Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12

Author Topic: SSFP Mk 3  (Read 70106 times)

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #150 on: October 26, 2014, 03:53:04 PM »

  Good question - I don't think it matters ?   Before starting I had a look at the Wurth web site for into.  They say bifilar chokes can be wound as parallel pairs or twisted pairs and sell both but I could not spot anything about the difference.  My limited sense of electro magnetics is that it should not make any difference provided the two wires are wound close together in the same sense. 
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31097
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #151 on: October 26, 2014, 05:08:17 PM »

Thank you for sharing that information. Perhaps I haven't given it sufficient thought.  :)
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Dwight

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #152 on: October 26, 2014, 10:37:42 PM »

Hi Guys,
Quick question on the MK3 does it need the IP plate as well? As my cable length doesn't allow for both.
Cheers
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31097
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #153 on: October 26, 2014, 11:24:22 PM »

Quick question on the MK3 does it need the IP plate as well? As my cable length doesn't allow for both.

The SSFP is fitted to the front of the NTE5A, once the lower front pace-plate has been removed. Then the lower front face-plate is attached to the front of the SSFP.

If the above does not make sense in relation to what you currently have fitted, then it might be best for you to take a picture and share it so that we can see exactly what is what.
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Dwight

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #154 on: October 28, 2014, 06:05:02 PM »

Hi BC,
Yep, know that the all plug together, I just need to know if I need them all!
Wall plate, IP plate, MK3 with ADSL socket, and then Phone plate. So do I need the bit in red?
Cheers
Dwight
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5156
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #155 on: October 28, 2014, 06:06:47 PM »

No, leave the IP Plate out.  :)
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31097
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #156 on: October 28, 2014, 08:14:23 PM »

You most definitely do not need one of the original iPlates fitted to the NTE5/A:no:

Not required --
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

Dwight

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #157 on: October 31, 2014, 07:52:47 PM »

Thanks I will send to the recyclers!  :)
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4844
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #158 on: October 31, 2014, 09:47:46 PM »

I think the iplate uses the same toroid as the BT80 RF3 if I'm correct the iplate was supposed to be a booster for ADSL :D
Logged

Black Sheep

  • Helpful
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5156
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #159 on: November 01, 2014, 08:55:26 AM »

It provided a similar function to physically removing the 'Bell-wire' from terminal 3. Re-balancing the circuit this way, actually provided massive gains in some dwellings.
Logged

Bigmac77

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #160 on: November 03, 2014, 12:30:39 PM »

I have just replaced a BT ADSL V1.0 with a Mk3 and it has added 150 Kbps to my sync rate. Not much but I have a 54dB attenuation so every little helps. Just hope the line holds at this higher rate.
Logged

VDSL2User

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #161 on: November 03, 2014, 03:07:15 PM »

Well inspired by les-70 and his 6 turn Toroid I wondered if it may assist my error rates.
I am using a MK3 faceplate, HG612 and Asus RT-N66U
The core arrived today and I have used 7.5 turns on it.
It is much to earlier to get real information BUT I was running since last night at 20-40 ES per hour
right up until I switched off for 30 minutes around 11am today.
Since restarting with the Toroid in place I have had 2hr and 10 mins with only 18 ES in total !
Fingers crossed this continues and I have been able to reduce the ES rate by a significant factor.
My stats can be found at MyDSLWebStats under the user VDSL-User if anyone wants to check or follow progress.
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #162 on: November 03, 2014, 03:18:56 PM »

Is the modem cable UTP already?
Logged

VDSL2User

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #163 on: November 03, 2014, 03:38:39 PM »

My modem cable is a (cheap) simple flat 1.5m 2 core (none twisted pair) with RJ11 both ends.
Logged

Dray

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2362
Re: SSFP Mk 3
« Reply #164 on: November 03, 2014, 03:57:27 PM »

I think a CAT5 cable using 1 pair may work as well as a ferrite ring
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 [11] 12
 

anything