Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

Author Topic: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released  (Read 87415 times)

tommy45

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 613
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #60 on: May 25, 2015, 12:58:53 AM »

In the folder where the graphs are stored i have this as my latest  in the current stats folder  Current_Stats_20150525-0000-SCHEDULED ,and this is the latest  in the ongoing stats folder Ongoing_Stats_20150524-2358-1Day before that same time the day before  So other than these i don't know how or what else there is to set up graphing
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #61 on: May 25, 2015, 08:36:08 AM »

It seems like you now have daily graphing set to run at 23:58 each day.

Having it run 2 minutes before the hour is probably not a bad thing as it will reduce PC resource demand when other things are done on the hour, especially if your XP machine isn't a particularly high spec.

23/05/2015  2:24:01.39 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-022400-125.TXT - ****** PC_Speed is set as "FAST" in the ini file, times in loop = 01 *** numbytes = 0
23/05/2015  2:24:01.40 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-022400-125.TXT - At start of expect("gin:"), sleeping for 0.500 seconds *** numbytes = 0 

:
:
:
23/05/2015  2:24:06.70 - ONGOING-ISRUNNING-022400-125.TXT - total_sleep_time = 2.600 seconds




One last thing you may wish to try now that everything seems O.K. is to change the PC's Speed settings via the GUI.

The FAST setting is for high spec PCs that try to process the raw stats quicker than the modem can actually provide them.
This setting actually adds a few 0.5 second pauses in my programs when needed, to avoid them getting ahead of the modem.

The MEDIUM setting adds 0.25 second program pauses when needed.

My Windows 7 PC isn't particularly high spec, so I use the SLOW setting, which doesn't introduce any program pauses.


From memory, I think Ronski added the 23:58 timing for using the programs on his server which was sometimes very busy at midnight, slowing everything down etc. & it was occasionally missing the daily graphing when the timing was set for midnight.




« Last Edit: May 25, 2015, 08:40:00 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2124
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #62 on: May 31, 2015, 08:59:01 PM »

Hi all,

I've this afternoon downloaded these fantastic utilities.

I've set everything up as the instructions say and everything seems to be working but the only thing that isn't is that the GUI is supposed to show the current stats, right? This is not the case on my system (see attachment).

It's been running for two hours now and the UI doesn't show anything. What am I doing wrong?

Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #63 on: May 31, 2015, 09:24:09 PM »

Is the modem_stats.log file in the Ongoing_Stats folder being updated every minute?

It's possible that you need to 'allow' the programs that are stored in the Scripts folder in your AV program/firewall.
One or more of them may be 'stuck' in Task Manager if something is blocking them.

It may help to temporarily disable the logging, end any remaining instances of the programs in Task Manager & try to manually run each program to see if Windows asks if you wish to always allow them.


The programs that mainly seem to be affected by permissions are HG612_Run.exe and HG612_stats.exe.


Check the Event & Error Logs folder for the logs that might indicate what is/isn't happening.

Don't leave any of the logs open in Windows Notepad though as that can effectively cause the programs to wait until you close them in Notepad again.


I have read that some AV programs simply quarantine some programs without even asking if they are safe to run or not.

Are the Directory paths as shown in the Settings tab in the GUI correct?
They will be highlighted in yellow if any of them are incorrect.

Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2124
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #64 on: May 31, 2015, 09:34:44 PM »

Ahh that's working now, thank you :) Windows 10 wasn't letting all of the processes run.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #65 on: May 31, 2015, 10:55:14 PM »

By the way I looked into the avast issues.

Avast has a hardened mode.  If hardened mode is enabled and set to agressive it requires the exe to be whitelisted on their servers.

This type of malware protection is the future as whitelisting is vastly superior to blacklisting but obviously if its a program with hardly any users like our's it will not be whitelisted.

If hardened mode is turned off then there should be no issue with avast, I am not sure if moderate hardened mode is enabled, that doesnt use the whitelist system but will block things it cannot clearly determine as safe.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #66 on: July 16, 2015, 06:19:39 PM »

Just a heads up, the file has disappeared from the link.
http://www.freewarefiles.com/HG612-Modem-Stats_program_84567.html
Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4138
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #67 on: July 16, 2015, 08:23:36 PM »

Thanks npr, I've tried contacting Freeware Files and also resubmitting it but I've heard nothing.

Here's a direct link if you need it.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #68 on: July 16, 2015, 09:07:46 PM »

can I share the direct link on other forums, or do I tell people to wait?
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4138
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #69 on: July 17, 2015, 06:45:44 AM »

I'm quite happy for you to host the file on your server and then share that link.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2124
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #70 on: July 29, 2015, 09:49:47 PM »

I've got my TalkTalk-supplied Huawei HG635 telnet enabled and I wish to use your scripts with it.

How would I edit the password as the Billion 8800NL uses a different syntax - the Huawei uses xdslcmd.
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #71 on: July 29, 2015, 10:01:17 PM »

How do you get into a telnet session to obtain the stats?

Does it require you to type "sh" or "shell" as per the HG612?

Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2124
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #72 on: July 29, 2015, 10:04:22 PM »

Yes it does, it requires sh:

Code: [Select]
Login: !!Huawei
Password:
ATP>sh


BusyBox vv1.9.1 () built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

$ xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 8817 Kbps, Downstream rate = 41667 Kbps
Path: 0, Upstream rate = 8599 Kbps, Downstream rate = 41053 Kbps
Path: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #73 on: July 29, 2015, 10:22:06 PM »

You could try manually editing the HG612_stats.ini file for now:-

[Login]
IP_address=                              192.168.1.1
Username=                                admin - change this to !!Huawei if admin isn't the name you need to use
Password=                                admin - change this to whatever password is needed
Shell=                                   sh

[Locations]
Main_folder=                             C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces
Scripts_and_Programs=                    C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces\Scripts
Apps_folder=                             C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces\Apps
Current_Stats_folder=                    C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces\Current Stats
Ongoing_Stats_folder=                    C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces\Ongoing Stats
Modem_Log=                               C:\HG612 Modem Stats with Spaces\Ongoing Stats

[Mode]
Mode=                                    extensive

[Graphing]
Pause_after_obtaining_snapshot_data=     NO
Auto_graph_Snapshot_data=                NO
Pause_after_snapshot_graphs_plotted=     NO
Pause_after_ongoing_graphs_plotted=      NO
Plot_area_background_colour=             31
Daily_Graphing=                          YES
Daily_Graphing_Time=                     06:01

[Delays]
Delay_snapshot_data_harvest_seconds=     0
Delay_ongoing_data_harvest_seconds=      0

[Logging]
Ongoing_Logging=                         YES
Current_Stats=                           YES
Current_Stats_Interval=                  4       
Current_Stats_Datum=                     02

[Event/Error_logging]
Extensive_event_logging=                 YES
Extra_debugging_info=                    YES

[Modem]
Modem_type=                              HG612 - change this to HG622 if HG612 doesn't work


I have not tested the programs with a HG635, so please let me know how you get on in case I need to amend the program code at all.

Logged

GigabitEthernet

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2124
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v5 released
« Reply #74 on: July 29, 2015, 10:28:58 PM »

It's not working with either modem selected :(

I think it is perhaps because:
  • there is a 15 second or so delay before the modem responds to the telnet request; and
  • there is an "$" before the command to be entered which I believe the HG612/HG622 does not use.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
 

anything