Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: After a week on a gigabit  (Read 312 times)

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Next generation network design and deployment
After a week on a gigabit
« on: March 29, 2020, 08:31:52 PM »

I have the following for you:

Speedtest.net hosts that can handle a gigabit in my experience don't exist.
The Think Broadband speedtest doesn't come close to handling a gigabit. Presumably all the other BT customers with a gigabit have overwhelmed it.
Fast.com is about the only thing that comes close.

The main cool thing about having a gigabit is that you basically can't max it out downstream.

It's not transformative. I'm not even touching the sides of the capacity. It's a good to have but really no difference noticed from 300 Mbit apart from running speed tests just now.

BT Wholesale and Openreach have nailed it in Wakefield: hasn't skipped a beat.
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Router: As above. Pending software release before using Ubiquiti UDM Pro.
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, various GigE
Interfaces: 2 * 5G. 4 * 10 G. Various 1 G.
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT

meritez

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2020, 08:41:36 PM »

Interesting, does fast.com or http://speedtest.googlefiber.net/ allow you to hit a gigabit?
Logged

underzone

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2020, 09:08:16 PM »

I have found that this works well when testing (at work with 1Gb to the desktop):
http://speedtest2.aa.net.uk/
Logged
Plusnet 80/20, Huawei 288, Zyxel VMG8924-B10A (bridge mode with 1500 MTU, thanks to johnson), pfSense x64

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 924
    • My Broadband History
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2020, 10:35:21 PM »

Well you only need a 10Gbit link to be a speedtest.net sponsor for 1Gbit testing, so LOL.
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.

CarlT

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Next generation network design and deployment
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2020, 09:43:21 AM »

Interesting, does fast.com or http://speedtest.googlefiber.net/ allow you to hit a gigabit?

Fast.com is actually the one that's capable. Google Fibre sadly no. Too far from the server, too many networks in between, latency too high so bottlenecked by TCP.

I have found that this works well when testing (at work with 1Gb to the desktop):
http://speedtest2.aa.net.uk/

Not bad. However think it's on a gigabit port - maxes just over 800 Mbit. Unsure if a Firebrick is involved somewhere but there are none with ports of more capacity than a gigabit.

Well you only need a 10Gbit link to be a speedtest.net sponsor for 1Gbit testing, so LOL.

That's going to be just fine most of the time.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 10:00:03 AM by CarlT »
Logged
WiFi: Nighthawk® AX12 RAX120
Router: As above. Pending software release before using Ubiquiti UDM Pro.
Switching: 2 * Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S-IN, various GigE
Interfaces: 2 * 5G. 4 * 10 G. Various 1 G.
ONT: Huawei 1+1
Exchange: Wakefield
ISP: BT

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 924
    • My Broadband History
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2020, 06:16:27 PM »

That's going to be just fine most of the time.

Maybe if they were dedicated ONLY to Gigabit tests, but presumably they are being used for in general at the same time.

How does speedtest.net even decide which servers to use if it doesn't know your speed prior to allocating a server?  :-\  Is the "finding a server" part some sort of pre-test and if so, I wonder if that can actually fail to allocate properly if the pre-test servers are overloaded?
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2020, 06:25:15 PM »

How does speedtest.net even decide which servers to use if it doesn't know your speed prior to allocating a server?  :-\  Is the "finding a server" part some sort of pre-test and if so, I wonder if that can actually fail to allocate properly if the pre-test servers are overloaded?

I believe speedtest.net looks for the lowest ping to near servers then start testing on that server, that is why if the ISP has a test server it will 99% choose it unless there is a more near server to test on.
Logged

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4775
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2020, 06:37:15 PM »

There must be some other purpose for Gigabit broadband, other than proving/disproving which speed testers work? :D

It's not transformative. I'm not even touching the sides of the capacity. It's a good to have but really no difference noticed from 300 Mbit apart from running speed tests just now.

More seriously, I suspect that once a critical mass of people have access, bloated services will begin to appear that use it, so bloated that they stretch gigabit it to the limits.   That will then create a ‘need’ for everybody else to have it too.   So no doubt, I’ll soon be feeling left behind.

Edit:  said ‘ethernet’, meant ‘broadband’. :blush:
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 06:39:38 PM by sevenlayermuddle »
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 924
    • My Broadband History
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2020, 07:30:45 PM »

I believe speedtest.net looks for the lowest ping to near servers then start testing on that server, that is why if the ISP has a test server it will 99% choose it unless there is a more near server to test on.

Surely it must be cleverer than that?
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.

mofa2020

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2020, 08:19:53 PM »

Surely it must be cleverer than that?

I think it is not, this is my ISP server in the same city I live which will provide the lowest ping and it is chosen automatically..
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6114
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2020, 11:12:55 PM »



The main cool thing about having a gigabit is that you basically can't max it out downstream.


Ironically this is my primary motivator, I dont really need the bandwidth in terms of my impatience of downloading stuff, for me 80mbit/sec is fast enough.

But I have learnt that managing local downstream congestion is way harder than managing upstream congestion, very basic router side QoS solves upstream, not as easy for downstream, especially heavily threaded like steam which is like ddos'ing your own connection.

So been able to download of steam, without things like twitch falling apart, and without having to implement QoS would be nice.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 924
    • My Broadband History
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2020, 11:44:15 PM »

I think it being hard to hit the line speed is a very big reason for getting Gigabit IMO, although I more than likely WILL hit it, but not for long periods thanks to the speed.  ::)

I was actually going to say that not having to use QoS, or at least it never needing to kick-in downstream (where its less effective), will be an amazing thing.
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.

sevenlayermuddle

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4775
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #12 on: Today at 12:15:04 AM »

I liken FTTP to 1950s roads.    It was clear the trunk routes were no good so in the late 50s and 60s we built motorways.   The capacity of the motorways was so generous that our transport problems would be over for good.  Projects such as Westway into London ensured we would see a permanent end to commuter traffic jams.

And originally, the motorways were exempt from speed limits.  These roads would be so good, so fast and so safe, that speed limits were just not needed.   

Striking a chord?   ::)

Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 924
    • My Broadband History
Re: After a week on a gigabit
« Reply #13 on: Today at 02:16:41 AM »

Fortunately PONs are easier to upgrade than widening the motorways.
Logged
WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) Modems: 2x BT Home Hub 5A running OpenWrt Exchange: INTAKE, ECI Cabinet ISPs: Zen + Plusnet.