Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 22

Author Topic: HG612 Firmwares [New H-Wolf version] (Updated 9 Aug 2014)  (Read 236200 times)

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6369
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #45 on: August 11, 2014, 06:17:35 PM »

apparently 20 or so disconnects a day is tolerated so its odd people report DLM taking action after one power cycle.

I have even power cycled my modem before whilst waiting to be put back on fast path and then had DLM put me back on fast path the same 24 hour period as a power cycle.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

perry081064

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #46 on: August 11, 2014, 07:12:09 PM »

apparently 20 or so disconnects a day is tolerated so its odd people report DLM taking action after one power cycle.

I have even power cycled my modem before whilst waiting to be put back on fast path and then had DLM put me back on fast path the same 24 hour period as a power cycle.

i can provide my last 3 months stats that would prove otherwise. (maybe even 5 months if i can find them ).

in the three disconnects ive had over that period (managed powerdowns ), all three have caused DLM to increase interleave higher than before and never drop back.

im obviously in the minority , but its there in black and white , im dreading a powercut or severe weather :(

« Last Edit: August 11, 2014, 07:30:33 PM by perry081064 »
Logged

NewtronStar

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 4844
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #47 on: August 11, 2014, 09:50:35 PM »

apparently 20 or so disconnects a day is tolerated so its odd people report DLM taking action after one power cycle.

I have even power cycled my modem before whilst waiting to be put back on fast path and then had DLM put me back on fast path the same 24 hour period as a power cycle.

It's seems you have put yourself forward to test the 20 disconnects in a 24 hour period using the 30 minute delay off/on theory ;D
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6369
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #48 on: August 11, 2014, 10:19:39 PM »

apparently 20 or so disconnects a day is tolerated so its odd people report DLM taking action after one power cycle.

I have even power cycled my modem before whilst waiting to be put back on fast path and then had DLM put me back on fast path the same 24 hour period as a power cycle.

It's seems you have put yourself forward to test the 20 disconnects in a 24 hour period using the 30 minute delay off/on theory ;D

I think it was a plusnet rep who mentioned 20.  It will be lower tho on the stable DLM profiles.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

boe323

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #49 on: August 23, 2014, 12:30:04 PM »

So is the bt agent removed? or is it just the tab?, and is it better to disable 801.1p values, ive read that 7 is the highest priority yet the main bandwidth is set lower than bts update and control bandwidth, unless its changed now, what I read was made in 1998. Ive also changed ip bridge to pppoe bridge and turned off dhcp transparent transmission, is that wise?, whats the difference between the 2?, also as its only passing internet to the hub and that's doing the rest, don't see the need for transparent transmission, seems to be more responsive on web pages but I don't know much about it ans would like to know whats best.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2014, 12:33:15 AM by boe323 »
Logged

twdsamy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #50 on: August 25, 2014, 11:54:43 AM »

Many thanks yet again
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1115
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #51 on: August 25, 2014, 07:51:55 PM »

Does anyone know yet if this updated firmware reduces the number of errors, especially from someone connected to an ECI cabinet? I'm currently using the ECI /r modem as it's only device that seems to keep my line on fastpath.
Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6369
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2014, 08:57:26 AM »

probably not as is same blob version.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

les-70

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2014, 09:13:34 AM »

  The new firmware performance of the vdsl/adsl side is the same as before.  If you willing to manually limit the HG612 sync speed down to a value not a lot more than the speed you would get on interleaved the HG612 you should maintain fastpath in most cases.  Using e.g. "xdslcmd configure --maxDataRate 64000 16000  100000" and  aiming for a snrm of about 8-9 rather than 6 reduces my error rates by about a factor of 4-5.
Logged

Ixel

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1115
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #54 on: August 26, 2014, 08:33:21 PM »

  The new firmware performance of the vdsl/adsl side is the same as before.  If you willing to manually limit the HG612 sync speed down to a value not a lot more than the speed you would get on interleaved the HG612 you should maintain fastpath in most cases.  Using e.g. "xdslcmd configure --maxDataRate 64000 16000  100000" and  aiming for a snrm of about 8-9 rather than 6 reduces my error rates by about a factor of 4-5.

I see.

Yes I did all that a long way in the past (maxDataRate), it didn't make a huge difference to the odd and occasional errors, enough in some cases to cause DLM to switch to interleaving. I'll stick to the ECI /r since that keeps me on fastpath without needing to cap the speed further.
Logged

boe323

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #55 on: August 27, 2014, 12:40:38 PM »

Using all default settings ,ive had my first resync , my profile is the lowest its ever been in 3 years  :(, last night around 1.30am, it started spitting out crcs by the hundreds and made the modem resync, it happens on my line rarely as I think nextdoor as got something faulty, but the previous firmware was able to keep sync.
Logged

planetf1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #56 on: August 28, 2014, 01:54:42 PM »

I just upgraded my HG612 - running the previous unlocked/webgui firmware using the file:

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP08_webgui
from
https://mega.co.nz/#F!LdJFDIJL!e_E1twsIg2kTet8mPjrb4w

After doing this, the modem itself reports under "status":

V100R001C01B030SP06

Is this expected, or a bad package?

I used the web admin UI to upgrade


Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6369
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #57 on: August 28, 2014, 03:47:10 PM »

is fine
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #58 on: August 28, 2014, 06:20:48 PM »

I just upgraded my HG612 - running the previous unlocked/webgui firmware using the file:

bcm96368MVWG_fs_kernel_HG612V100R001C01B030SP08_webgui
from
https://mega.co.nz/#F!LdJFDIJL!e_E1twsIg2kTet8mPjrb4w

After doing this, the modem itself reports under "status":

V100R001C01B030SP06

Is this expected, or a bad package?

I used the web admin UI to upgrade


Doing it through the modem's GUI isn't recommended (if that's what you meant) as it doesn't fully update the firmware/software.

Following Asbokid's original instructions is the only sure fire way to ensure a 'full' update.


Strictly speaking, you should now be seeing this:-

software version: V100R001C01B030SP08

(Not V100R001C01B030SP06)

Logged

planetf1

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: HG612 Firmwares [Aug 2014 - New HW version] (Updated 9 Aug)
« Reply #59 on: August 28, 2014, 06:22:55 PM »

Ok, I'll try that at some point soon.

Odd that the fw did update to some extent but to the july version ? So can someone running the unlocked web gui confirm they see 08 ?

Full info is

Product type   EchoLife HG612 
Device ID   <withheld>
Hardware version   VER.B
Software version   V100R001C01B030SP06
Firmware version   A2pv6C038m.d24j
Batch number   BC1P6.030.A2pv6C038m.d24j
System up time   0 days 4 hours 32 minutes 27 seconds
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 22