Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 62

Author Topic: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.  (Read 271845 times)

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1336
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #90 on: April 19, 2015, 05:46:11 PM »

Assuming your DSLAM has been updated, there's every possibility that your connection will be switched to G.INP today (if it hasn't already done so).


Looking at this data, your DSLAM appears to be one of the newer ones:-

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa485
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa485

These DSLAM versions are being updated, but from other users' reports, it seems they may have updated more recently than the original 0xa44f versions.


As mentioned earlier, we still don't know for sure that ALL connections are having G.INP applied or if it is only those that 'need' it.

Your connection appears to have lots of spare capacity, so it will be interesting to be informed whether G.INP does get applied at some stage.

Still no bearer 1!
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1336
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #91 on: April 19, 2015, 05:59:53 PM »

I've just spotted something else (highlighted in red):

Usage: xdslcmd start [--up] <configure command options>
       xdslcmd stop
       xdslcmd connection [--up] [--down] [--loopback] [--reverb]
           [--medley] [--noretrain] [--L3] [--diagmode] [--L0]
           [--tones <r1-r2,r3-r4,...>] [--normal] [--freezeReverb] [--freezeMedley]
       xdslcmd configure/configure1 [--mod <a|d|l|t|2|p|e|m|M3|M5|v>] [--lpair <(i)nner|(o)uter>]
           [--trellis <on|off>] [--snr <snrQ4>] [--bitswap <on|off>] [--sesdrop <on|off>]
           [--sra <on|off>] [--CoMinMgn <on|off>] [--i24k <on|off>] [--phyReXmt <0xBitMap-UsDs>]
          [--Ginp <0xBitMap-UsDs>] [--TpsTc <0xBitMap-AvPvAaPa>] [--monitorTone <on|off>]
           [--profile <0x00 - 0xFF>|<"8a |8b |8c |8d |12a |12b |17a |30a">] [--us0 <on|off>]
           [--dynamicD <on|off>] [--dynamicF <on|off>] [--SOS <on|off>] [--maxDataRate <maxDsDataRateKbps maxUsDataRateKbps maxAggrDataRateKbps>]
           [--forceJ43 <on|off>] [--toggleJ43B43 <on|off>]
       xdslcmd bert [--start <#seconds>] [--stop] [--show]
       xdslcmd afelb [--time <sec>] [--tones] [--signal <1/2/8>]
       xdslcmd qlnmntr [--time <sec>] [--freq <msec>]
       xdslcmd inm [--start <INMIATO> <INMIATS><INMCC><INM_INPEQ_MODE><INM_INPEQ_FORMAT>] [--show]
       xdslcmd snrclamp [--shape <shapeId>] [--bpshape [bpIndex-bpLevel,]]
       xdslcmd nlnm [--show ] [--setThld <Thld_Num_Tones>]
       xdslcmd diag [--logstart <nBytes>] [--logpause] [--logstop] [--loguntilbufferfull <nBytes>] [--loguntilretrain <nBytes>] [--dumpBuf <sizeKb>]
       xdslcmd info [--state] [--show] [--stats] [--SNR] [--QLN] [--Hlog] [--Hlin] [--HlinS] [--Bits]
           [--pbParams] [--linediag] [--linediag1] [--reset] [--vendor] [--cfg]
       xdslcmd profile [--show] [--save] [--restore]
       xdslcmd --version
       xdslcmd --help


I was actually looking for how to turn it on on the upstream.
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #92 on: April 19, 2015, 06:15:45 PM »

Look guys & girls you have misinterpreted my post asking why the PhyR is turn off in the US as we don't have the capability of turning on via the HG612 the post was for the 8800NL user  :P
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #93 on: April 19, 2015, 06:28:04 PM »

That usage output from jelv suggests something - that PhyR gets configured separately from Ginp.

When I've been trying to figure out my G.INP setup here, I have reached the conclusion that it is configured for both upstream and downstream. Yet the configuration screenshot matches @NewtronStar's (ie PhyR is on for downstream, and off for upstream), and the "adsl profile --show" output matches both jelv and Kitz.

Perhaps the settings we've seen ("phyReXmt(Us/Ds) Off/On") doesn't actually apply to G.INP.
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39449
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #94 on: April 19, 2015, 06:55:18 PM »

I enabled G.INP on the upstream in my 8800NL, and now the phyR configuration is changed:

 
Code: [Select]
> adsl profile --show

Modulations:
        G.Dmt   Disabled
        G.lite  Disabled
        T1.413  Disabled
        ADSL2   Disabled
        AnnexL  Disabled
        ADSL2+  Disabled
        AnnexM  Disabled
        VDSL2   Enabled
VDSL2 profiles:
        8a      Enabled
        8b      Enabled
        8c      Enabled
        8d      Enabled
        12a     Enabled
        12b     Enabled
        17a     Enabled
        US0     Enabled
Phone line pair:
        Inner pair
Capability:
        bitswap         On
        sra             On
        trellis         On
        sesdrop         Off
        CoMinMgn        Off
        24k             On
        phyReXmt(Us/Ds) On/On
        TpsTc           AvPvAa
        monitorTone:    On
        dynamicD:       On
        dynamicF:       Off
        SOS:            On
        Training Margin(Q4 in dB):      -1(DEFAULT)
 >

So there is certainly a link.
Logged
  Eric

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #95 on: April 19, 2015, 06:56:56 PM »

What did you do to enable G.INP upstream?
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39449
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #96 on: April 19, 2015, 08:15:18 PM »

I've realised I was talking nonsense (sorry). It was phyR I enabled. :-[
Logged
  Eric

jelv

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 1336
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #97 on: April 20, 2015, 09:05:26 PM »

I'm still seeing

# xdslcmd info --vendor
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status:   0
Max:    Upstream rate = 41802 Kbps, Downstream rate = 122084 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 79987 Kbps

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa485
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa485
ChipSet SerialNumber:
Logged
Line rental: Pulse8, Broadband: AAISP Home::1 FTTC 80/20, Mobile: id Mobile

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1093
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #98 on: April 20, 2015, 09:33:58 PM »

Could it be that the rollout has been suspended until the present G.INP problems are resolved?
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #99 on: April 20, 2015, 10:58:34 PM »

Could it be that the rollout has been suspended until the present G.INP problems are resolved?

We just don't know but why would OR just suddenly suspend the g.inp rollout for eci cabs and newer cabs just because the ECI modem is at the moment incompatible, to me that would be an unethical stance for a large business like OprenReach the ECI modems can still access the internet after the fix (no DSL communication on a Huawei cabinet) there has to more to it than just a modem incompatibility issue with g.inp.

But for shure with ClosedReach we will never know the real answer, it will just start working as it should without any explanation
« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 11:21:22 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #100 on: April 20, 2015, 11:14:52 PM »

to me that would be an unethical stance for a large business like OprenReach the ECI modems can still access the internet after the fix (no DSL communication on a Huawei cabinet) there has to more to it than a just modem incompatabiliy with g.inp.

I guess the place you will see the impact is in the call centres of the ISPs. If they are fielding a large increase in volume of calls because of this, you can bet they'll be demanding (through BTW if needed) that Openreach halts the rollout. Support is a substantial cost to the ISPs.

Openreach themselves will feel it through the number of calls to their engineers ... which feeds back into the delays for appointments. If extra callouts makes for them failing to meet their SLA targets, they'd be choosing to stop the rollout by themselves.
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #101 on: April 20, 2015, 11:41:09 PM »

But WWWombat the G.INP has been a success for me and many millions of users on the huawie cabinet with a modem thats capable, why stop or halt others on a ECI cabinet from benefiting from g.inp it's bizarre to say the least.

There could be an ECI line thats enabled to-morrow on MDWS and if so i'll crack open a case of beer to celebrate  :)
Logged

WWWombat

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1674
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #102 on: April 21, 2015, 01:53:41 AM »

Look at it this way:

If they keep the rollout going, there's lots of upside (the success cases), but lots of downside (the failures), and a likely increase in support calls because of the failures.

If they stop the rollout, there is no more upside, but no more downside either.

In this case, the extra upside doesn't bring them any extra income. However, the downside just adds costs. And, if it happens enough, it overwhelms the carefully-dimensioned call-centre staff rotas (of the ISPs), leading to unhappy customers who have real problems.

Under such circumstances, I could see some desire to minimise the downsides, temporarily, even if that curtailed the upsides too. If the problem became really bad, I could see someone demanding the change be backed out. I have, in the past, spent an hour at 6am backing out a change we'd just spent the night working on ... because it wasn't working quite well enough. Telcos tend to be Conservative with a capital C.

But ... none of us know for sure. It is all speculation about what might be happening.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5748
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #103 on: April 21, 2015, 02:54:21 AM »

We dont even know if its halted, BS said the rollout would start during Q1, not at the start of Q1.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4943
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #104 on: April 21, 2015, 07:19:58 AM »

I also regularly check our library of comms regarding this subject, and there appears to be no change to what I originally quoted.

<Caveat> Unless something's happening at a higher level that I don't have access to ?.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 ... 62