Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8

Author Topic: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v  (Read 72314 times)

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 36443
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #90 on: February 27, 2016, 09:27:08 PM »

I dont know if b*cat ever got around to opening his either.

<snip>

B*cat / Ronski / Jamie do you fancy trying to get in it.

I am still using it, regularly, for its impeccable 5 GHz WiFi and so any attempt to dismantle it would mean I would have to go off-line . . .

Perhaps Ronski or Jamie would be able to assist?  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2078
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #91 on: February 27, 2016, 09:34:21 PM »

From examining (using binwalk on) the firmware, the VR900 v1 must be one of these "two systems in one box" type devices. The whole firmware image contains two kernels and two filesystems. There's one kernel and one filesystem for the MIPS cpu architecture, which operates the BCM63168 VDSL2 modem. But the other kernel and filesystem is for the ARM cpu architecture, which runs the wireless router part.

I think with the newer chips, the BCM 63137u or 63138, it's all on one chip (the newer chips seem to have dual core ARM CPUs). So it would all be running within the same operating system, rather than two separate systems internally networked somehow.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2078
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #92 on: March 06, 2016, 06:19:57 PM »

There is now a VR900 v2 model listed on the global TP-Link support download site, although there's no firmware to download for it yet.

There's also specifications for the VR2600, which has slightly faster wireless speeds than the VR900, and so will become the new top modem/router model when it's launched.
Logged

planetf1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #93 on: April 05, 2016, 12:10:27 AM »

Did anyone figure out the difference between the v1 and v2. I know the chipset differs, though am unsure if it has any practical effect. I can see tplink might switch to the less capable (yet only in terms of features not used) to re-engineer & save costs, but is there anything tangible I need to be concerned with?

I ask since I ordered a VR900 at the weekend, which arrived today. It's an amazon warehouse special (return), but I notice it's a VR900 v1
Logged

planetf1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #94 on: April 12, 2016, 04:07:40 PM »

Having had the VR900 for a week+ I've pretty much decided not to keep it.

It's half decent, but I found that on my particular line, which syncs at approx 35Mbps+/7 Mbps, the VR900 would consistently only sync the upstream at 6 Mbps. It doesn't sound like a lot, but I do a lot of uploading/online backup. I've synced a few times ir VR900, to HG612 and back.. and the difference is real, supported by speed tests. Downstream appears very very close, and SNRm for both directions at the speeds I mention is about the same.

My experimentation (albeit more with the dodgy HH5a) has reminded me that keeping a stable VDSL connection is essential to avoid the wrath of the DLM gods, thus making the case for a one box solution less clear. Additionally having used the router a little it's still relatively simple -- no adaptive QOS, VPN server or other fancy config, and just perhaps for me if I was spending the money a more customizable option running ddwrt might be better.

I've contacted TP-Link about the vdsl observation.
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 413
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #95 on: April 12, 2016, 04:47:42 PM »

I am on an ECI cab so I now use the VR200 (not Vr200v - this voice/DECT model seems for the German market only) as it has a Lantiq VRX268 chipset with 128MB RAM. It has AC WiFi which is an improvement over the last Gen (8890, 8990 etc). It seems rock solid so far (2 days in) and syncs 2.5Mb higher than my previous Billion 8800NL. It supports G.INP both ways too, if BT ever enable it! Got mine from Maplin for 69.99 with a 3 year warranty which was nice.

Supports:
ITU-T G.993.2, Up to 30a profile (POTS)
ITU-T G.993.5 (G.vector)
ITU-T G.998.4 (G.INP)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 12:53:25 PM by underzone »
Logged
TalkTalk 80/20, Huawei 288 FTTC cabinet, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A modem & pfsense x64

2pods

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #96 on: April 18, 2016, 12:44:31 PM »

Noticed new firmware for v1 0.9.1 1.4 v004c.0 Build 160316 Rel.44905n saying fixed Plusnet UK bug.
Wonder what that is ?

Hopefully it will be something to stop the router "disappearing" at up to 5 minutes at time about twice a day after the last upgrade.  >:(

Apart from that it's great .(touch wood  :fingers:)

[Moderator note: This post relates to the Archer VR900 firmware.]
« Last Edit: April 18, 2016, 06:16:21 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Peter

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #97 on: April 18, 2016, 12:58:57 PM »

I think they had messed up something in the setup wizard, if you selected Plusnet VDSL it didn't create a working connection.

[Moderator note: This post relates to the Archer VR900 firmware.]
« Last Edit: April 18, 2016, 06:16:36 PM by burakkucat »
Logged

2pods

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #98 on: April 18, 2016, 03:29:18 PM »

Oh, no luck then.

I can't be sure 'cos I'm finding the log a bit bewildering, if it is the router, a switch, an evil network adaptor, or maybe even (surely not) BT.

[Moderator note: This post relates to the Archer VR900 firmware.]

« Last Edit: April 18, 2016, 06:16:51 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
Peter

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #99 on: April 19, 2016, 10:50:41 PM »

Using mine on TalkTalk FTTC. I've not had any problems like that, but it looks like I missed the version before this one. I was on 151210 and I'm now on 160316.

[VR900v1]
Logged

jid

  • Content Team
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1945
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #100 on: April 25, 2016, 12:10:05 AM »

I've been having some issues with it dissappearing on the network.

I have a hunch it's overheating. I still use as my main router but it's using the HG612 as a modem.
Logged
Kind Regards
Jamie

BT FTTP - 75meg | Sky Q |  Bridgend Weather

JHewess

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #101 on: May 03, 2016, 10:07:58 PM »

Just upgraded to the VR900 at the weekend from the 9980. The 9980 was starting to p me off. I'd always been under the impression that it was a reasonable unit for the price, and it was perfectly capable of holding a solid connection for weeks. However it recently started to become more and more flaky on my line, randomly dropping snr and losing connection a couple of times a day, and while TP-Link were excellent in listening to me and sorting the whole G-IMP thing, it had to go.

So far the VR900 has been completely rock solid. Syncs as high as my line will go (80/20), as did the 9980, but snr is higher and attenuation lower. Wifi performance is considerably better, and file sharing/video streaming via a memory stick or external USB hard drive actually works.
Sure, line stats are pants, but that has never really bothered me. I'm very happy with it overall.
Logged

2pods

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #102 on: May 03, 2016, 11:08:50 PM »

Wish I had your line stats to be pants with.  :D
80/20  :clap:

Mine still disappears regularly, but the Wi-Fi and internet are rock solid (v1)
Logged
Peter

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #103 on: August 15, 2016, 05:24:11 PM »

They seem to have a completly new VR900 and replaced the old white one with a new black one? http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-15_Archer-VR900.html

Also, the DSL cable is going into one of the Ethernet ports  :lol: http://i.imgur.com/p02Ekob.png
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2078
Re: TP-LINK Archer VR900 & VR200v
« Reply #104 on: August 15, 2016, 05:58:52 PM »

Presumably that's the BCM63137 based VR900 v2. Arguably it's a completely different device to the v1, but they're using the same model number because it has the same headline specifications and presumably will be sold for about the same price.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8
 

anything