Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: TalkTalk own equipment  (Read 3589 times)

fletch

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
TalkTalk own equipment
« on: February 14, 2008, 01:47:28 PM »

Hi all I;m with talktalk and next week they are going to install there own equipment in the local exchange,

Could you tel me if I may get any problems with using my wireless ADSL Gateway,

LINKSYS  mod/ WAG54GS

Thank;s

fletch
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32114
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 07:08:19 PM »

Hiyas fletch.

No there shouldnt be any problems as long as your router settings are correct.

Some problems that Ive seen in the past after being LLU'd are usually down to the router being set as LLC/PPPoE based.
The BTw system is a bit flexible on some exchanges and will accept either.

Your settings should be

Protocol/Encapsulation :- PPPoA (PPP over ATM)
Multiplexing method: VC-BASED or VC-Mux
(On some routers the above 2 settings may be combined as "PPPoA VC-Mux".)
VPI = 0
VCI = 38

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

fletch

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2008, 10:53:49 AM »

Thanks Kitz,

I have saved the setting you gave {just in case}  :no:

Thanks fletch
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32114
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 07:41:42 PM »

good luck :)
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

fletch

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2008, 04:54:54 PM »

good luck :)

I didn;t even notice the change over but got a speed increase from 1928Kbps to 4821Kbps download

And from 242 Kbps to 360 Kbps

So very happy

fletch
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32114
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2008, 07:43:31 AM »

Nice one. :)


Out of curiousity whats your sync speed?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

mr_chris

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3774
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2008, 09:20:48 AM »

Nice one fletch - let's hope it stays that way! Fingers crossed for you mate
Logged
Chris

fletch

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2008, 01:21:08 PM »

Nice one. :)


Out of curiousity whats your sync speed?

Kitz how do I check my sync speed  :no:
Logged

UncleUB

  • Helpful
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 29543
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2008, 01:57:39 PM »

Run a speedtest at  www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk
Logged

fletch

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2008, 03:11:00 PM »

Thanks

It said

Download 2.84.5 KB/sec

Upload 30.8 KB/sec
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32114
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: TalkTalk own equipment
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2008, 04:53:58 PM »

Your router should give you your sync speed - which is the actual rate you connect to the exchange at.

You can find out how to get your linestats from most of the common modems/routers here.

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker