Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.  (Read 2854 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3279
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« on: February 01, 2008, 02:55:34 PM »

With the problems with my monitor last night, I changed PCLos to boot in 'Grub with Text menu'
it's booted to a screen:
[my name@localhost ~]$
 :'(
How do I get to the normal GUI ? (screen)
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 04:05:41 PM »

After logging on in the text screen, try typing 'startx'.
Logged
  Eric

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3279
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 04:26:34 PM »

Thanks Eric,
Did that, looks like I may have problems after the monitor going last night as it took out my 13 A Ring Main power, Could it have corrupted the distro ? I get :
Fatal server error.
no screens found X10: fatal error 10 104.

Re-install ?
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2008, 10:38:55 PM »

Reinstalling is the easy option, but it's certainly possible to repair a broken system. I don't have a PCLinuxOS system to check at the moment, but maybe the installation disk has a 'repair' option?
Logged
  Eric

Floydoid

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 8188
  • Marmalade... I like marmalade
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2008, 10:25:21 AM »

I'm pretty sure if you boot up with the PCLOS CD there's a repair option.
Logged

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3279
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2008, 06:41:07 PM »

Hello ,Thanks for replys.
Well I did take the easy way out on this machine (wife looks after our village hall and needs to send emails from this computer  ??? )
Because I'm trying to make this Dual boot I am still having a few problems, But I think I'm getting there. :)

I have decided to go over to Linux ( Slowly ;) ), I like this PCLinux, thanks Eric,
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39471
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: I'm stuck again. Booting Up.
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2008, 07:10:42 PM »

You're more than welcome. There's plenty of new stuff to learn, but most people who persevere seem to find it ultimately rewarding. :)
Logged
  Eric