Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 35

Author Topic: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)  (Read 267760 times)

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #225 on: November 16, 2014, 09:16:56 PM »

It's inherently faulty due to faulty firmware/bad design which you weren't to know about at time of purchase. You should be able to sort something out I would imagine even if it means swapping for a similar priced device from another manufacturer.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

ardsar

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #226 on: November 17, 2014, 08:11:12 AM »

Guys,

Just had feedback from Asus stating that they are convinced the latest firmware that we are all using 3.0.0.4.376_2139  should resolve our issues, but it was advised to reset and use defaults.

Clearly this is not the case for me, and I have replied back to Asus. If you have problems, please make sure you are reporting them back to Asus. The more feedback and information they get, the quicker we may get working firmware!

Logged

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #227 on: November 17, 2014, 08:30:45 AM »

Some aspects have been resolved but its still far from fixed.

1. I get significantly more FEC errors on this than my ZyXel
2. I get significantly more CRC errors on this than my ZyXel
3. Max Data Rate is incorrect
4. Stats randomly stop working, experienced this twice
5. Intereaving depth is reporting wrong it would seem

Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #228 on: November 17, 2014, 11:30:31 AM »

I have now disabled all ADSL tones (0-512) by setting the minimum DS tone to 520. I doubt this will make any difference to the instability/high FEC count but the way I see it is that there's no ADSL based noise/crosstalk on my connection then. It will be interesting to see if any difference is made to the FEC seconds.



So far 34 minutes~ uptime:
Code: [Select]
near-end path0 fec:     1395(289171830)
near-end path0 crc:     0(2603)
near-end fec sec:       18(150482)
near-end err sec:       0(1241)
near-end ses sec:       0(66)
near-end los sec:       0(0)
near-end ua  sec:       0(488)
far-end path0 fec:      257(84823)
far-end path0 crc:      0(1118)
far-end fec sec:        7(3373)
far-end err sec:        0(968)
far-end ses sec:        0(0)
far-end los sec:        0(203)
far-end ua  sec:        0(11049)

Ignore the numbers in brackets, they are historical.

EDIT #1
59 minutes~:
Code: [Select]
near-end path0 fec:  2773(289173208)
near-end path0 crc:     0(2603)
near-end fec sec:       35(150499)
near-end err sec:       0(1241)
near-end ses sec:       0(66)
near-end los sec:       0(0)
near-end ua  sec:       0(488)
far-end path0 fec:      413(84979)
far-end path0 crc:      0(1118)
far-end fec sec:        12(3378)
far-end err sec:        0(968)
far-end ses sec:        0(0)
far-end los sec:        0(203)
far-end ua  sec:        0(11049)

EDIT #2
Nearly 2 hours of uptime:
Code: [Select]
near-end path0 fec:  5582
near-end path0 crc:     0
near-end fec sec:       68
near-end err sec:       0
near-end ses sec:       0
near-end los sec:       0
near-end ua  sec:       0
far-end path0 fec:      1075
far-end path0 crc:      0
far-end fec sec:        25
far-end err sec:        0
far-end ses sec:        0
far-end los sec:        0
far-end ua  sec:        0

EDIT #3
4 hours 20 minutes uptime:
Code: [Select]
near-end path0 fec:     20701
near-end path0 crc:     8
near-end fec sec:       168
near-end err sec:       4
near-end ses sec:       0
near-end los sec:       0
near-end ua  sec:       0
far-end path0 fec:      2608
far-end path0 crc:      0
far-end fec sec:        51
far-end err sec:        0
far-end ses sec:        0
far-end los sec:        0
far-end ua  sec:        0
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 03:33:35 PM by Ixel »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6665
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #229 on: November 17, 2014, 03:49:29 PM »

guys whilst its nice clearly this device has a lot of toys, especially interesting that interleaving and enabled tones can be controlled, ultimately the lack of ability to view ES and the instability would stop me using it, all the reports of improvements are only on low uptime and then later is a post saying it didnt last. :(

The billion 8800nl allows disabling of tones, both manually in telnet with full control or a dumbed down GUI switch which just disables U0, when I disabled U0 tho it didnt appear to work.

I am guessing your issues are down to the non standard chipset used. Chipset compat can play a huge role in dsl stability.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #230 on: November 18, 2014, 09:16:58 AM »

Unfortunately this didn't last it seems, but was worth the effort anyway.

I re-synced last night to see what would happen with an INP of 0 and fastpath delay (1ms), errors poured in (ES/SES) and I barely managed to maintain a sync of 10 minutes before losing connection at a target SNRM of 9 dB. The current connection is back at INP 3 with a delay of 8ms which keeps the ES/SES at bay and maintains sync, but unfortunately FEC is rising like before again, so I may as well just enable all tones and maximise the sync speed as much as possible under the INP 3 and delay of 8ms. At least with this modem I can actually avoid the speed banding if I'm prepared to put up with enabling error correction at a fairly low level.

Suffice to say, I still believe I had better stability with older firmware. So I might try going back to an older version later on and see what the FEC does.
Logged

ardsar

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #231 on: November 18, 2014, 09:31:43 AM »

With the updated firmware, and Target S/N set to 7dB, I had 5 re-syncs last night. Hopefully all this has been captured in the modem log that was sent to Asus this morning as requested.

Could you please submit a Feedback form with “Enable DSL Line Diagnostic” option set as “Yes” and “Diagnostic debug log capture duration” set as 12 hours for our analysis(USB disk/drive needs to be plugged in). Thanks.

This morning, interleave has been increased and my Sync Down reduced by 4MB

I've been advised that they are looking at the Path mode Stats error - i.e that it reports Fastpath when i'm clearly on interleave.

W.r.t. the other issues such as incorrect attenuation estimates and max attainable - this is the response.

Following issues that you raised, please note that these devices based on different chipsets, thus algorithm differs. We currently co-work with chipset vendor and will look into it.

Appreciate that the algorithm differs but the end result should be the same.....


Logged

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #232 on: November 18, 2014, 12:12:48 PM »

They seem to be rather quite lately, I've heard nothing back on the points I raised last week.

1. FEC errors higher than other equipment
2. Attainable rate reporting incorrectly

I was hit by DLM on Sunday morning, I suspect due to the router recording almost 100 million FEC errors.

I'm now back to using the ECI modem so once again 1 step forward, 2 back.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #233 on: November 18, 2014, 12:41:21 PM »

guys whilst its nice clearly this device has a lot of toys, especially interesting that interleaving and enabled tones can be controlled, ultimately the lack of ability to view ES and the instability would stop me using it, all the reports of improvements are only on low uptime and then later is a post saying it didnt last. :(

The billion 8800nl allows disabling of tones, both manually in telnet with full control or a dumbed down GUI switch which just disables U0, when I disabled U0 tho it didnt appear to work.

I am guessing your issues are down to the non standard chipset used. Chipset compat can play a huge role in dsl stability.

Just ordered a 8800nl from eBuyer for delivery tomorrow.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #234 on: November 19, 2014, 02:04:02 AM »

I've gone back to the HG612 temporarily. Bought myself an online UPS which will basically supply clean electricity to connected devices. While I wasn't expecting it to help with the current situation, on the HG612 I'm apparently still getting a large amount of FEC on the downstream although presumably not as bad as the ASUS. Also observing some specific tone ranges which are getting more bitswaps than the majority of tones (noise?, can these be causing the FEC - at least on the HG612 anyway). Unfortunately the HG612 doesn't have a working method of selecting tones to use/disregard manually, so for the moment I'm just going to observe the statistics.
Logged

babis3g

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #235 on: November 19, 2014, 10:25:59 AM »

the broadcom telnet command isn't works? depending the broadcom prefix which is changing for some modem makes
(note this is based with adsl, it should work similar for vdsl) have not used the hg612 for years so i am not sure, don't beat  me :)

xdslctl connection –-tones 0 32 0xFEFFFF7F 32 224 0xFEFFFFFFFFFFFF7F
selects tones from 1 to 31 for upstream and from 33 to 95 for downstream
Logged

marjohn56

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #236 on: November 19, 2014, 10:28:04 AM »

I have been watching this thread and watching Simon's other threads elsewhere.

Simon, am I to assume you are giving up on the Asus? I went out and got one a couple of weeks ago and mine is as unstable as yours. :)

Mine has now become a WAP as my Draytek 2860n does not have 5Ghz.

Hopefully, one day, Asus will get it sorted and at least I will have a good spare VDSL router!

Good luck with the Billion, I had a 7800, one of the best routers I have ever owned.
Logged
OPNsense 18.* - Billion Bridge - Qotom Q355G4 - ISP - ZEN U.K.

Team Rebellion Member

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1208
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #237 on: November 19, 2014, 11:38:53 AM »

the broadcom telnet command isn't works? depending the broadcom prefix which is changing for some modem makes
(note this is based with adsl, it should work similar for vdsl) have not used the hg612 for years so i am not sure, don't beat  me :)

xdslctl connection –-tones 0 32 0xFEFFFF7F 32 224 0xFEFFFFFFFFFFFF7F
selects tones from 1 to 31 for upstream and from 33 to 95 for downstream

       xdslcmd connection [--up] [--down] [--loopback] [--reverb]
           [--medley] [--noretrain] [--L3] [--diagmode] [--L0]
           [--tones <r1-r2,r3-r4,...>] [--normal] [--freezeReverb] [--freezeMedley]

So I tried xdslcmd connection --up --tones 0-95,32-859,880-1195,1216-1959,1984-2250. This was accepted but didn't change the tones, perhaps this only works on ADSL connections.
Logged

ardsar

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #238 on: November 19, 2014, 12:21:49 PM »

I have been watching this thread and watching Simon's other threads elsewhere.

Simon, am I to assume you are giving up on the Asus? I went out and got one a couple of weeks ago and mine is as unstable as yours. :)

Mine has now become a WAP as my Draytek 2860n does not have 5Ghz.

Hopefully, one day, Asus will get it sorted and at least I will have a good spare VDSL router!

Good luck with the Billion, I had a 7800, one of the best routers I have ever owned.

Rather than waiting for a resolution, it would help if you started sending logs to Asus. Obviously it is entirely up to you, but unless Asus get feedback, nothing will get resolved.

Logged

simoncraddock

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: ASUS DSL-AC68U (VDSL modem/router)
« Reply #239 on: November 19, 2014, 12:42:10 PM »

Asus seem to have stopped responding to me. I sent several emails last week and a router diagnostic log, heard nothing.
Logged
Fritzbox 7490 l Plusnet FTTC
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17 18 ... 35
 

anything