Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 12

Author Topic: SSFP Mk 3  (Read 70429 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #105 on: October 06, 2014, 08:20:19 AM »

on my line the MK2 reduced attainable by about 0.6mbit and increased D1 attenuation by about 1.5db, no affect on D2 and D3 attenuation.

Initial impressions are it was helping on CRC, when I had the MK2 in most errored seconds were 1-2 CRC, without it they higher.

I still have yet to try the MK3.  I currently have the MK1 back in.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #106 on: October 06, 2014, 09:46:49 AM »

  Testing the error rate is a hard thing to do.  I had lower errors with the NTE-2005 and HG612 in a test over 3 days. However if i look back at my stats over a long period that is not really a reliable test on my line. It definitely means the error rate over the 3 days was not significantly different from the usual 3 days and was "possibly" lower.  I was currently doing a longer test but it needs weather with no nearby thunderstorms and the weather forecast week this does not look good for such testing. 

  @Chrysalis  Are you using the XyXel ... for your tests?  I noticed that the Billion 8800NL did not get so much of a gain from removing the Mark 2 as the HG612.  The 8800NL like the ZyXel makes a bit more use of the higher tones that the Mark2 attenuates so I had wondered if it do even better, but no, it was the HG612 that seemed to benefit most. Maybe the  Billion and ZyXel are able, in part, to see signal though the some of the Mark 2 attenuation and thus don't benefit so much ??  hard to say.
Logged

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1759
    • My Broadband History
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #107 on: October 06, 2014, 10:39:56 AM »

Haven't been able to try with the NTE-2005 but I just tried with an old ADSL filter into the test socket and my attainable was worse than the MK3.

I was surprised it made such a difference, even if the ADSL filter does have an inch of flat cable. (I bet its not twisted pair)

Code: [Select]
Generic ADSL Filter: 94816 down 31959 up
Openreach MK3:       95290 down 32318 up

Granted my drop wipe is blowing around like a chinese lantern right now. ;)  But the MK3 attainable was around the same before and after the swap.  I had expected if anything for the generic filter to be higher as its unlikely it has anything filtering the DSL side.

I was hoping to use the adapter from the Dreamcast that converts RJ11 directly to BT plug, thus not having any filter at all.  Alas, I can't find the darn thing.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 10:42:55 AM by Alex Atkin UK »
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #108 on: October 06, 2014, 12:43:53 PM »

no I didnt use a device designed for adsl :p

I am using the MK1 now.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Alex Atkin UK

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1759
    • My Broadband History
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #109 on: October 06, 2014, 02:04:51 PM »

Its worth noting, I do not use the phone side of this line as this is a second line just for broadband as the intention was to have dual-fibre connections and load balance them.  However a tag problem has prevented me getting fibre on my primary line.
Logged
INTAKE (ECI) Zen: Home Hub 5A OpenWrt Plusnet: VMG-3925-B10B Three 4G: Hauwei B535-232 Router: pfSense (i5-7200U) WiFi: Ubiquiti nanoHD
Thinkbroadband Quality Monitors

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31171
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #110 on: October 06, 2014, 04:19:28 PM »

Just to clarify --

A generic (ADSL) microfilter only contains a low-pass filter which is in the circuit between the 431A (BT) plug and the corresponding (BT) socket. The RJ11 socket is directly connected to the 431A plug.

So Alex's test is valid for the case where the circuit is not used for telephony purposes.

I have a couple of leads with a (BT) 431A plug at one end and an RJ11 plug at the other end. Usage of one of those leads "does away" with the need to use any form of adaptor.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #111 on: October 06, 2014, 05:17:39 PM »

where do you get those leads from?

when I once used a nte-2005 on my adsl it lost about a mbit of sync, also on vdsl I tried it last year sometime and lost about 20mbit of sync speed.

needless to say its now in the bin :)
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #112 on: October 06, 2014, 05:47:29 PM »

  An NTE-2005 should never cause such speed losses unless it was severely faulty.  The BT line goes straight through it with no more attenuation than that caused by the extra socket contacts.  The telephone side is filtered off and that would be the part that have to fail to give an adverse impact.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #113 on: October 06, 2014, 06:31:44 PM »

back to mk1, vs mk2/3

today the combo of zyxel+mk1 has had the most errors I seen for while and I think ES count is up also.  My modem even resynced earlier I assume due to errors it couldnt handle.  Even capped to 72mbit the error rate is not good compared to before, tomorrow I will restore the MK2 or put the MK3 in.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #114 on: October 06, 2014, 06:44:28 PM »

  There is some lightning in the west of Wales this evening and it is moving east, so conditions at the moment are not good for judging things.
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31171
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #115 on: October 06, 2014, 07:39:47 PM »

where do you get those leads from?

Any on-line retailer. I either used eBay's market place or Amazon . . .  :)

Here is a link to an example.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #116 on: October 06, 2014, 08:40:28 PM »

ok thanks
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4844
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #117 on: October 06, 2014, 09:43:13 PM »

back to mk1, vs mk2/3

today the combo of zyxel+mk1 has had the most errors I seen for while and I think ES count is up also.  My modem even resynced earlier I assume due to errors it couldnt handle.  Even capped to 72mbit the error rate is not good compared to before, tomorrow I will restore the MK2 or put the MK3 in.

Yes you had 80 errored seconds at 15:00 and the errors fall down to 4 at 20:00 is this down to MK1 ? no two lines are the same even with the same attenuation but looking at your before and after your CRC's and ES's looked better with the MK2
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 09:54:38 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4844
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #118 on: October 07, 2014, 12:30:09 AM »

confirmed les-70 having a T/Storm at 00:29 lot's of Cloud to ground strikes it's amazing
« Last Edit: October 07, 2014, 01:45:25 AM by NewtronStar »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6340
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #119 on: October 07, 2014, 08:36:18 AM »

putting back in today newtron, the errors improvement maybe down to me capping the sync to 72.

it is possible the higher errors yesterday are due to the rain, and its raining again today so will see.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 12