Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs  (Read 18386 times)

loonylion

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 723
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #30 on: July 12, 2015, 01:41:54 PM »

I just had no net when I powered my comp on. DSLStats said all was OK, SWE said ppp was connected with an uptime of 4 minutes (so clearly my ppp session had just been kicked by PN) but nothing worked, couldn't even ping google dns. so I dropped ppp and reconnected and mysteriously everything suddenly started working.  >:(
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32216
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #31 on: July 12, 2015, 01:49:13 PM »

I had exactly the same issue on Monday night.    I had a PPP session and I'd been issued a Plusnet IP but my routing was going nowhere.
Because I use google DNS then I wasnt even able to do a proper tracert..  but I did manage to do the following by using the IP address for BBC

Code: [Select]
Tracing route to fmt-vip71.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.20] over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    15 ms    13 ms    15 ms  195.166.128.183
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8  ^C

You can see everything stopped dead at 195.166.128.183 which is one of PNs gateways.   (pcl-ag02)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #32 on: July 12, 2015, 08:52:40 PM »

Do please post your findings, my Plusnet contract expires on 22nd August....

Will do, the service is due to move over on the 23rd, so will see how it goes.
Logged

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #33 on: July 12, 2015, 08:56:14 PM »

If I was a person feline who required support from his provider, TT would have been a bad choice.  :-X
I've experienced their support having to speak to them on behalf of customers before, so I know what to expect there. I work in IT support so unless there is a fault with the service itself I should be OK :)
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27719
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #34 on: July 12, 2015, 09:43:23 PM »

I've experienced their support having to speak to them on behalf of customers before, so I know what to expect there. I work in IT support so unless there is a fault with the service itself I should be OK :)

Purrfect!  :D
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

phi2008

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #35 on: July 13, 2015, 01:50:58 AM »

I've been a PN customer since 2003, and I had to say when I got the email about the line rental increases the first thing I thought of was looking elsewhere for line rental, perhaps I should consider moving completely although at the moment I have no service issues, but it is worrying what's happening.

If you are price sensitive it's hard to select a better ISP for the money. Cheap with UK support is an attractive combination. IIRC Plusnet will try to price match competitor ISPs before you leave them and SSE is offering 80/20 fibre for 12.5 broadband/12 line rental over 2 years with 18 month minimum contract. If Plusnet retentions offered me the same over 18 months that would be quite attractive. 

It will be interesting to see how far Plusnet goes in chasing TalkTalk, if they ever reintroduced traffic shaping(like SSE?)  to maximise their network investment that would be a massively retrograde step.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #36 on: July 13, 2015, 04:50:01 AM »

they already still have traffic shaping but they just removed the rate limiting part of it for unlimited customers, the prioritisation is still there.

Its that traffic shaping that is open to question at the moment as me and others suspected their shaper cpu's have become saturated.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

phi2008

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 419
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #37 on: July 13, 2015, 07:28:56 AM »

By traffic shaping I meant rate limiting, not the basic prioritisation which is not noticeable by most people.   
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2015, 05:13:37 PM »

did a speedtest earlier and single threaded was a mess at 11.45am lol.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #39 on: July 16, 2015, 10:32:12 AM »

migrated now, back to sub 10ms pings to london on easynet.

incidentally as it turns out my ac68 connected just fine to sky first time, not even the long pause people warned off.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #40 on: July 16, 2015, 09:02:11 PM »

peak time test before going bed, note the upstream is lower due to QoS on my router.

Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32216
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2015, 11:31:20 AM »

Excellent result chrys.   

Hope you posted that in the Plusnet thread  :-X
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #42 on: July 23, 2015, 03:08:25 PM »

I can the same services cheaper from TalkTalk so I've placed an order with them. Might be a mistake, I'll find out on the 23rd :)
Do please post your findings, my Plusnet contract expires on 22nd August....

All looks good so far. The router arrived a few days ago, I know I don't have to use it, but I thought it might as well try it to start with anyway as I am going to have their youview service too.

This morning my Plusnet broadband had already stopped working when I got up. I connected up the TT router and got a red internet light, I left it connected and went to work. At 11.40 I got an email saying I was now connected.

I've just got in for a late lunch break, a speedtest is slightly faster than I got with PN:



When I first got connected up the router it was showing the downstream sync as something like 79650 and interleaved. At some point that has been changed, as I now have this:

Upstream line rate (kbit/s): 19999
Downstream line rate (kbit/s): 79999
Maximum upstream rate (kbit/s): 33164
Maximum downstream rate (kbit/s): 117360
Upstream noise safety coefficient (dB): 15.3
Downstream noise safety coefficient (dB): 11.5
Upstream interleave depth: 1
Downstream interleave depth: 1
Line standard: VDSL2
Upstream line attenuation (dB): 3.2
Downstream line attenuation (dB): 3.7
Upstream output power (dBm): -4.5
Downstream output power (dBm): 13.9
Channel type: Fast
DSL up-time: 0 days 3 hours 34 minutes 42 seconds
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27719
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #43 on: July 23, 2015, 03:36:58 PM »

I've just got in for a late lunch break, a speedtest is slightly faster than I got with PN:



When I first got connected up the router it was showing the downstream sync as something like 79650 and interleaved. At some point that has been changed, as I now have this:

Upstream line rate (kbit/s): 19999
Downstream line rate (kbit/s): 79999
Maximum upstream rate (kbit/s): 33164
Maximum downstream rate (kbit/s): 117360
Upstream noise safety coefficient (dB): 15.3
Downstream noise safety coefficient (dB): 11.5
Upstream interleave depth: 1
Downstream interleave depth: 1
Line standard: VDSL2
Upstream line attenuation (dB): 3.2
Downstream line attenuation (dB): 3.7
Upstream output power (dBm): -4.5
Downstream output power (dBm): 13.9
Channel type: Fast
DSL up-time: 0 days 3 hours 34 minutes 42 seconds

That is looking good, to me.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4838
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #44 on: July 23, 2015, 06:22:38 PM »

He's got a one millisecond ping  :silly: is that even possible are you pinging your own home server ?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6