Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 129

Author Topic: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring  (Read 479574 times)

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32996
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #165 on: October 10, 2014, 11:39:26 AM »

Am I being a 'bit fick' here, but how have the people got their systems configured who are uploading stats?  I have to have my monitoring laptop plugged into my 612 on Lan2 to access the stats/web interface, but then it doesn't have any internet connection (Lan1 is the uplink to my BT router).

Are people changing the gateway on their 612 to run on their internet network? i.e. from 192.168.1.254 to say 192.168.2.254 (what my internal network is on)? 

thx
:)
This may help I've unlocked my HG612.  How do I get my linestats? - Follow the diagram :)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 01:40:14 PM by kitz »
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 40652
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #166 on: October 10, 2014, 11:55:34 AM »

I think all the devices on the network need to be on the same subnet. If the rest of the network is on 192.168.2.x, then to get the stats from the HG612 it will need to have a 192.168.2.x address as well. Of course I might be talking nonsense.
Logged
  Eric

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #167 on: October 10, 2014, 11:57:54 AM »

System Outage  :'(

There was an outage from about 11:35 - 11:52 earlier during which no uploaded records were collected while some emergency maintenance was carried out. All should be back to normal now.
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

Ducky

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #168 on: October 10, 2014, 12:42:04 PM »

That's what I thought, I don't use the default 192.168.1.x on my home network so need to adjust the 612 to match.  Cheers peeps! :)
Logged

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #169 on: October 13, 2014, 07:34:04 AM »

V1.2.0 Update October 12 2014

You may need to hit F5 to see all updates - there should be a message
telling you this if everything isn't already updated.

1) ISP is visible again per user IF you enable it for yourself via the
    Options menu at the bottom of the window. This appears in various
    places and is now derived from the upload data Host. It will update
    within three minutes if you change ISP.

2) Resync e-mail is enabled again and should only be going to
    those who want them now.
      
3) Addition of several new graphs:
    a) Signal Attenuation per band Down and Up
    b) Line Uptime
    c) and CRC Upstream errors now show the data for OHF Upstream
    errors as they appear to be the same thing. CRC graphs could
    probably be removed at some point. These are Delta error counts -
    that is the difference between the previous and current total
    CRC/OHF error counts reported by the modem.
    d) Already annnouced on Kitz and active, the All User Stats option in
    a pane now has a link to open a version in a new window/tab
    so you can see them all without a lot of scrolling. It has a larger
    font as well and also shows the program that was used to Upload data
    to the server. This latter option will soon also show the flavour
    of DSLStats used to upload - i.e. Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi etc.
    The settings are controlled by the smaller version and the full page
    option will pick up changes within the 30 second auto refresh period.
    The original pane does not need to be in use unless you wish to update
    the settings of the larger one. The settings can get out of sync if
    you sleep or hibernate your terminal though.

4) When a user is offline, the graphs are currently shown with a
    straight line connecting the last and next available data points.
      
    As an experiment, for the SNRM Current graph options only at the moment,
    there is now a gap with no plot between such points whenever they
    occur - this can show odd looking graphs if the user has only
    uploaded occasional data! This entails a lot of additional
    calculations so the graphs may be a bit slower to render. The only
    proviso is thet the user has to have at least 15 mins of data available
    in the displayed period, otherwise it will revert to the original
    behaviour.

5) Several people have commented that if you look carefully at the
    24 hours and longer plots, you can't see all the minute plots.
    That's simply because there aren't enough pixels to plot them all.
    If you zoom in (drag an area horizontally) then you'll see more
    of them. This applies to the time periods below 3 day spans. Above
    those, points are actually removed from the plots to keep the
    rendering and calculation times within limits.
      
6) User names can now have periods and hash symbols in them. This
    is not possible retrospectively though unless you register with
    a new User Name and start a complete new data set.

7) Just because you see the Log On window doesn't mean you HAVE to
    Log On. If you were logged on and haven't lost your cookies,
    the Continue option should take you back to the setup you last
    had.

This will likely be the last update to the site for a while now.
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6581
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #170 on: October 13, 2014, 01:51:34 PM »

thanks
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Ducky

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #171 on: October 13, 2014, 06:08:43 PM »

Just a quick one, I'm not sure if it's a glitch or something but when viewing my stats it looks to be a day out.  It says I'm offline, but when I view a specific stat it's showing the current time at the top left, and a day behind on the graph?

Logged

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #172 on: October 13, 2014, 09:31:50 PM »

Just a quick one, I'm not sure if it's a glitch or something but when viewing my stats it looks to be a day out.  It says I'm offline, but when I view a specific stat it's showing the current time at the top left, and a day behind on the graph?

Hi

Just had a look and the database is showing your upload data is timed a day out.

So I captured one of your stats log uploads which starts:

12/10/2014 21:17

and it should be reading

13/10/2014 21:17
 
That's the time that goes into the database so your device has a clock that's a day out  :o
Fix that and all will return to normal - except you'll have an apparent one day hole in your data.....

NB: Windows users note that in 7 and 8/8.1 time syncing is NOT enabled by default despite what MS tell you. It's disabled by default. If you do a manual time sync via the net it will then sync (but only every 5 or 10 days or so I think but you can change that via the Registry) - until you restart then it will be off again. To have it on permanently you need to enable it via the Task Scheduler. MyDSLWebStats really needs the time to be accurate within a minute if possible.
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #173 on: October 13, 2014, 10:19:49 PM »

That is a concern as the RPi does not have a Bios RTC battery you will need a time sync from an online time provider from the ethernet.
Logged

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #174 on: October 13, 2014, 11:15:09 PM »

That is a concern as the RPi does not have a Bios RTC battery you will need a time sync from an online time provider from the ethernet.

I believe the ntpd daemon is launched at boot time and syncs the clock automatically via ntp as long as there is a network connection which there should be if you are uploading. Mine seemed to be keeping within visual sync of the other machines here with no problem (it helps to see that if you set the RPi clock to show seconds rather than just hours/minutes). They all have the NetTime app on them using UK pool ntp servers rather than the Windows inbuilt system.
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #175 on: October 14, 2014, 09:20:20 AM »

Hi Tony

The new version is great thanks. My stats seemed to have not uploaded this morning from around 2-4AM. I cant see why at my end . Anything you can shed a light on. Uploading has been fine since ?

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

g3uiss

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 775
  • You never too old to learn
    • Midas Solutions
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #176 on: October 14, 2014, 09:55:34 AM »

Just had a log at the Logs, seems there were 2 instances of HG stats running during that period, the PC was not in use and it cleared by 0400 on its own, any thoughts why that would happen appreciated ?

Tony
Logged
Zen FTTC X 2 HG612 modems VOXI 4G with Vigor 2925

tbailey2

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1245
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #177 on: October 14, 2014, 02:47:02 PM »

Just had a log at the Logs, seems there were 2 instances of HG stats running during that period, the PC was not in use and it cleared by 0400 on its own, any thoughts why that would happen appreciated ?

Tony

Hi

You need to get BaldEagle1's attention as HG612 Modem Stats is his baby  - but I haven't heard from him in nearly a fortnight now.

I am no expert on his code but it may have something to do with the speed of your PC  - too fast or too slow - for the current program settings. So it's taking too long to process everything (if it is atall, it can get stuck trying to get data from the modem) and hasn't finished inside a minute when another instance starts up. The logs will tell him. Sorry. I may be totally wrong though. One of the others who has had this problem (Chrysalis?) might be able to suggest something.
Logged
Tony
My Books!
Plusnet 80/20 - DSLstats - HG612/TG582n - ECI

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #178 on: October 14, 2014, 09:45:43 PM »

I have the RPi running DSLstats fine but MDWS is not showing me as online, username @password looks ok upload data is ticked.

Need help.

EDIT sorted it was a key mistype  :blush: so thats me using the very small Raspberry PI as the stats collector and uploader  ;D
« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 10:09:52 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

VDSL2User

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: MyDSLWebStats - Remote Web-based Monitoring
« Reply #179 on: October 15, 2014, 09:09:17 AM »

Hi, been using the site since it went live and it is great.
Well done to all involved for creating a great place to store, view and compare DSL service statistics.
I do however have one issue that has just come to light.
I enabled the option to show my ISP and saved it a couple of days ago.
It appears to be showing me (VDSL-User) as BTW (BT Wholesale) however I am on a static
IP address with PlusNet, switch from BTW on 7th October 2014.
Any idea why this has not updated ?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 129