Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: BT NGA profile, speed or standard  (Read 1220 times)

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« on: September 08, 2015, 05:36:10 PM »

I was just looking as this page http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/DLM.htm

Is it confirmed yet that BT use the speed profile, I see it has a question mark  :D
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1888
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 06:22:57 PM »

It gets more confusing as some ISPs will change the profile during a fault, as I have discovered.
Logged

forceware

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 06:33:48 PM »

I am with BT, and I know I'm on speed profile from the amount of es per day that my line will accept on fastpath without dlm action. I've had over 2000 a few times.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31601
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2015, 08:39:03 PM »

There was a post on the BT forums a while ago that suggested BTr can change it if you ask the right person the right questions.   
There was also some doubt whether anyone with TV was put on standard and others on speed and there does (or did) seem to be a mix. 
The question mark is there because Im not sure.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2015, 08:57:04 PM »

I am pretty sure i was on speed with my time on BT, but that was now 2+ years ago.  I didnt have their tv service.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

forceware

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2015, 10:57:50 PM »

Just to clarify. I don't have their TV service iether
Logged

JamesK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2018, 10:34:22 AM »

A bit of a late update on this... I'm having a new install from BT later this week. I had a call from their Executive Complaints Team. I've no idea why as I hadn't complained about anything. Anyway, I asked what policy would be used for my line provisioning. He initially said that everybody was setup with the Speed (BTw Standard) policy, but said he would clarify for me.

He called me back a few minutes later to say that he'd had confirmation that BT were now deploying all new connections with the Standard (BTw Stable) policy. He has agreed to put me on onto Speed as I've requested it.

So this would explain why some people are seeing their connections on the Standard profile.
Logged
BT 55/10 Huawei ECI Cab - Huawei HG612 + Asus RT-AC86U.

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1878
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 02:43:31 PM »

Unless a very recent change, that's also nonsense (that all new connections are on Standard).
BT use a mix of both, and always have.
If they all used to be Speed but are now Standard why have we always seen a mix of both?
It's not like Standard appearing on BT lines is new.

The vast majority are on the Speed profile.
I've never heard a good reason why some are on 1 or the other but it's not TV related either.

Even BT don't seem to be able to answer correctly but a line I helped setup at the start of August is definitely on the Speed profile. ECI cab, fastpath, 1800+ ES everyday. It was interleaved for the 1st 4 days.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI now Huawei cab
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridge mode with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5436
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2018, 06:26:26 PM »

He already answered your question, a policy for new customers may not affect older customers hence the mixed result.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

GaryW

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: BT NGA profile, speed or standard
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2018, 11:26:29 AM »

There's no obvious pattern. I used to be on Standard profile, but after submitting a request via the BT community forum back in May I'm now on Speed profile.  I was on "Unlimited Faster Broadband" when I made the switch to VDSL in 2014 (long line) so that could have had something to do with it, but pure speculation.
Logged
BT FTTC 55/10 ECI cabinet - Billion 8900AX-2400 - BT WHWF
 

anything