Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: BT IP Profile no longer work!  (Read 7938 times)

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1274
BT IP Profile no longer work!
« on: August 16, 2014, 11:19:58 PM »

Which isp are u with and please run BTw PT test here: http://speedtest.btwholesale.com

1) tick Yes and click Begin Test and wait for test result
2) click Further Diagnostic
3) enter your Telephone Number of the broadband circuit in the box
4) click Run Diagnostic Test and wait for the result

Did it show up BT IP Profile on your line? If not working, please state which isp are u with as I am going to leave this thread to find out if Plusnet are the only isp who still refused BTw PT IP Profile to show up as I just want to know if other isp's experience this as well. These might help BT Wholesale to investigate of the problem with BTw PT.

Also try this tool too: https://windows.mouselike.org/be/index.asp?DoAction=BrasChecker

Thanks.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32653
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2014, 11:33:42 PM »

Quote
Did it show up BT IP Profile on your line?

Yes.
 IP Profile for your line is - 77.43 Mbps

Quote
please state which isp are u with

Plusnet - using ptw-ag01 gateway.

Quote
Also try this tool too:

"It looks like BT failed to respond with valid data." - Which is no big surprise because Id just used the BTw tester.

Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32653
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2014, 11:42:44 PM »

From a friends connection

Quote
    Did it show up BT IP Profile on your line?

No

Speed test "It say's 61.84 download"

"It says for further diagnostics:The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider.""

Quote
    please state which isp are u with

Zen.



Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

adslmax

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1274
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2014, 11:48:39 PM »

Mine use to work all times from late February until last week. And now for a whole week, it never work again. All I getting on BTw result are:

1. Best Effort Test:

Download Speed : 75.39 Mbps

2. Upstream Test:

Upload Speed : 17.76 Mbps


Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.
 
And this Mouselike.org UK Broadband Tools doesn't work either:

Looks like BT refused to test, possibly because a speed test or BRAS check has been run recently which prevents this tool from working. Try again in a few hours.
Debug: BT no BRAS info

Both test from Plusnet Isp
 
Very annoying with BTw PT are pretty poor. I prefer the old one BTw SpeedTest via Java ages ago, don't like this new one PT. Plusnet say they can't do anything about it but they will try push BT to get it investigated! Plusnet say the PT are throw up that why it come back with no IP Profile.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2014, 11:52:48 PM by adslmax »
Logged

strontium90

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2014, 07:51:11 AM »

Hasn't worked for about a month...BT Infinity

I wondered was it 'cos I "Killed" BTAgent?


 
1. Best Effort Test:

Download Speed : 16.62 Mbps

2. Upstream Test:

Upload Speed : 0.67 Mbps


Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32653
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2014, 09:37:58 PM »

Quote
I wondered was it 'cos I "Killed" BTAgent?

I shouldn't think so.   I've been able to successfully access the test on a HG612 with a Killed BTAgent.
Ive also been able to run the test using different routers which dont have a BTAgent.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2014, 09:46:06 PM »

Just to be sure are using this link http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

It's working fine with My BT ISP and BT Agent killed.

« Last Edit: August 19, 2014, 09:55:11 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32653
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2014, 10:21:29 PM »


And this Mouselike.org UK Broadband Tools doesn't work either:

Thats hardly surprising, because Toms checker in the background just hooks up to the same BT database.
So if the PT isnt working for you then mouselike wont either.

Running the BT PT within the same time frame will also stop Toms from working..  and vice versa.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2014, 10:41:30 PM »

I'm with Plusnet & it works for me.


FWIW, I have just switched to the unlimited package.

I have been out of contract for some months now & I was enticed by quite a 'reasonable' discount to stay with Plusnet.

I have been with the for many years & had no intention to move anyway.

I rarely exceeded the 40 GB limit I had with my legacy Value Fibre product, but it was expensive whenever I did exceed it.



Also, I'm now on the 40/20 product, but I still get the same poor sync speeds that have been a result of presumed increased crosstalk (evidenced by my D1 band Signal attenuation when compared to Line attenuation ??? ):-

Code: [Select]
xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 1
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 4038 Kbps, Downstream rate = 21312 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 3977 Kbps, Downstream rate = 18678 Kbps

Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3970)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1190)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1605)
  VDSL Port Details   Upstream   Downstream
Attainable Net Data Rate:      4038 kbps     21312 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power:        6.9 dBm      12.3 dBm
====================================================================================
  VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 U4 D1 D2 D3
  Line Attenuation(dB): 8.3 55.7   N/A   N/A   N/A 22.1 68.4   N/A
Signal Attenuation(dB): 8.3 54.9   N/A   N/A   N/A 31.4 68.4   N/A
SNR Margin(dB): 6.4 6.4   N/A   N/A   N/A 6.3 6.3   N/A
TX Power(dBm): 0.6 5.8   N/A   N/A   N/A 11.4 5.1   N/A


Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2014, 11:05:34 PM »

Hi BE1 it's been a while since we conversed !

did you notice my IP profile the DS is red and has been for many months always coming up with
"The test was not conclusive and futher testing is required"  :shrug2:
Logged

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2014, 11:12:27 PM »

Hi NS,


Yes, I did notice.

Mine was the same, right up to switching to the 40/20 profile.

Coincidence?

Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4850
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2014, 11:28:56 PM »

Hi NS,


Yes, I did notice.

Mine was the same, right up to switching to the 40/20 profile.

Coincidence?

Thanks for the reassurance BE1, and I am still on the 40/10 service with 40 GB allowance a month.
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 32653
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2014, 11:33:08 PM »

Quote
evidenced by my D1 band Signal attenuation when compared to Line attenuation

Oh My Gosh.. its sure taken a hammering :(
How full is your cab.. do you have any idea?   
It would also be interesting to know if that was an accumulation of lines..  or if its just one or two lines that are bad disturbers..   I doubt you'd even find that out though :(

* kitz has wicked thoughts of power cuts and back up power in the eyrie.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2014, 07:51:24 AM »

I think it is due to an accumulation of new lines being connected.

I was one of the first (if mot the very first) to be connected to the cab back in June 2011.

My intermittent line fault was finally fixed in May 2012.

I then enjoyed DS sync speed of around 30 Mbps & a very stable connection for 7 months or so.

I started seeing stepped deteriorations in SNRM from January 2013, always followed a few days later by a resync at a lower speed.


Unfortunately I don't know what my Signal attenuation was back then as we were using the original HG612 modem firmware that always reported the D1 band Line & Signal attenuation as identical values.


The damage had already been done gradually by the time the firmware was updated in October 2013, which was the first time we could see any differences in Line & Signal attenuation.


We do occasionally experience power cuts lasting for just a few minutes.

On these occasions, sync speed/attainable rates do improve a little when the connection syncs again when power is restored.


My 'assumption' is that as the HG612 syncs up quite quickly, it manages to be up & running before some other users' connections actually sync (maybe slower to sync ADSL modems?).

However, syn/attainable rates get nowhere near the previous glory days of 30 Mbps, so another 'assumption' is that the main disturbance is from newer VDSL2 connections that also sync quite quickly.

As I'm around 1100 m from the cabinet, it's also quite likely that quite a few other users have their power fed from different sub-stations, therefore they have probably remained in sync during the power cuts local to just my area.


EDIT:

FWIW, I have attached a graph showing 653 days worth of sync speeds (occasional temporary slight respites (probably lasting for a few days after a power cut).

My connection is currently in sync at 18.68 Mbps.

I do have earlier graphs where it was in sync at almost 35 Mbps, but I haven't included that data as they were only temporary fastpath speeds following DLM resets, until DLM kicked in again, applying Interleaving & therefore reducing sync speeds.

« Last Edit: August 20, 2014, 08:13:09 AM by Bald_Eagle1 »
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6405
Re: BT IP Profile no longer work!
« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2014, 09:57:50 AM »

when using the mouselike.org link, then the BTw site wont report the ip profile for a temporary period, this is already known.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE
Pages: [1] 2