Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Breaking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.  (Read 9040 times)

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3236
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.

Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968

HOW CAN THEY CALL IT ! 'Fibre Broadband' when the technology behind it is no more fibre than ADSL products - The DSLAM is just a bit closer to your house.  :( >:(

How do all the ISP's get away with it ?.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2014, 02:12:10 PM by kitz »
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

boost

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 754
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2014, 10:06:48 PM »

Virgin Media do it too, I suppose.

Pretty sure coax isn't fibre :P
Logged

HPsauce

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2464
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2014, 10:08:46 PM »

Isn't it all fibre these days, the backbone to almost all exchanges is over fibre.  :P
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2014, 10:37:38 PM »

I totally agree with you...  and have said as such many times before.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2014, 01:15:51 AM »

Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968

HOW CAN THEY CALL IT ! 'Fibre Broadband' when the technology behind it is no more fibre than ADSL products - The DSLAM is just a bit closer to your house.  :( >:(

How do all the ISP's get away with it ?.

It depends on how far you are the from FTTC cabinet, I am on a longer line than most FTTC users so it's 50/50 fibre and copper, the guys who get a sync of 80000kbps use more fibre and less copper 80/20  :D
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3148
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2014, 01:47:29 AM »

Would that be unlimited* fibre** broadband?


*Fair usgage policy applies
**Copper phone line will still be used

They got away with using unlimited to cover even stupid FUP for years, I expect it will be the same for fibre broadband.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 388/21  ;D

tickmike

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 3236
  • Yes Another Penguin !. :)
    • Free Download from.
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2014, 09:19:29 PM »

I would say it can only be called Fibre if it comes all the way to you House / premises  :hmm:
Logged
I RECOMMEND TRYING PCLinuxOS (www.pclinuxos.com) .
I have a set of 8 fixed IP's From my Eclipse isp.
BT ADSL2 (G992.3) line>HG612 set as a Modem, Bridge, WAN not Bound to LAN1 or 2 >Smoothwall (Hardware Firewall and routing) > Ethernet LAN, DMZ,WiFI LAN and Spare LAN .
DSLstats LAN2  linked Ethernet

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2014, 08:02:19 PM »

I would say it can only be called Fibre if it comes all the way to you House / premises  :hmm:

Thats called FTTH/P (Fibre to the Home or premises) were as FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) and thats what you get on 40/10 80/20 it's using fibre so it can't be disputed, there is two types of Fibre BroadBand one is cheaper & slower than the much more expensive 100% fibre setup which I could not afford  :(

So yes Infinity 1 & 2 should be called super fast fibre and copper broadband ;)
« Last Edit: August 06, 2014, 08:09:55 PM by NewtronStar »
Logged

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2014, 08:28:58 PM »

I think it should just be called by its proper technology ie ADSL or VDSL or cable.
When it comes to adsl 99.9% of the network is fibre anyhow.

'Superfast' is meaningless when new advances come out and speeds increase.  Superfast or similar has been used for adslmax, adsl2+  etc.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4817
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2014, 10:29:14 PM »

'Superfast' is meaningless

I take your point  :)

Wonder what the adverts in south korea TV call there broadband with 1 Gigabit per second ?
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 5658
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2014, 12:17:49 PM »

ASA failed to nip it in the bud early days and now have dug a hole 1000000m deep they cant get out of with fibre advertising.

So when someone finally does mass FTTP and does ad's they cant differentiate.
Logged
Sky Fiber Pro - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Alex Atkin UK

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • My Broadband History
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Breaking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2014, 04:55:59 PM »

No doubt they will just use something like "ten times faster than standard fibre broadband" or some other long winded claim.
Logged
Modems: 2 x VMG3925-B10B V5.13(AAVF.12)C0-jumbo
Router: i5-7200U appliance running pfSense.
ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2 + Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2014, 06:15:27 PM »

ASA failed to nip it in the bud early days and now have dug a hole 1000000m deep they cant get out of with fibre advertising.

So when someone finally does mass FTTP and does ad's they cant differentiate.

So true.   It was easier when we just had cable or adsl.  Who was the first to start using the term fibre does anyone know.

@Alex..    :lol:
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 25895
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Braking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2014, 06:22:58 PM »

Who was the first to start using the term fibre does anyone know.

I thought it was Beattie, herself (a.k.a. The Evil Empire of Newgate Street).  :-\
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 31911
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: "Get Fibre Broadband" .... Breaking the Trade Descriptions Act 1968.
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2014, 06:30:49 PM »

cheers b*cat..  I couldnt recall.

Other than the fact that 'fibre' is now totally meaningless when it comes to description between the technologies.
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker
Pages: [1] 2 3