Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats  (Read 1671 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« on: May 17, 2015, 09:11:38 PM »

Just noticed that I dont appear to have any stats at all for the past 24 hrs.
If you look at MDWS you can see that HG612 modem stats sent the last figures at about 09:37 last night.


Under HG612_Modem_Stats > Scripts folder I have a file ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT and HG612 modem stats appears to have stopped doing any logging after this point.


What is also concerning is that this also appears to have stopped DSLstats from running and DSLstats for the past 24hrs just shows loads & loads of these errors

Code: [Select]
17 May 2015 20:06:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2015 20:07:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:08:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:09:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:10:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:11:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:12:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples
17 May 2015 20:41:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2015 20:42:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:43:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:44:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:45:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:46:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed
17 May 2015 20:47:35 Five missed samples, HG612-Modem-Stats checking suspended for 30 samples


I run both progs so that if one fails, then at least the other will continue to record, but the failure of HG612 modem stats in this case, then appears to have caused DSLstats to stop running too :(


------

I can still log in to both the modem GUI and telnet, so the issue doesnt appear to be anything to do with the Zyxel which has a system uptime of 13 days and PPP of 2 day 18 hr (dunno why that was).

I've manually deleted the ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT file, but HG612_modem stats is still stuck, and DSLstats isnt running either as its still in one of the suspended for 30min cycles.

The last entry I have on Ongoing_Error.Log is

Code: [Select]
17/05/2015 21:10:00.214 - [ IN HG612_stats.EXE ] - Start of 1 minute sampling - delayed by user setting of 0 seconds
17/05/2015 21:10:00.623 - *** Now in exit_2_instances as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1.
17/05/2015 21:10:00.623 - About to close(sockfd)
17/05/2015 21:10:00.639 - About to freeadddrinfo(res)
17/05/2015 21:10:00.655 - *** In exit_2_instances - Closing ERROR.LOG. Status = 1.



Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2015, 09:21:03 PM »

OK DSLstats still isnt working and yet again reporting

Code: [Select]
17 May 2015 21:16:35 HG612-Modem-Stats checking resumed
17 May 2015 21:17:35 1 instance(s) of HG612_stats.exe running, sample missed

Yet I cant see any reason why HG612 modem stats isnt running, nor why DSLstats wont run.

See copy of my folder.  What do I need to do to enable either/both progs to start logging again?

Ive tried restarting DSLstats but that just gives a red message "HG612-Modem-Stats running" and still no stats.

------
ETA

Deleted HG612stats in Task Manager and DSLstats is now working again.


« Last Edit: May 17, 2015, 09:30:03 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2015, 09:41:07 PM »

Sorry - Replying to myself again:

Deleting HG612 modem stats in TaskMan appears to have done the trick and both progs are now working again and uploading to MDWS. 

It would appear that HG612 stats seems to have got into a tizz for some reason and this stopped both progs from working.  The result though is that I have no stats at all for the past 24hrs.   I only happened to notice by chance that DSLstats had stopped working.

Is there any way that either/both of these progs could advise when there is an error such as this which needs sorting and manual intervention, otherwise (particularity with HG612stats), this could have gone un-noticed for several days/weeks.   If I didnt also have DSLstats running then there is absolutely no doubt that I wouldnt have the foggiest that HG612modem stats had got its knickers in a twist.


Eric - is it possible for DSLstats to flash in the sys tray when there is an error such as this which had been going on for >24hrs?

tyvm.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2015, 09:45:00 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2015, 10:22:47 PM »

Under HG612_Modem_Stats > Scripts folder I have a file ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT and HG612 modem stats appears to have stopped doing any logging after this point.


Presumably the ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT was from last night (timed at 21:37:00).

 
Quote
The last entry I have on Ongoing_Error.Log is

Code: [Select]
17/05/2015 21:10:00.214 - [ IN HG612_stats.EXE ] - Start of 1 minute sampling - delayed by user setting of 0 seconds
17/05/2015 21:10:00.623 - *** Now in exit_2_instances as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1.
17/05/2015 21:10:00.623 - About to close(sockfd)
17/05/2015 21:10:00.639 - About to freeadddrinfo(res)
17/05/2015 21:10:00.655 - *** In exit_2_instances - Closing ERROR.LOG. Status = 1.


Assuming HG612 Modem Stats ran O.K. at 21:36 last night, could you please post a snippet from ONGOING_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT rather than ONGOING_ERROR.LOG, from say 21:35 to 21:40 (16th May)?

v 5.1, about to be released subject to further testing, may well have dealt with whatever it was that caused HG612_stats.exe to lock up.


Just to confirm, is HG612 Modem Stats co-operation enabled in DSLStats?

also, is modem_stats.log being correctly appended every minute?

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2015, 10:45:32 PM »

hmmmm  weird - note the gap where there is nothing at all

Code: [Select]
6/05/2015 21:36:00.10 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****
16/05/2015 21:36:02.33 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Normal End of [HG612_stats.exe]
16/05/2015 21:36:02.41 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Start of [Upload.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.0 20/02/2015 ****
16/05/2015 21:36:02.76 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Now exiting [Upload.exe]. Status = 1,
 
16/05/2015 21:36:02.79 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - End of [HG612_stats.exe] AFTER WebStats stuff
 
 

16/05/2015 21:37:00.06 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****

17/05/2015 13:08:06.88 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****
17/05/2015 13:08:08.20 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - ** About to exit as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.26 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - *** Now in exit_2_instances as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.28 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - About to close(sockfd). Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.29 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - About to freeadddrinfo(res). Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.32 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - ERROR.LOG successfully closed. Status = 0,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.33 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - *** End of [HG612_stats.exe] - 2 OR MORE INSTANCES WERE RUNNING. Status = 0,


Quote
Just to confirm, is HG612 Modem Stats co-operation enabled in DSLStats?
Yes.

Quote
also, is modem_stats.log being correctly appended every minute?

Would appear to be fine now.  Just the 24hr gap

Code: [Select]
16/05/2015 21:35 79987 20000 6.7 12.5 14.3 6.3 83749 29893 PTM 5170 40 0 905 13665 0 1066717 0 0 0 0 296.310 0 905 0 644831746 1597796 36278 5170 40 0 0 2085176 0 0 0 0 1 1 1601 31 6 0 0 0 1 636600 9799 0 0.6 17.8 26.9 0.0 10.7 23.5 37.0 0.5 17.6 26.9 0.0 10.4 23.4 37.0 14.8 12.8 12.3 0.0 6.7 6.7 6.7 -5.9 -27.1 6.1 0.0 11.9 7.4 7.4 Showtime 0 0 L0 17a ON ON No Showtime 0.0 0.0 239 236 1 1 23 5 0 16 0.0955 0.3771 20104 5410 1214 0 1214 0 836367534 0 108336251 0 0 0 0 27 27 0.00 0.00 1.65 6.15 0.00 0.00 116.09 202.87 14821 85 VDSL2 6 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 NO_G.INP 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
16/05/2015 21:36 79987 20000 6.7 12.5 14.3 6.3 83514 29876 PTM 5170 40 0 905 13665 0 1066777 0 0 0 0 296.327 0 905 0 644868025 1607594 36279 5170 40 0 0 2721766 0 0 0 0 1 1 1601 31 6 0 0 0 0 636590 9798 0 0.6 17.8 26.9 0.0 10.7 23.5 37.0 0.5 17.6 26.9 0.0 10.4 23.4 37.0 14.8 12.9 12.4 0.0 6.7 6.7 6.7 -5.9 -27.1 6.1 0.0 11.9 7.4 7.4 Showtime 0 0 L0 17a ON ON No Showtime 0.0 0.0 239 236 1 1 23 5 0 16 0.0955 0.3771 20104 5410 1214 0 1214 0 845596797 0 108337016 0 0 0 0 27 27 0.00 0.00 1.65 6.15 0.00 0.00 116.09 202.87 14824 85 VDSL2 3 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 NO_G.INP 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00
17/05/2015 21:29 79987 20000 6.7 12.7 14.3 6.3 83411 30166 PTM 5315 43 0 975 14622 0 1152768 0 0 0 0 320.213 0 975 0 696847365 1951399 51979340 5315 43 0 0 9624 0 0 0 0 1 1 1726 34 6 0 0 0 0 0 343805 0 0.6 17.8 26.9 0.0 10.7 23.5 37.0 0.5 17.6 26.9 0.0 10.4 23.4 37.0 14.4 12.9 12.6 0.0 6.7 6.7 6.7 -5.9 -27.1 6.1 0.0 11.9 7.4 7.4 Showtime 0 0 L0 17a ON ON No Showtime 0.0 0.0 239 236 1 1 23 5 0 16 0.0955 0.3771 20104 5410 1309 0 1309 0 1184233021 0 110177764 0 0 0 0 27 27 0.00 0.00 1.65 6.15 0.00 0.00 116.09 202.87 15930 91 VDSL2 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 NO_G.INP 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0 0 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00


Sorry it took a while to respond - the logs are rather large so took a while for me to find the correct entries.

------
PS Just thought.

PC doesn hibernate or standby, only the monitors after 15mins.
System uptime is 12 days since last boot



« Last Edit: May 17, 2015, 10:50:27 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39528
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2015, 10:56:30 PM »

Quote
Eric - is it possible for DSLstats to flash in the sys tray when there is an error such as this which had been going on for >24hrs?

Yes, but I'll have to do that after the next release, as I'll shortly be releasing v5.5 which has full MDWS G.INP uploading capability.

BE1 and I went to some lengths to try to avoid conflicts between the two programs, but it looks as though there may be scope for refining it a bit. I'll see if I can do that.
Logged
  Eric

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2015, 11:05:28 PM »

Thank you.   

There is no hurry for it as its not something I would imagine that would crop up too often and I know that your time is limited :)

Perhaps something simple like using the existing icon colour change if DSLstats stops working but just add in there to also include if there are 'x' number of missed samples?  That way at least there is an alert if something has gone wrong.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2015, 11:08:39 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2015, 06:42:25 AM »

hmmmm  weird - note the gap where there is nothing at all

Code: [Select]
6/05/2015 21:36:00.10 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****
16/05/2015 21:36:02.33 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Normal End of [HG612_stats.exe]
16/05/2015 21:36:02.41 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Start of [Upload.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.0 20/02/2015 ****
16/05/2015 21:36:02.76 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - Now exiting [Upload.exe]. Status = 1,
 
16/05/2015 21:36:02.79 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213600-064.TXT - End of [HG612_stats.exe] AFTER WebStats stuff
 
 

16/05/2015 21:37:00.06 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-213700-044.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****

17/05/2015 13:08:06.88 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - Start of [HG612_stats.exe] - **** Version 5.0.0.3 23/03/2015 ****
17/05/2015 13:08:08.20 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - ** About to exit as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.26 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - *** Now in exit_2_instances as there are 2 instances of HG612_stats.exe running. Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.28 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - About to close(sockfd). Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.29 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - About to freeadddrinfo(res). Status = 1,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.32 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - ERROR.LOG successfully closed. Status = 0,
17/05/2015 13:08:08.33 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-130806-816.TXT - *** End of [HG612_stats.exe] - 2 OR MORE INSTANCES WERE RUNNING. Status = 0,


Hmmm.

The gap with nothing at all added to the error log until 13:08 on 17th has thrown me.

I'll have a look at implementing something to avoid this as the first update to 5.1, which will still be released as is for now.
Ronski has given me a suggestion that may be the way to do it.

Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32223
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: No stats from either HG612modem stats and DSLstats
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2015, 09:31:40 AM »

Quote
The gap with nothing at all added to the error log until 13:08 on 17th has thrown me.

Me too, which is why I checked system uptime, but aside from that I'd made a post yesterday morning anyhow.   I cant think what would have been happening at 13:08 on the PC as by that time I think I would have been out.

PS
I just re-read my posts above from last night and apologies if it sounded a little terse.  It wasnt my intention for it to come across like that - just tiredness, stressed out and trying to report what had happened as quick as I could.  Much appreciate the time and effort what you guys do.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
 

anything