Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Aardvarks line deterioration  (Read 4834 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32612
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2015, 08:41:08 PM »


I wouldn't mind seeing a TBB speedtest though to look at httpx1 v httpx6.

Your upstream throughput seems low - is it always around 15Mbps?   I'd expect that to be somewhere in the region of 18.5Mbps for a 20Mbps sync.
Also can you provide me with a tracert to the BBC.   Ive noticed a couple of those performance tests show very high ping rates - but that isnt conclusive as it is known to often be out when it comes to ping time.


Just in case you missed my post above.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2015, 11:34:42 PM »


I wouldn't mind seeing a TBB speedtest though to look at httpx1 v httpx6.

Your upstream throughput seems low - is it always around 15Mbps?   I'd expect that to be somewhere in the region of 18.5Mbps for a 20Mbps sync.
Also can you provide me with a tracert to the BBC.   Ive noticed a couple of those performance tests show very high ping rates - but that isnt conclusive as it is known to often be out when it comes to ping time.


Just in case you missed my post above.

Yes I did.

I have swapped to the HG612 to see if DLM is not setting G.INP because I am using a 'non-kosher' modem.
Cannot trim screencaps, PC running very Busy ...... keyboard very sloooow.

TBB Test
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1429221754554326155

Previous TBB on Zyxel
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1427168235691925955





UPDATE:
Fixed truncated link

« Last Edit: April 17, 2015, 12:16:58 PM by AArdvark »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6369
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2015, 10:38:54 AM »

first speedtest url doesnt work.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2015, 12:17:33 PM »

first speedtest url doesnt work.

Thanks, fixed truncated 1st link.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32612
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2015, 12:22:50 PM »

Quote from: kitz
I wouldn't mind seeing a TBB speedtest though to look at httpx1 v httpx6.

The httpx1 v httpx6 test I wanted to see is this one
Sorry, I forgot that it only shows up by default if you are logged in, if you're not then you have to click the "alternative speedtester".

Can you let us see a http1 v http6 test please
You can input the results direct into this forum using the code selection "BBCode (for forums; not supported on thinkbroadband forums) Displaying Graphs"

Quote from: kitz
can you provide me with a tracert to the BBC. Ive noticed a couple of those performance tests show very high ping rates

At 239ms your latency is looking very high on that TBB speedtest and there's a lot of jitter going on. 
Can you let us have a tracert to BBC please.

Burst activity of 82Mbps and an average of 71.7Mbps when you were syncing at 69670 should not be possible



Quote from: kitz
Your upstream throughput seems low - is it always around 15Mbps?

I can see from the speedtest history that it is often much lower than it should be.  It also appears to have some correlation with the downstream being higher than it should.  :hmm:

Do you have a software firewall or Antivirus prog that could be interfering with speedtests.  Its not unknown for some AVs to cause strange speedtest results.

Quote from: aardvark
PC running very Busy ...... keyboard very sloooow.
Was it running busy when doing the speedtests, that could cause buffering and explain the jitter, and possibly some of the latency.
Can you perform the tests when the PC has nothing else running.


Quote from: aardvark
I have swapped to the HG612 to see if DLM is not setting G.INP because I am using a 'non-kosher' modem.

I wasnt going to get you to swap until I'd seen the http1 v http6 tests and I also wanted you to get an adsl info --stats immediately before you took it off, and then one from the HG612 immediately after it synced to compare.

However from the information on MDWS stats I can see that as anticipated the HG612 is giving you a lower sync.  SNRm is a tiny bit more bumpy but nothing to worry about as your error rates haven't increased.

Despite the HG612 being on overnight, you still appear to be g.inpless [i made up a new word!]
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2015, 01:09:35 PM »

Quote from: kitz
I wouldn't mind seeing a TBB speedtest though to look at httpx1 v httpx6.

Can you let us see a http1 v http6 test please
Sorry, was not logged in. Test Done.


Can you let us have a tracert to BBC please.
Quote
1st Attempt
===========

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.70]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.250
  2    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  lo0.12.central12.pcl-bng02.plus.net [195.166.130.153]
  3    17 ms    17 ms    14 ms  irb.12.pcl-cr02.plus.net [84.93.249.114]
  4    15 ms    14 ms    17 ms  ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.6]
  5    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9    20 ms    15 ms    15 ms  ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
 10    15 ms    15 ms    16 ms  132.185.255.149
 11    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  bbc-vip115.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.70]

Trace complete.


2nd Attempt
===========

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.246.93]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.250
  2    14 ms    14 ms    14 ms  lo0.12.central12.pcl-bng02.plus.net [195.166.130.153]
  3    14 ms    14 ms    15 ms  irb.12.pcl-cr01.plus.net [84.93.249.113]
  4    15 ms    21 ms    14 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  5    16 ms    16 ms    15 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ae0.er01.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.93]
  8    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  132.185.255.165
  9    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  bbc-vip014.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [212.58.246.93]

Trace complete.

Burst activity of 82Mbps and an average of 71.7Mbps when you were syncing at 69670 should not be possible

Yes, as I keep saying  ;D. I did put it down to the fact on-line speedtests are prone to be inaccurate. [ :understatement:  ;D]


Quote from: kitz
Your upstream throughput seems low - is it always around 15Mbps?

I can see from the speedtest history that it is often much lower than it should be.  It also appears to have some correlation with the downstream being higher than it should.  :hmm:
Don't know as I do not regularly do Speedtests. I do not need to upload a lot, so do not notice the 'slow' speed.  :shrug2:

Do you have a software firewall or Antivirus prog that could be interfering with speedtests.  Its not unknown for some AVs to cause strange speedtest results.

Quote from: aardvark
PC running very Busy ...... keyboard very sloooow.
Was it running busy when doing the speedtests, that could cause buffering and explain the jitter, and possibly some of the latency.
Can you perform the tests when the PC has nothing else running.
The busy was just as I started to post the reply. (As usually happens to slow things down even more).
I am using Avast (latest version). Do not know if it interferes.
Not aware of any reported problems with Avast. Will stop Avast and unload Firefox & use Chrome just for Speedtests.


Quote from: aardvark
I have swapped to the HG612 to see if DLM is not setting G.INP because I am using a 'non-kosher' (read NOT BT approved) modem.

I wasnt going to get you to swap until I'd seen the http1 v http6 tests and I also wanted you to get an adsl info --stats immediately before you took it off, and then one from the HG612 immediately after it synced to compare.

However from the information on MDWS stats I can see that as anticipated the HG612 is giving you a lower sync.  SNRm is a tiny bit more bumpy but nothing to worry about as your error rates haven't increased.

Despite the HG612 being on overnight, you still appear to be g.inpless [i made up a new word!]
Sorry, I have nothing to lose trying the HG612 now and I would not put it beyond OR to now be getting picky over modems with the current issues re:G.INP etc  ;D
I am sure DLM does not like me ....... it sure has had a good play with my line in the past.  :( :no: ;D

Logged

Al1264

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2015, 01:40:38 PM »

Will stop Avast
I find that you just need to temporarily disable shields with Avast: Right-click the Avast icon in the system tray (assuming you have it running there), select 'Avast shields control' then 'Disable for 10 minutes' (longer times available if required).
Avast makes a little difference to my TBB speedtests, disabliing shields shows a much flatter graph, particularly on the HTTPx6.
Logged
Plusnet - FTTC - AVM Fritz!Box 7490

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2015, 02:10:53 PM »

Will stop Avast
I find that you just need to temporarily disable shields with Avast: Right-click the Avast icon in the system tray (assuming you have it running there), select 'Avast shields control' then 'Disable for 10 minutes' (longer times available if required).
Avast makes a little difference to my TBB speedtests, disabliing shields shows a much flatter graph, particularly on the HTTPx6.
Thanks, that is what I meant  ;D
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2015, 02:19:51 PM »

Kitz,

Four consecutive TBB Speedtests FYI & delight, Thanks  ;D

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142927923511495643264

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142927932118773591074

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142927941513863040392

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142927946603782210323


I would like to run these again when it gets 'Busy' tonight & early in the morning as well.

As you can see I have lost circa 10M from my original speed, courtesy of OR & DCoE plus a little crosstalk.  :(  ;D

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32612
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2015, 08:36:10 PM »

Ok thanks for the tracert and the graphs.

I had been concerned at some of the high ping times recorded on some of the speedtests, so I wanted to make sure that you didnt have some sort of hidden interleaving profile.   Everything looks fine with your tracert.

The last set of TBB with Avast turned off look much more like they should.  Your upstream can be a bit slow to get going sometimes, dunno why that is, but its not anything Im too concerned about atm.   The main thing is that your downstream now looks correct.

It would be interesting to do a BT performance test with Avast turned off.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32612
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2015, 10:35:10 AM »

Aardvark:    I happen to notice that your SNRm and max attainable has started to slide over the past few days since putting the HG612 on. 
You are now at >2Mbps below your sync speed.

If the DLM was going to notice the HG612 and re g.inp you then I would have expected it to have done so before today.   
Its obvious that the Zyxel VMG8324 performs better on your line than the HG612 so its up to you whether you want to put it back on again.

I can understand if you want to leave things be, because it will show the slow deterioration.  It may muddy the waters if PN see you put the VMG8324 back on and they think the line has improved. 

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32612
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #26 on: April 19, 2015, 10:37:38 AM »

PS
Did you ever get around to trying the BTw Performance test with Avast turned off and have things returned to normal?

PPS

Ive split this to its own topic.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2015, 10:40:39 AM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: Aardvarks line deterioration
« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2015, 03:53:57 AM »

I put the Zyxel back.
The line did not improve much and started to drift down to the same as the HG612 ??? approx 68xxx.
I noticed that the line would improve the max attainable by approx 1M and stay there for hours.
I re-synced at one of these points and have been synced at 697xx for 24hrs+.

It would be nice if G.INP came back but as I have seen elsewhere on kitz et al this is another 'kettle of fish'  ;D

The BTW Speedtests are normal for now.
Not chasing this at the moment, watching the 'G.INP Show' as the final state of my line has not been reached.
(I hope!)

« Last Edit: April 25, 2015, 03:57:13 AM by AArdvark »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

anything