Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!  (Read 2701 times)

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« on: April 14, 2015, 08:16:06 AM »

Anyone here using no-ip that can access it today? Seems like it is down right now at least for me.

Stuart
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 09:38:15 AM by broadstairs »
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

kitzuser87430

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 430
Re: No-IP not responding for me...
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2015, 08:33:42 AM »

Logged

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me...
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2015, 09:11:02 AM »

Yes I did try that but just sometimes it gets it wrong....

Anyway my ddns is still working as my IP has not changed recently. The only reason I knew something was wrong was that they sent me an email during the night to say my host had not been updated for a couple of weeks. That in itself is not unusual as my router only does it if the IP changes I believe. However I do run their client and that was having trouble getting to update their site. I hope this is not an indication of how (un)reliable they are, previously I used dyndns and never had any issues with them.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me...
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2015, 09:37:35 AM »

Seems to have come back now and I have got the client running OK as well. Lets hope this continues OK.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 34392
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2015, 04:34:22 PM »

Is that for your weather station? (Or am I thinking of another kitizen?)  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2015, 10:46:41 PM »

Is that for your weather station? (Or am I thinking of another kitizen?)  :-\

Yes I do have a weather station and no it was not for that, it was for my website to allow access to MySQL on my own server. However that is no longer used but I retain it for access via a VNC app to manage my weather station PC when I am away.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40907
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2015, 10:52:04 PM »

I use no-ip with the DSLstats webserver, and it's never given me any trouble, but of course I probably wouldn't notice anyway if it did go down for a bit.
Logged
  Eric

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2015, 11:01:07 PM »

I still had access to my VNC app as my IP had not changed since I set up the account, but I cold not access their system to get the client working as 'belt & braces' to my router setting the IP.

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2015, 03:51:19 PM »

I have just nearly had my host deleted by no-ip. I had an email last week saying it would be deleted but I logged in and thought that would be that. Today I have found that not only do I have to login but also 'modify' the host in order to avoid deletion and I have to do that every 30 days with a free account. Eric do you have to do that every 30 days or do you have a paid account?

Stuart
« Last Edit: April 30, 2015, 03:53:20 PM by broadstairs »
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40907
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2015, 04:07:36 PM »

I have a paid account, Stuart. I started off with a free one, but when the 30-day point approached I decided to upgrade.

Logged
  Eric

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3571
Re: No-IP not responding for me... it is now!!!
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2015, 04:28:35 PM »

OK thanks....

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Zyxel VMG3925
 

anything