Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 48 49 [50] 51 52 ... 62

Author Topic: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.  (Read 275149 times)

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #735 on: August 23, 2015, 07:26:28 PM »

AlecR:  The HG612 reports it as 21.9dB and the TG589vn v3 reports it at 16.9dB.

Gezz can't even get 40Mbps on a 1000m line and the attainable is 24.9dB
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5787
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #736 on: August 24, 2015, 11:06:30 AM »

nothing to report here on ECI :p

31 days uptime

same sync speed.

fast path up/down. :)

By the way my guy in the know reports there is no g.inp configs rolled out yet to ECI cabinets, he said prior to hauwei rollout it was done some months before which suggests ECI users wont get g.inp in september also with october unlikely at this point.

Of course its possible these configs will get rolled out shortly before rollout, but I thought i would post this information.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #737 on: August 24, 2015, 11:08:07 AM »

I suspect, if ECI does get a rollout at all, it will start being noticed by around or during Q1 2016. Perhaps sooner if we're lucky.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32114
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #738 on: August 24, 2015, 06:37:48 PM »

Quote
he said prior to hauwei rollout it was done some months before which suggests ECI users wont get g.inp in september also with october unlikely at this point.

As per the first posts in this thread.   The Huawei cabs started to get their upgrades the 2nd week in Jan. 
This usually involves 5-10 mins of downtime.  It was 14th of Jan when someone from this forum first noted the downtime.

It was the 7th of Feb when the first member actually had g.inp Mk1 applied to their line.

Quote
Of course its possible these configs will get rolled out shortly before rollout, but I thought i would post this information.

We've always said that stage 1 is rollout to the cabs and stage 2 is application to the line profile.... and that the same procedure would happen with the ECI's.   

The lack of people on here who are on ECI's reporting any downtime whilst the cabs are upgraded is how we knew that it hadn't started on the ECI's yet.   Openreach are highly unlikely to update the ECI cabs if some of the engineers hand-helds arent working properly to get stats from, once those cabs have been updated. :/
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1920
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #739 on: August 29, 2015, 09:48:59 AM »

I've just had G.INP re-enabled on my upstream this morning.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #740 on: August 29, 2015, 12:38:17 PM »

I've just had G.INP re-enabled on my upstream this morning.

I can understand why this happened to AlecR the US errored second count went upto 29000
My USpstream has also been G.INP enabled this morning and don't know why the US errored second count was at a low of 89 per day  :-\

« Last Edit: August 29, 2015, 12:41:18 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Captain Jack

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #741 on: September 29, 2015, 12:16:41 PM »

How long does it usually take to get upgraded to G.INP following FTTC activation? It's been a couple of weeks now and I've had a stable line for over 10 days (no resyncs). I am on Huawei DSLAM using Billion 8800NL router, which supports G.INP.

Here are my stats:

Code: [Select]
> adsl info --vendor
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 8564 Kbps, Downstream rate = 48927 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 8564 Kbps, Downstream rate = 40821 Kbps

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa48c
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa48c
ChipSet SerialNumber:

 > adsl info --stats
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason:    0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 8564 Kbps, Downstream rate = 48943 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 8564 Kbps, Downstream rate = 40821 Kbps

Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        5.6             5.9
Attn(dB):        22.2            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        11.9            2.8

                        VDSL2 framing
                        Bearer 0
MSGc:           18              26
B:              51              239
M:              1               1
T:              64              44
R:              12              0
S:              0.0405          0.8905
L:              12632           2156
D:              799             1
I:              64              120
N:              64              240
Logged

aruba

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #742 on: September 29, 2015, 03:43:27 PM »

Anecdotally, it took at least 2-3 months on my line.

The first couple of months I was using a Billion 8800NL and G.INP was not showing as active.

For a period of two months I was using a router that didn't show G.INP.

I have now recently got a new router and G.INP is now active.
Logged

Captain Jack

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #743 on: September 29, 2015, 03:46:53 PM »

Hm, I wonder if there's an issue with the Billion router working/activating G.INP? What new router did you get?
Logged

aruba

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #744 on: September 29, 2015, 04:12:56 PM »

It's a ZyXel VMG8324-B10A.
Logged

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #745 on: September 29, 2015, 06:24:10 PM »

Hm, I wonder if there's an issue with the Billion router working/activating G.INP? What new router did you get?
[On the assumption that your Router/modem supports G.INP]
It is not a router problem AFAIK but rather a case of having to wait for DLM to activate G.INP on your line.
DLM activates G.INP when it sees fit & equally can activate/deactivate G.INP on US when it wants as well.

Thee is no regulation timing for G.INP to appear.
You simply need to bide your time ..... it will come eventually.  ;D ;D
I had a huge wait because my line was reset and the existing G.INP 'disappeared' !!
I appeared to be picked up when OR checked for missing G.INP on the known lines that should have been enabled.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #746 on: November 04, 2015, 10:20:15 PM »

Even I have come to the conclusion that the ECI cabinets won't be G.INP enabled we are now into November 2015, I just think this JDSU update is a red herring to stop ECI customers getting angry.

It's 5 months now since the huawei cabinets got this G.INP MK2 rollout my guess is if the ECI has not been enabled for G.INP by now it's never going to happen  :(
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #747 on: November 04, 2015, 11:02:35 PM »

Even I have come to the conclusion that the ECI cabinets won't be G.INP enabled we are now into November 2015, I just think this JDSU update is a red herring to stop ECI customers getting angry.

It's 5 months now since the huawei cabinets got this G.INP MK2 rollout my guess is if the ECI has not been enabled for G.INP by now it's never going to happen  :(

All true sadly, I came to a similar conclusion about a month ago. ECI cabs are pretty much either second class or perhaps even a failed decision that's to be forgotten about quietly by BT Openreach :(. I'd love to see G.INP or some insight that it may one day come, but it looks like that's not going to happen. Probably the same will happen regarding vectoring (no vectoring that is) if BT do a nationwide rollout at a later date. All one can hope is that when G.fast is rolled out nationwide (I presume it will be in the future) that those unfortunate to be on ECI cabs are given a little priority to receive the option of the improved service sooner, if commercially viable of course.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5787
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #748 on: November 05, 2015, 02:50:33 AM »

Depends how you see g.inp

Do you see it as free extra sync speed, or do you see it for its purpose of enhanced stability?

I dont know if g.fast will be any stabler than existing vdsl services as I assume BT will run it without spare margin to get max marketed speeds, in which case the only real advantage for stability is the copper loop may be shorter (if they deploy nodes away from cabinets) in which case a dodgy part of the ali/copper may be removed from the equation.

Also g.fast is nowhere near as mature as vdsl was when BT started rolling out vdsl, so the chipsets and firmware might have issues as well.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

loonylion

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 723
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #749 on: November 05, 2015, 03:10:53 AM »

also if they roll out on final distribution poles that should almost completely eliminate crosstalk because there wont be any copper bundles.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 48 49 [50] 51 52 ... 62