Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac  (Read 6616 times)

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« on: September 12, 2015, 04:27:11 PM »

Well I decided to get one of these from BroadbandBuyer as it has load balancing among other nice features, and in the past I've used Draytek with no issues (2620 I think it was, quite a number of years ago on ADSL2+). Well I've got the one mentioned in the subject and for a brief time it was connected to my VDSL2 connection. Unfortunately I've noticed it is rebooting at random intervals (e.g. between every 5 to 45 minutes). I have a block of 8 IP's from Zen which I setup on this with ease. I love the fact it supports both running LAN IP's and routed WAN IP's at the same time, as not many routers support this :(.

Things I've done so far:
- Updated firmware
- Changed modem code choice
- Changed RJ45 cables
- Changed RJ11 cable
- Changed filter
- Plugged directly into mains instead of my online UPS
- Changed power supply plug
- Disabled VOIP, VPN and other unused features
- Limited myself to only plugging a single RJ45 cable in
- Not plugged RJ11 cable in at all
- Disabled wireless entirely
- Disabled IPv6

None of the above has helped unfortunately. Has anyone here used this device and/or experienced or at least heard of this happening? If so, any solutions?

I read somewhere about disabling upnp is the answer, but I haven't tried this yet.

Any help appreciated, thanks in advance.
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1071
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 05:36:12 PM »

Hi

We use draytek a lot and it sounds like a faulty router

Have you plugged your old router in and if not happens on old router, I'd swap it out for replacement

Many thanks

John
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 05:54:56 PM »

Hi

We use draytek a lot and it sounds like a faulty router

Have you plugged your old router in and if not happens on old router, I'd swap it out for replacement

Many thanks

John

Yeah, that's what I was thinking, it must be faulty. Oddly however, the Fritz!Box 7490 I have also does something like this (but lasts much longer generally, usually days). The HG612, ECI /r, ASUS DSL-AC68U, RT-AC68U, RT-N56U, all work fine for weeks or even months.

Do you know if you have UPNP enabled on your Draytek, as I know I have UPNP enabled on my Fritz!Box 7490 which I assumed is faulty too (sadly bought used, but claimed it was fully working). If it's not enabled then I might try that as a last resort later today before I contact BroadbandBuyer and sort out an RMA.

EDIT: Just found an interesting post on another forum, not sure if I'm allowed to link to it but I'll quote some of the post. It's about another Draytek router (2860n) from over a year ago.

Quote
So to sum up:
it only happens if ADSL is connected, and uPNP is on, and multiple subnets are in use, and (now I have done the primWINS and secWINS) plex is running on the network.

Other than ADSL, those conditions are similar to mine. I use multiple subnets and I have UPNP on. So I might try turning off UPNP (as it was disabled by default) and see if the problem still occurs. I'll post an update later. In the meantime anymore suggestions or comments are welcome.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2015, 06:02:35 PM by Ixel »
Logged

d2d4j

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1071
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2015, 07:04:21 PM »

Upnp is enabled (it helps with Xbox) at home, and usually we set upnp on as standard in most sites where we have them installed.

We run a mixture of adsl2+ and fttc, multi subnets, load balanced with failover, and multi vlans.

I have never seen a draytek restart like your issue.

Do you mean the draytek is re powering or its restarting the wan

Many thanks

John
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2015, 07:59:00 PM »

Upnp is enabled (it helps with Xbox) at home, and usually we set upnp on as standard in most sites where we have them installed.

We run a mixture of adsl2+ and fttc, multi subnets, load balanced with failover, and multi vlans.

I have never seen a draytek restart like your issue.

Do you mean the draytek is re powering or its restarting the wan

Many thanks

John

Re-powering, just like my Fritz!Box 7490 did. It's as if the router's firmware is crashing randomly.
Logged

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2015, 08:13:49 PM »

I had a 2860n that did that if you changed the port the web interface listened on. Draytek couldn't reproduce the fault, and a replacement did the same so I got a refund.
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2015, 09:30:16 AM »

Good news. Disabling UPNP has so far kept the device up for much longer than I originally was able to, so perhaps there's a bug with UPNP if multiple subnets are being used. Hopefully I can do without UPNP, my only fear is if Skype will work properly as I believe that uses UPNP to open incoming ports (and possibly GTA V Online).

One last mystery, my VDSL2 connection seems to have a light amount of INP applied yet this doesn't show up when I connect up the HG612 or Fritz!Box 7490. See stats below, any insights welcome as I'm stumped.

Note: The far end stats must be going by the DSLAM's cumulative numbers since the port was first enabled.

Code: [Select]
> vdsl status

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME
   DS Actual Rate          : 71337000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 20000000 bps
   DS Attainable Rate      : 82514816 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 25933160 bps
   DS Path Mode            :        Fast    US Path Mode         :        Fast
   DS Interleave Depth     :     1039       US Interleave Depth  :        1
   NE Current Attenuation  :       17 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        6  dB
   DS actual PSD           :     6. 3 dB    US actual PSD        :    12. 8  dB
   NE CRC Count            :        0       FE CRC Count         :     2442
   NE ES Count             :        0       FE  ES Count         :     2313
   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1
   ITU Version[0]          : b5004946       ITU Version[1]       : 544e0000
   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-04-03-00-07   [with Vectoring support]
   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0
   Test Mode               : DISABLE
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
   Far Current Attenuation :       18 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        9  dB
   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544eb204
   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >
> vdsl status more

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
                  Near End        Far End    Note
 Trellis      :      1               1
 Bitswap      :      0               1
 ReTxEnable   :      0               0
 VirtualNoise :      0               0
 20BitSupport :      0               0
 LatencyPath  :      0               0
 LOS          :      0               0
 LOF          :      0               0
 LPR          :      0               0
 LOM          :      0               0
 SosSuccess   :      0               0
 NCD          :      0               0
 LCD          :      0               0
 FECS         :    981            18350 (seconds)
 ES           :      0            2313 (seconds)
 SES          :      0               0 (seconds)
 LOSS         :      0              70 (seconds)
 UAS          :     39            7616 (seconds)
 HECError     :      0               0
 CRC          :      0            2442
 RsCorrection :      0               0
 INP          :      0              15 (symbols)
 InterleaveDelay :      0             800 (1/100 ms)
 NFEC         :    255              85
 RFEC         :     16              16
 LSYMB        :   5410            22071
 INTLVBLOCK   :    255              85

As you can see, 8.00ms delay with 1.5 INP on the downstream. I don't think DLM even uses that level of INP anyway (minimum I've seen is maybe 2, but definitely 3 for sure).

EDIT: I'm confused, the far end stats must be upstream surely, so why is the downstream saying interleaving depth of 1039 if infact the far end has cumulative stats from the DSLAM (which normally would be from the upstream? Maybe it's the time of morning that's set in my confusion.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2015, 09:34:08 AM by Ixel »
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: Draytek Vigor 2860Vac
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2015, 03:38:32 PM »

Probably a final update to say that it seems the router's stable now, has been up for several hours and hasn't rebooted.

For reference, this is related to my problem I believe (turning off UPNP has stopped the router rebooting): http://www.century-it.co.uk/itservices-itsupport-blog/index.php/2014/05/sonos-causes-draytek-router-to-randomly-reboot/

I don't own a Sonos however. There was also a forum post that mentioned multiple IP subnets and UPNP seem to crash the router, so it may be that which is effecting me (as I have a LAN IP subnet and a routed IP subnet for the public IP address block). This may also be why my Fritz!Box 7490 was crashing/rebooting randomly.

Finally, I still haven't managed to resolve the interleaving anomaly as mentioned in the previous post, but it's not causing a significant impact on my connection so I'll just wait for G.INP to arrive on the ECI DSLAM (one day) and that should clear that up I hope.
Logged