Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o  (Read 4406 times)

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« on: September 19, 2015, 06:40:51 PM »

:o
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2015, 06:47:53 PM »

Status site is working fine though https://status.zen.co.uk/broadband/
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2015, 06:49:50 PM »

I was just about to try and order FTTP too! :P
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39633
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2015, 07:06:34 PM »

It seems to be fine now.
Logged
  Eric

Weaver

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8786
  • Retd sw dev; A&A; 4 7km ADSL2; IPv6; Firebrick
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2015, 07:14:35 PM »

Problem with DNS.
Logged

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2015, 08:52:26 PM »

Am I missing something obvious here?!

http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/zen.co.uk.html  <--- still reporting as down

http://mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=a%3awww.zen.co.uk&run=toolpage#  <--- still reporting as down

Seriously, this is very annoying, what's going on Zen?


Code: [Select]
> www.zen.co.uk.
Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 13, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 2,  authority records = 0,  additional =

    QUESTIONS:
        www.zen.co.uk, type = A, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  www.zen.co.uk
        canonical name = zen.co.uk
        ttl = 5901 (1 hour 38 mins 21 secs)
    ->  zen.co.uk
        internet address = 212.23.0.100
        ttl = 5789 (1 hour 36 mins 29 secs)

------------
Non-authoritative answer:
------------
Got answer:
    HEADER:
        opcode = QUERY, id = 14, rcode = NOERROR
        header flags:  response, want recursion, recursion avail.
        questions = 1,  answers = 1,  authority records = 1,  additional =

    QUESTIONS:
        www.zen.co.uk, type = AAAA, class = IN
    ANSWERS:
    ->  www.zen.co.uk
        canonical name = zen.co.uk
        ttl = 3743 (1 hour 2 mins 23 secs)
    AUTHORITY RECORDS:
    ->  zen.co.uk
        ttl = 99 (1 min 39 secs)
        primary name server = unamuno.zen.co.uk
        responsible mail addr = dnsmaster.zen.co.uk
        serial  = 2015091340
        refresh = 2400 (40 mins)
        retry   = 900 (15 mins)
        expire  = 604800 (7 days)
        default TTL = 14400 (4 hours)

------------
Name:    zen.co.uk
Address:  212.23.0.100
Aliases:  www.zen.co.uk

Why am I only getting a V6 reply?! I assume I am doing something horrendously wrong, locally? :o


Who else can I try an FTTP order with, apart from BT?
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2015, 10:03:24 PM »

To provide some support, for what it may be worth.
I also cannot get to zen other than the status page.

I am with Plusnet.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29849
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2015, 10:25:04 PM »

Zen's status page is good, all other pages are currently bad . . .  :-X

Code: [Select]
[Duo2 tmp]$ ping -c 1 -a 212.23.0.100
PING 212.23.0.100 (212.23.0.100) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 212.23.0.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=115 time=43.2 ms

--- 212.23.0.100 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 43ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 43.266/43.266/43.266/0.000 ms
[Duo2 tmp]$ host 212.23.0.100
100.0.23.212.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer core-212-23-0-100.zen.net.uk.
[Duo2 tmp]$ nmap -Pn -T4 212.23.0.100

Starting Nmap 5.51 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2015-09-20 22:18 BST
Nmap scan report for core-212-23-0-100.zen.net.uk (212.23.0.100)
Host is up.
All 1000 scanned ports on core-212-23-0-100.zen.net.uk (212.23.0.100) are filtered

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 101.69 seconds
[Duo2 tmp]$
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32479
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2015, 10:46:35 PM »

I cant get to Zen either.   

But saying that parts of the interwebs have been weird for me today.  Earlier on this afternoon I wasn't able to get to reddit, overclockers and a few other popular websites such as facebook were very slow loading.   Im using google DNS.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2015, 11:03:01 PM »

Thanks for confirming it's not just me.

Sky connection here.
Wireshark just shows repeated retransmissions/no replies. How bizarre!
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2015, 11:06:55 PM »

There has been a spate of 'chunks' of the Interweb disappearing and similar for a few ISP's over the last few weeks.
[Sorry for the less than accurate info, I am not able to remember the details just now]

Some mention in 'The Register' I seem to remember.
Logged

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2015, 11:11:58 PM »

When I tried it just now FF just said 'Looking up zen.co.uk' then eventually timed out .... DNS? I'm using OpenDNS. Maybe they forgot to renew the domain, they won't be the first or last .... (nope its 30-Sep-2022)
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 765
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2015, 11:12:58 PM »

https://webmail.zen.co.uk/ appears to work.

Not sure this was the most helpful post ever :P
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2015, 11:14:35 PM »

Page by Page we are mapping out Zen.co.uk.

What is more useful !!  ;)
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32479
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Anyone know why the Zen website is down? :o
« Reply #14 on: September 21, 2015, 12:26:44 AM »

http://status.zensupport.co.uk/active/23/4405

Quote
Zen Web Sites
The following new Zen Web Sites incident has been identified. Further information is detailed below.

Outage on Zen Websites(New)

Outage - Emergency maintenance

Start: Sat, 19/09/2015 14:00
End: 
Update: Sat, 19/09/2015 16:30
Clear: 
We are currently experiencing an issue with the Zen public facing websites.
This is affecting the following:
Online Invoice Payment (secure.zen.co.uk)
Customer Portal (https://portal.zen.co.uk)
Partner Portal (https://www.zenpartner.com)
Our engineers are investigating and further updates will be posted here when available.
Zen regret any inconvenience this may cause.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: [1] 2
 

anything