Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum

Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: MDWS - Time Zone Error  (Read 2695 times)

JamesK

• Reg Member
MDWS - Time Zone Error
« on: September 29, 2015, 02:00:59 PM »

Afternoon...

I've been using MDWS for several months without any problems. The data source was a small Windows laptop using the HG612 modem stats software attached to the HG612. Due to the modem being located in the kitchen, it wasn't the most convenient device to leave attached 24/7.

So I got hold of a Raspberry Pi, which will be much easier to conceal. I successfully built and installed it with DSLstats. Initially MDWS was reporting no data had been uploaded for nearly an hour despite there being TCP connections to the MDWS servers. After a while the status changed to say the following "User JamesK - Please restart DSLstats which is still reporting time in GMT!". I noticed I had got my user profile to set the timezone to the UK, so I removed that from the profile and rebooted.

I'm yet to see the MDWS site remove the error... So is there anything else I need to do/check? Is there a delay in the MDWS servers picking up the fact I've removed the timezone from the user profile?

Many Thanks....
Virgin M500+Asus RT-AX86U

tbailey2

• Kitizen
Re: MDWS - Time Zone Error
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 03:06:23 PM »

Hi

Your local clock (from the time embedded in the uploaded log file) is running an hour behind that of the server for whatever reason, hence the message.... The only delay would be one minute if it was corrected and then the message would go away...
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

tbailey2

• Kitizen
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2015, 04:10:36 PM »

I noticed I had got my user profile to set the timezone to the UK, so I removed that from the profile and rebooted.