Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 62

Author Topic: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.  (Read 271850 times)

Tyke

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #45 on: April 12, 2015, 10:11:25 AM »

From your stats, it now looks like there are 3 Huawei DSLAM versions in use:-


Mine:-
ChipSet Vendor Id:     BDCM:0xa44f
ChipSet VersionNumber: 0xa44f

Yours:-
ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa451
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa451


One I saw yesterday:-
ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa458
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa458


Only yours isn't using G.INP.

Is anyone else using a ZyXel 8924 with the same V8 Beta 2 firmware as Tyke that is actually using G.INP?

I know that I was connected directly to the exchange when I has ADSL.
Logged

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #46 on: April 12, 2015, 11:16:53 AM »

From your stats, it now looks like there are 3 Huawei DSLAM versions in use:-

Same here:

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa451
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa451

Cabinet installed in the last few months and G.INP on the line.
Logged

andy265

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #47 on: April 12, 2015, 11:30:15 AM »

One I saw yesterday:-
ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa458
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa458

Don't know if that's a typo or there's a 4th, as I have

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa485
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa485

G.INP is active on my line.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2720
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #48 on: April 12, 2015, 12:42:34 PM »

One I saw yesterday:-
ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa458
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa458

Don't know if that's a typo or there's a 4th, as I have

ChipSet Vendor Id:      BDCM:0xa485
ChipSet VersionNumber:  0xa485



It was indeed a typo (now corrected).
Thanks for mentioning it.

Logged

kitzuser87430

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 424
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #49 on: April 12, 2015, 05:26:12 PM »

Quote
are ALL Huawei DSLAMs getting the upgrade or not, I am a bit confused. I am on Huawei, and definitely do not have it at the moment.

Same here....on a connection I manage the pppoe uptime >72 Days on locked ECI modem and huawei cab (228 port)

Ping graph still showing no increase (23ms approx average)

I have a couple of unlocked hg612's here to swap out...if end users notice a problem when (if) g.inp is enabled.

Ian
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32080
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #50 on: April 12, 2015, 09:37:23 PM »

Quote
Is anyone else using a ZyXel 8924 with the same V8 Beta 2 firmware as Tyke that is actually using G.INP?

There's something weird happening on Aardvarks line.   I noticed the other day after reading his thread,  but havent had chance to look properly again.   He did have G.INP, but since the engineer reset his line over a week ago, he seems to have nothing.


If it wasnt for the fact that he's already put the HG612 on a couple of times and irrc he said sync was about 5Mb worse on the HG612 then I'd ask him to do so again..  but Im scared of it making his line worse than what it is.

---------
ETA

Aardvark, I just thought - you do have HowlingWolf's firmware SP08 on the HG612?
« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 09:56:06 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

AArdvark

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1008
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #51 on: April 12, 2015, 10:26:18 PM »

Kitz,

Just noticed this on my phone.

Yes I have the latest HowlingWolf's firmware SP08 on the HG612.
You have raised one of the points I am chasing with Plusnet and getting no answer to.

I will poke them with a sharp stick tomorrow and see if they deign to answer any of my questions.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32080
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #52 on: April 13, 2015, 09:54:17 AM »

TP-LINK RELEASES BETA G.INP FIRMWARE.

TP-Link has released beta firmware for the TD-W9980 which hopefully includes a fix for the G.INP problem.

More information and Download from this thread
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,15322.0.html
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

HighBeta

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #53 on: April 14, 2015, 04:45:16 PM »

I don't know how the guys with unlocked ECI's are doing, because at least they can access some stats so it would be good if any of them can report their findings please.

Think most of the unlocked eci users are on eci cabs  although Kronos_2001 maybe on a Huawei.

My personnel view is the default configs in older versions of ifx-dsl-cpe files have the bRetTXEnable boolean set to False in instead of True & also missing RETX_ENA=1 in xTM_Mgmt_Mode as posted a few pages back. The  etc/ rc.conf files could also do with a tweaking.

If its the above , it can be fixed  - Just a question of "if" with bt ... :paperbag:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ps Those of us on aaisp appreciate the time/effort with this thread & even if certain pn users think your posts are ""irrelevant"  :-X ;)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 05:03:48 PM by HighBeta »
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1918
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #54 on: April 14, 2015, 05:22:55 PM »

Is the cabinet a Huawei or an ECI? If it's Huawei it will have G.INP enabled. ECI - not known.

It's a full-size the large Huawei 288 cabinet


-------
Edited by admin to avoid confusion with full size Huawei MSANs
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 06:22:54 PM by kitz »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32080
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #55 on: April 14, 2015, 06:17:21 PM »

Quote
Think most of the unlocked eci users are on eci cabs  although Kronos_2001 maybe on a Huawei.

OK thanks for that HB, so I guess we will just have to wait and see what happens when BT roll out to the ECI cabs.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

stevebrass

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #56 on: April 14, 2015, 08:16:24 PM »

At the moment I am running a HG612 (unlocked with latest firmware via Howling Wolf). I have a HH5A and locked ECI modem available.

Out of the three the HG612 gives the best DS/US and ping.

My cabinet is ECI. When/If G.inp gets enabled on my cabinet I will do some swapping around and compare results.
Logged
Netgear Orbi; Virgin Super Hub 3 in modem mode.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32080
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #57 on: April 14, 2015, 08:22:18 PM »

Thanks steve.   In theory the HH5A should give similar results to the ECI modem.  At least you can get some minimal amount of stats out of the HH5A.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32080
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #58 on: April 15, 2015, 12:17:24 AM »

Ive had a little more info from TP-Link and they seem quite happy with the way things are progressing.  They are still investigating & testing with a couple of our members, but they are hoping to get an official f/w release out quite soon.  Thanks those that posted their stats in the relevant thread

I believe that the issue is with the underlying Lantiq firmware not open ReTX properly.   Whatever that means or how deep in the f/w I dont know.

Kudos to TP-link at their speed at taking this onboard, dealing with this so quickly and being pro-active with us.   :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

mikelj

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 11
G.INP - BT rollout 2015.
« Reply #59 on: April 15, 2015, 07:59:22 AM »

Hi, first time poster guys; I'm hoping to get some advice.

Basically, my cabinet was updated a couple of weeks ago (Broadcom chipset so I assume a Huawei cabinet). At the time I was using a Vigor 130 modem (with Apple Time Capsule) and initially things appeared fine, or at least no worst (the Vigor has limited statistics, it reported Interleaving plus a depth of 1). After around a week, it was obvious that the Vigor wasn't working correctly with G.INP (around a 15 Mbps drop in speed). I replaced the Vigor with my HH 5A, which initially improved things, but again after around a week I was suffering the same speed loss.

I'm now using a Billion 8800NL, but the question I have is roughly how long will I need to wait for my speed to recover? Normally I'd be patient but I'm currently getting Infinity 1 speeds but paying for Infinity 2, so I'm wondering whether I should attempt to get BT to perform a DLM reset or should I just wait for DLM to loosen its grip.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 08:38:04 AM by mikelj »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 62
 

anything