Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: FTTP install process - equipment location  (Read 1241 times)

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2949
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2020, 02:31:53 PM »

If the current copper feed comes via telegraph poles then the fibre feed should be fed via the same poles.
If the current copper feed is underground then fibre is usually fed underground also.

In some areas where the copper feed is direct buried they occasionally erect new telegraph poles..

Quote
Also the current master socket is in the loft space, well eaves space, and that's where I want it to remain

If there's power available in the loft for the ONT and the loft space is safe to enter with adequate flooring then OpenReach shouldn't have a problem.

They won't go near lofts that aren't floored or don't have sufficient space (if they need to crawl from 1 end to the other).
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3692
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2020, 04:02:43 PM »

What happens when the current phone line is off a pole? Mine is and there is no way across our front garden because it is 95% concrete. Also the current master socket is in the loft space, well eaves space, and that's where I want it to remain.

Stuart

As John says they will almost certainly run yours overhead (why dig when you can use existing poles), in fact in Cliffsend you can now see coiled up ropes at the bottom of the poles.

My brother wanted his master socket in the loft, whilst the engineer didn't want to go in the loft he was more than happy for my brother to pull the cable through, and then the engineer stood on the loft ladder and connected it up and fixed it to a close by beam.

You wouldn't really want the ONT in your loft though as it's not a nice place for electronic equipment due to extremes of temperature.

Not ideal no, but it will in all likely hood be perfectly fine. I've had a Edimax Pro WAP1750 up there since October 2014 and an inverter (currently 42c) for our solar panels since December 2015
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

broadstairs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3303
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2020, 05:06:45 PM »

Actually it's not really in the loft, we live in a chalet bungalow so we have two upstairs bedrooms with eaves cupboards and our existing master socket is in the north facing eaves cupboard so it does not get that hot. The engineer would not have to go far in because it would be mounted just inside the cupboard about 3 inches round the corner of the door frame! I'd have to reinstate the power socket I used to have when I had my ISDN connection for work back in 1998!

Stuart
Logged
ISP:TalkTalk Connection:FTTC Cab:ECI Router:Netgear D6220

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1321
    • My Broadband History
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2020, 12:18:47 AM »

Not ideal no, but it will in all likely hood be perfectly fine. I've had a Edimax Pro WAP1750 up there since October 2014 and an inverter (currently 42c) for our solar panels since December 2015

My friend has his cable modem in the loft, I'm honestly amazed it hasn't fried as its baking in the summer.
Logged
Exchange: INTAKE (ECI) ISP/Modems: Zen (Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt) + Plusnet (VMG-3925-B10B) + Three (Hauwei B535-232)
Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 557
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2020, 03:49:21 PM »

Hi

I would also suggest an ONT in the loft is more likely prone to issues related to dust, both from any insulation and what arrives in from outside as part of the roof space ventilation.  The optical parts are not hermetically sealed and dirt and dust will get in to where it shouldn't.  In addition the heat convention through the ONT will end up coating the inside in glass fibres and dirt, this could also cause problems with overheating and changing the capacitance of components on the board causing issues.

A loft space isn't the best place for sensitive electronics that aren't designed for that environment, and the domestic ONT boxes are open to the air and designed for a domestic living space.  I'm surprised BT agree to install them in a loft.

Regards

Phil
Logged

matthew413

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #20 on: July 15, 2020, 10:10:58 PM »

Just to close this out, the engineer was able to run a brown cable under the lip of the door. Itís about as discreet as I couldíve hoped.  FTTP in and working perfectly.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29898
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: FTTP install process - equipment location
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2020, 10:22:36 PM »

That looks like a nice, neat, installation. Only those who know (and deliberately set out to look) will see the fibre cable.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything