Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why  (Read 4893 times)

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« on: August 17, 2015, 11:40:02 PM »

Yet another Register article.
It highlights something I have noticed that MS are getting less interested in explaining exactly what you are installing in Win10.

I tried looking up some of the Win10 Updates and you cannot even find a reference to the KB number.
(Click the 'more information' link on the details for the update in the Updates listing on your machine and now often you get page not found.)

Of particular interest/entertainment value is another 'Trevor_Pott' exposition in the comments of this article.
[I believe burakkucat you may particularly enjoy this.  :D]


http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/08/17/microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why/
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33269
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 12:07:45 AM »

Your really must try not to post links to such amusing articles!  ;)  It's now tomorrow and I haven't finished what I started yesterday.  ::)

Quote from: Trevor Pott
Once Windows 7 can't be had, I'll move to Windows 10. When I do, I'll lock that SOB down and firewall it off from the rest of the network and treat it like the a toxic digital piracy-thieving piece of p00 that it is.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 12:26:36 AM »

Trevor Pott is becoming my hero   ;)

He says what we all know is true in such an eloquent way  ::)  :D  :lol:
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32923
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 01:00:25 AM »

I noticed today that mine has finally said its ready for download.   I was beginnging to think that I may be one of those who doesnt get it, but something must have made it kick in today and decide its my turn.  Its been downloading "In progress" now for about 7hrs so far and at the current rate of about 15kbps I dont imagine it will be ready anytime soon  ::)

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2015, 01:06:24 AM »

Kitz, get the .iso as detailed elsewhere on kitz.

Saves time as you are going to do a clean install anyway, once your upgrade has registered and been activated.

Quote
I was beginnging to think that I may be one of those who doesnt get it
The way MS are going I don't think it is possible to NOT have it.
I am waiting for OSX users to start complaining about a 'strange' large update that has appeared, stating 'Install me now (A friend) !!!'




Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32923
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2015, 01:18:08 AM »

Quote
Saves time as you are going to do a clean install anyway,

Woooooooooah hang on..   need to start a new thread. :'(
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6543
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2015, 04:17:30 AM »

sadly MS have been like that for a while, the description on all the recommended updates on win7 and 8 always says a vague "install this update to resolve issues in windows" LOL
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2015, 12:19:58 AM »

Latest Update:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/08/21/microsoft_will_explain_only_significant_windows_10_updates/

MS are now formally stating that you will not be told what all the win10 Updates are!
I wonder why?

It just gets better and better!
 ??? ::)

[MS: What I don't tell you can't harm me ......  :lol: :lol: .... and you cannot complain about  ::) ]
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6543
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2015, 09:02:02 AM »

they really seem to enjoy shooting themselves in the foot, the win10 marketing was so good prerelease, momentum was there, now a lot of mud is sticking to the name.

The update system is probably the prime reason only my testing machine is on win10, still win7 on this pc and my laptop.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2015, 08:16:47 PM »

Have just booted into the Win8.1 partition this evening and it's a been a few weeks since I last used it and guess what the update to Win10 is ready.

I am not sure if I should click on get started  :-\

Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2015, 08:27:50 PM »

Feel free to play .... just know what you are getting into. Personally I would not touch with a bargepole.!

Any similarity to advice\stance re:Dodgy Pharma products is just coincidence.  ;D ;D

Although both are 'bad' for you in the long term.  :o ;D
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2015, 08:37:14 PM »

Feel free to play .... just know what you are getting into. Personally I would not touch with a bargepole.!

Cheers what I'll do is to take a disk image of the Win8.1 partition this is were Win10 will be installed and if doesn't mess up the boot sector then I can revert back to Win8.1 without to much bother.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2015, 08:55:24 PM »

Supposedly for 30 days you have the ability to 'Roll Back' but a disk Image is a much better idea as it cannot be 'broken' by MS accidentally via a random update.  ;D

Win10 is 'nice-ish  ;D' overall ... just too nosey for me.

Without the nosiness I might have upgraded from Win7 ..... who knows. (Pun not intended)
Best of Luck.  :fingers:
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2015, 09:12:14 PM »

Supposedly for 30 days you have the ability to 'Roll Back' but a disk Image is a much better idea as it cannot be 'broken' by MS accidentally via a random update.  ;D

Well I am 58% into the drive image of Win8.1 was not aware there was a 30 day cool off period it's better to be overcautious when come to MS  ;)
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: microsoft_replaces_windows_10_patch_update_wont_say_why
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2015, 07:22:29 PM »

Windows 10 installed no effect on Vista partition it still there just had to go back to legacy boot loader and edge is crap so made IE11 the default browser, two application for X-FI sound card are not working at the moment all seem ok just a bit different than Windows 8.1  :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2