Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Author Topic: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs  (Read 18340 times)

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #45 on: July 23, 2015, 07:07:58 PM »

He's got a one millisecond ping  :silly: is that even possible are you pinging your own home server ?

It always seems to do that in Chrome, here's one from Safari, but that goes the other way.



Here's an actual ping:

PING bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.18): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=0 ttl=54 time=7.453 ms
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=1 ttl=54 time=7.279 ms
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=2 ttl=54 time=11.737 ms
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=3 ttl=54 time=7.098 ms
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=4 ttl=54 time=7.138 ms
64 bytes from 212.58.244.18: icmp_seq=5 ttl=54 time=7.278 ms

That's lower than with PN, they averaged around 12ms with them.

I put my Billion 8800NL back for a bit to see the full line stats, and G.INP has been removed from my line.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 27680
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #46 on: July 23, 2015, 07:29:28 PM »

He's got a one millisecond ping  :silly: is that even possible are you pinging your own home server ?

[off topic]
But I can achieve a 0.512 ms ping to my access point!

Code: [Select]
[Duo2 ~]$ ping -a -c 1 ap
PING AP (192.168.1.254) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from AP (192.168.1.254): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.512 ms

--- AP ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.512/0.512/0.512/0.000 ms
[Duo2 ~]$

[/off topic]
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1920
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #47 on: July 23, 2015, 09:44:47 PM »

With G.INP enabled on my line on the upstream and downstream, interleaving has been significantly reduced to a depth of 2 and 4 respectively.

This has reduced my pings to under 10ms from the 30ms pings I was getting before.

FECs are still quite high (1000s per minute at nighttime) but I'm now registering extremely low CRCs/ES so that is good I suppose.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4836
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #48 on: July 23, 2015, 11:23:16 PM »

This has reduced my pings to under 10ms from the 30ms pings I was getting before.

<off topic>

You are lucky Alec my pings decreased by 10ms after G.INP was introduced interleaved pings were 40ms so now it's 30ms to 25ms on a good day, but you must remember I am 325 miles from the core networks which are based in london.
Logged

jsamuel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #49 on: July 25, 2015, 08:01:55 AM »

Ping used to be 10ms, now it's over 40 :(
Also even though I paid for 40/20 my sync speed was 80/20 and I used to get near 80/20 on speedtest.net but since I've been testing different modems for running OpenWrt on, it's now 40/20. Not sure if this is DLM at work in some other way, or PNet has finally caught on.. or both.
Logged

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #50 on: July 25, 2015, 10:14:16 AM »

Plusnet caught up as the 40/20 was ordered as 80/20 and rate limited to 40/20 using the Current Line Speed
Logged
Jim
Plusnet

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1920
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #51 on: July 25, 2015, 10:16:15 AM »

Plusnet caught up as the 40/20 was ordered as 80/20 and rate limited to 40/20 using the Current Line Speed

Ah so it would have been costing them more - that makes sense for them then.
Logged

jsamuel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #52 on: July 25, 2015, 11:33:47 AM »

Looking at DSLstats this morning, it does seem DLM has turned on interleaving.  :-X
Jeez.

Code: [Select]
DSLAM/MSAN type:        IFTN:0xd086 / v0xd086
Modem/router firmware:  AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:                VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                  Showtime
Uptime:                  27 min 59 sec
Resyncs:                0 (since 25 Jul 2015 11:11:12)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  9.6 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2
Connection speed (kbps): 73982 19000
SNR margin (dB):        9.9 9.4
Power (dBm):            12.5 -4.1
Interleave depth:        1174 548
INP:                    3.00 4.50
G.INP:                  Not enabled

RSCorr/RS (%):          0.0001 1.9058
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        0.0000 0.0000
ES/hour:                0 0

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 22162 Kbps, Downstream rate = 105112 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19000 Kbps, Downstream rate = 73982 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 9.9 9.3
Attn(dB): 9.6 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.5 -4.1
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 14 73
B: 48 26
M: 1 1
T: 61 5
R: 16 16
S: 0.0211 0.0450
L: 24672 7651
D: 1174 548
I: 65 43
N: 65 43
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 1114902 324325
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 271848385 3483931
RSCorr: 224 63819
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 204688073 0
Data Cells: 1399482 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 0 317
SES: 0 100
UAS: 28 894126
AS: 1440

Bearer 0
INP: 3.00 4.50
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 6 6
PER: 1.29 4.45
OR: 123.96 141.79
AgR: 74106.09 19141.69

Bitswap: 26/26 0/0

Total time = 24 min 28 sec
FEC: 224 63819
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 317
SES: 0 100
UAS: 28 894126
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 28 sec
FEC: 190 135
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 34 63684
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 317
SES: 0 100
UAS: 28 894126
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 24 min 28 sec
FEC: 224 63819
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 317
SES: 0 100
UAS: 28 894126
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 23 min 59 sec
FEC: 224 63819
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 317
SES: 0 100
UAS: 0 894098
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
#
Logged

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #53 on: July 25, 2015, 11:42:05 AM »

That won't affect you unless you use the connection for gaming
This is one potentially undesirable side effect of running the line on 80/20 with a rate limit.
If it was 40/10 or 40/2 it is very likely that the line would have remained on fast path
Of course I may be talking rubbish  :-X
Logged
Jim
Plusnet

jsamuel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #54 on: July 25, 2015, 11:52:52 AM »

Plusnet caught up as the 40/20 was ordered as 80/20 and rate limited to 40/20 using the Current Line Speed

Indeed, the Current Line Speed has changed to 40. It took a while for me to find the link (I didn't notice you were a PN rep) I found you on their forum and saw the link in your sig  :)

A few days ago I did however change to the full 80/20, but that won't be active until after my next bill so it said (4th)
Logged

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #55 on: July 25, 2015, 11:55:05 AM »

I am not and never have been a Plusnet rep
I was a moderator on the forums until earlier this year but I was still only a customer albeit a long standing one
Logged
Jim
Plusnet

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5915
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #56 on: July 25, 2015, 12:20:43 PM »

That won't affect you unless you use the connection for gaming
This is one potentially undesirable side effect of running the line on 80/20 with a rate limit.
If it was 40/10 or 40/2 it is very likely that the line would have remained on fast path
Of course I may be talking rubbish  :-X

no you not, so ironically a 40/10 line would be performing better for him.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

jsamuel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #57 on: July 25, 2015, 12:22:11 PM »

Ah, sorry for that. I should never just assume  :-[
I've been a customer since 2013, before that I was with TalkTalk and been happy since. TT were a pain, they had no customer service. I just wish PN had control of DLM though (they say they don't) Am I right in saying they do have control over 3 profiles? Something I read here
Logged

jsamuel

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #58 on: July 25, 2015, 12:24:10 PM »

That won't affect you unless you use the connection for gaming
This is one potentially undesirable side effect of running the line on 80/20 with a rate limit.
If it was 40/10 or 40/2 it is very likely that the line would have remained on fast path
Of course I may be talking rubbish  :-X

I do sometimes play games, or game. BF4, every few months just to relieve myself.  :lol:
Logged

Oldjim

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Re: Plusnet have pulled their Performance/Usage Graphs
« Reply #59 on: July 25, 2015, 12:29:21 PM »

On fibre they can't control the DLM as it is all done a cab level
There are three settings but I can't remember what they are and the Plusnet identification is different to the BT Openreach identification
Logged
Jim
Plusnet
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6