arnold's totd server which allows IPv6-only users to see an all-IPv6 view of the Internet, allowing them to access IPv4 servers by converting between IPv4 and IPv6 on the fly.

Kitz won't see any IPv6.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6678
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #42 on: May 01, 2016, 11:50:44 AM »

ok so there is some kind of ipv6 <- ipv4 tunnelling service then?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Weaver

  • Senior Kitizen
  • ******
  • Posts: 10294
  • Retd s/w dev; A&A; 3x7km lines; Firebrick; IPv6
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #43 on: May 01, 2016, 09:31:11 PM »

No. AA offer native IPv6 straight over PPP, with no overhead and no tunnelling, it's just like the way IPv4 is delivered over DSL. There is simply a conversion server that converts the traffic, and also some tricky business with DNS which lies about the non-availability of AAAA records on IPv4-only servers.
Logged

aesmith

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1098
Re: IPv6 users
« Reply #44 on: May 01, 2016, 09:40:39 PM »

I'd call it NAT rather than a tunnel.
Edit - Weaver said it better
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 

anything