Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT  (Read 5544 times)

JamHam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« on: May 01, 2015, 07:32:51 PM »

Hi, I was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction on setting up an Openwrt router for Sky Fibre, just got a Linksys WRT AC 1900 up and going with the Openwrt firmware and really want to replace my rubbish SR102.

I have got a HG612 as modem so that's ok, but the only guide for setting up Openwrt on Sky Fibre is 3 years old, will it have changed at all?

For reference this is the guide I'm referring to

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-broadband-fibre-help/50483-generic-open-wrt-sky-fibre-mer-guide.html

Thanks
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2361
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 07:36:22 PM »

Looks fine
Logged

JamHam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 07:39:42 PM »

So the section with the firmware doesn't need to be updated?

Sorry for asking, it's just a really old guide so I'm making sure it's all current.

Is there any set up needed on the HG612?

Thanks
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2361
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2015, 07:45:00 PM »

I think the guide is current irrespective of the firmware. The modem is just a modem - as long as you have the latest firmware for G.Inp support.
Logged

JamHam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2015, 07:54:57 PM »

Sorry, I was referring to point 2.7 in the guide about setting up the OpenWRT router.

It refers to an old firmware used on a Sky Sagemcom router, does that need updating, or is the old one ok?
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2361
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2015, 08:15:38 PM »

That field isn't checked so it doesn't matter what's in it
Logged

JamHam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2015, 08:30:15 PM »

Thanks, I'll be giving this a go shortly. Thanks for your help.
Logged

JamHam

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: Sky Fibre With OpenWRT
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2015, 02:24:13 PM »

If any one else is interested in this, I can confirm that the guide worked.
Logged
 

anything