Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22]

Author Topic: OpenWrt (Chaos Calmer r46559) for ECI/r v1 & v2 - Update: G.INP/ReTX Support  (Read 141696 times)

bob8

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14

I amended my earlier reply before I realised you had posted a response, but sounds like you have got TFTPD working.

The TFTP transfer should be completed in mere seconds. I vaguely recall when I encountered TFTP taking an eternity to transfer on one occasion, the installation subsequently failed.  I can't remember what I did afterwards, but I did successfully install LEDE 17.01.4 by trying again and the TFTP transfer was completed in seconds.

Note that install steps for LEDE 17.01.4 ARE DIFFERENT To OpenWRT CC15 (Jsamuel). 

ie. I wouldn't like to say what would happen if you used LEDE file by using the instructions for old Chaos Calmer.....  LEDE probably won't boot.

« Last Edit: July 25, 2018, 03:21:48 PM by bob8 »
Logged

Adeel567

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6

hm, I am using the LEDE 17 firmware and following those steps However, i am using a TFTP Server I think. It's found the file ending with .bin and is transferring but at bytes/sec. Is it better just to halt it right now?
Logged

bob8

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14

hmm, I think I've always left both 'server' and 'client' enabled in TFTPD settings. 

I think you could be right, it should be using TFTP server, not client.  Please disregard my comments about configuring TFTPD client.  Sorry for the confusion.

No changes will be made until you execute the Erase command.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2018, 03:52:25 PM by bob8 »
Logged

Adeel567

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Hmmm, still not sure why it is going at bytes/sec. I have had to leave the house and even though I have USB Wi-Fi plugged in teamviewer is offline - guess it is using the wrong NIC? So I'll have to wait until I return to see if it has worked.
If this hopefully works I can just access LEDE normally and follow some guide for setting up VDSL? Is there a noticeable reduction in sync speed by using this firmware?
Logged

bob8

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 14

fwiw, is 192.168.2.1 selected under 'Server interfaces' in TFTPD?

I can't think of any other reason why the transfer is so slow.

As the original ECI firmware is locked, it is difficult to compare sync speeds, but based on speed tests, I've not personally observed much difference to cause concern.

yes, you can use the LEDE install guide for Home Hub 5A to help configure VDSL connection accordingly. I've only used the modem in 'bridge mode' because I understand the performance may not be very good in 'router' mode.

Reminder the two LAN ports are transposed when viewed in switch menu in LuCI in 17.01.4.

« Last Edit: July 26, 2018, 01:29:33 AM by bob8 »
Logged

Adeel567

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 6

Also to note that I was able to get both WAN and LAN over the one cable by tagging both VLAN 1 & 2 on LAN1 and doing the same on my LEDE Router's WAN port. (where VLAN 1 is my LAN, VLAN 2 contains WAN & VLAN 3 is my Guest network but is off for this port). Then on my router under DHCP I set a random hex value due to Sky requirements and everything works fine.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 07:06:11 PM by Adeel567 »
Logged

bassplayerchris

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1

I've been experimenting with the various firmware at: https://xdarklight.github.io/lantiq-xdsl-firmware-info/ with my HH5A

With the standard openwrt firmware I can get 17-20 down and 3-4Mbps up. I then tried the various DM200 firmwares as they include vectoring support (not sure whether the local DSLAM supports it as I haven't yet identified it - though have found the PCP).

With the firmware from the V34 or V52 of the bundle (5.8.1.5.0.7 and 5.7.11.5.0.7 respectively) I get 24-27Mbps down and 1Mbps upm with the firmware from the V36 GPL bundle (5.7.9.5.1.7) I get something more akin to the stock openwrt firmware.

I don't see evidence of vectoring being used in any case - so I assume that my local DSLAM doesn't support it?
Logged

meritez

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30

I've been experimenting with the various firmware at: https://xdarklight.github.io/lantiq-xdsl-firmware-info/ with my HH5A

I don't see evidence of vectoring being used in any case - so I assume that my local DSLAM doesn't support it?

You should see Vectoring on the openwrt status page: https://code.dopame.me/veonik/openwrt-mirror/commit/ec1b121769a4095a76321e9317faf1e803e101d0

Code: [Select]
if [ $((xtse8 & 7)) != 0  ]; then
- line_mode_s="$line_mode_s G.993.2 (VDSL2),"
+ dsmsg=$(dsl_cmd dsmsg)
+ vector_s=$(dsl_val "$dsmsg" eVectorStatus)
+
+ case "$vector_s" in
+ "0") line_mode_s="$line_mode_s G.993.2 (VDSL2)," ;;
+ "1") line_mode_s="$line_mode_s G.993.5 (VDSL2 with downstream vectoring)," ;;
+ "2") line_mode_s="$line_mode_s G.993.5 (VDSL2 with down- and upstream vectoring)," ;;
+ *) line_mode_s="$line_mode_s unknown," ;;
Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2428

not sure whether the local DSLAM supports it as I haven't yet identified it - though have found the PCP

You can find your cabinet location, DSLAM model, and even if it is a BDUK funded cabinet, by using this guide:

https://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15409.0.html

Vectoring is only deployed on a small number of BDUK funded Huawei cabinets.
It isn't available on any ECI cabinets.

If you found the PCP you could also compare the DSLAM's cabinet to the photos on kitz FTTC cabinets page.

https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm#fttc_street_cabinet

The DSLAM will be within 100m of the PCP, usually much closer.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

meritez

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30

I've been experimenting with the various firmware at: https://xdarklight.github.io/lantiq-xdsl-firmware-info/ with my HH5A

With the standard openwrt firmware I can get 17-20 down and 3-4Mbps up. I then tried the various DM200 firmwares as they include vectoring support (not sure whether the local DSLAM supports it as I haven't yet identified it - though have found the PCP).

With the firmware from the V34 or V52 of the bundle (5.8.1.5.0.7 and 5.7.11.5.0.7 respectively) I get 24-27Mbps down and 1Mbps upm with the firmware from the V36 GPL bundle (5.7.9.5.1.7) I get something more akin to the stock openwrt firmware.

I don't see evidence of vectoring being used in any case - so I assume that my local DSLAM doesn't support it?

I'm using 5.7.B.5.0.7-5.7.5.4.0.1 from the dm200 firmware v61
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 20 21 [22]