Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released  (Read 14534 times)

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2014, 07:52:34 AM »


Can I ask why it needs more than 1 attempt, do you forcefully close the connection after a short time or something? or is the modem rejecting connections?



The modem reports the stats relatively slowly.
So, even a SLOW PC tries to get the data quicker than the modem can report in one go.

Each time a pause is added, it gives the modem chance to report more data in each attempt.


Could you try the attached HG612_current_stats.exe with "enable extra debug info logging"  ticked & then unticked & post the relevant parts of CURRENT_ERROR.LOG_file_ERROR.TXT for me to see what differences it has made?

We know it works on your setup with it ticked, but I have added some more pauses to see if that helps when it is unticked.


The beep should also now have stopped when "enable extra debug info logging" is ticked.






Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2014, 12:58:32 PM »

Ok thanks.

With it unticked I have 11 items in folder and plink is around 330kb, so looks good.

I will post the logs again.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2014, 05:17:01 PM »

That's good news.

I look forward to viewing your logs.


Just for fun, I have been updating GRAPH6.exe.

It now includes a reasonably high resolution Biits loaded & SNR combined graph as per the attachment.

I have also attached the updated version of GRAPH6.exe for use with snapshot logging, if you wish to try it out.

It still needs a little more work (The key is in the wrong place etc.)


Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2014, 07:46:00 PM »

Bug fix update of release version, which caused modem type to default to HG612 regardless of what was shown in the GUI in certain circumstances.

Quote
2.1.5253.9955   20-05-2014

      Added code to modify Modem_Type key in ini file, should be Modem_type. This is fully automated and transparent to the user.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #19 on: May 20, 2014, 09:03:11 PM »

As per my post in your other thread ( http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php?topic=13974.msg262991#msg262991 ), I can confirm it works.

Logged

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2014, 08:54:32 PM »

Couple of amendments to the beta version.


Quote
2.1.5255.33352   22-05-2014

      Alteration to code that reads modem log file - experiment to see if it cures a problem one user was having, should make no difference to other users.
      
2.1.5253.34057    21-05-2014

      Added code to correctly name new Bits with SNR graph
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2014, 09:57:39 PM »

here is logs, I did both snapshots within last 2 mins, was unticked first.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2014, 09:59:57 PM by Chrysalis »
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2014, 11:55:12 PM »

Thanks for that Chrys.

It works, but it does slow your PC down quite a bit.

When you have a couple of minutes to spare, would you mind trying the snapshots unticked & ticked again, but with PC Speed set at MEDIUM to see what happens?

The problem here is that not having such a fast PC as yours, I'll have to rely on users such as yourself to provide data for me to get to the optimal balance between program speed & reliability.






Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #23 on: May 23, 2014, 12:22:52 AM »

its slower but not slow enough to be an issue, takes about 20 secs or so to run, I highly suggest do not speed it up, if people's pc isnt fast enough they can select slow,medium :)
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Bald_Eagle1

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 2721
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2014, 12:38:48 AM »

Any old PC is fast enough. It's only really a problem with PCs that are faster than the modem.


You may find that the MEDIUM setting is sufficient to speed up the program on your PC without causing any issues.

Each pasue on MEDIUM is 0.25 seconds & it is 0.50 seconds per pause on FAST.


On the SLOW setting that I use, there are no pauses at all.
But we have seen that your PC is far to fast for that setting.

Logged

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2014, 02:05:25 AM »

I will test medium and get back to you but am hoping you dont speed it up.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33004
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2014, 02:37:56 AM »

Chrys, I know you posted it before, but I cant find it atm..   what is your system?

I have an i7-3770 @ 3.4gHz 3.9GHz and the medium setting works fine on mine.  Even with extensive logging on or off.
I even ran modem stats on slow for a trial period which was ok, but have decided medium is best (with the help of BE's judgement).

BE was getting regular reports and feedback on how it was coping on various settings..  and he was monitoring how long it took my system to produce stats from the logs I was sending. 
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6594
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2014, 04:35:29 AM »

i5-4670k clocked at 4.3ghz although it doesnt turbo up during the stats creation.  Medium looks ok for snapshot.
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

kitz

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 33004
  • Trinity: Most guys do.
    • http://www.kitz.co.uk
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2014, 10:34:22 AM »

According to this, both are much of a muchness.  (Depending on whether you are using just one core or all cores).  Is your PC busy or does it have long periods of idle?
Logged
Please do not PM me with queries for broadband help as I may not be able to respond.
-----
How to get your router line stats :: ADSL Exchange Checker

Ronski

  • Moderator
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 4140
Re: HG612 Modem Stats Editor & GUI v2.1 released
« Reply #29 on: May 24, 2014, 12:09:27 PM »

I don't wish to derail this thread, but what might be a useful comparison is to run Super Pi (attached - just extract and run) on your machines to 1 million decimal places and compare the results.

My PC here at work (Pentium G3420 @ 3.2Ghz) takes about 12.8 seconds, although the quickest has been 12.1 seconds.

It only uses a single core, and doesn't take into account hard disk speed or network speed, but I doubt that makes any difference to the logging programs, but it does give a very good indication of CPU processing speed.

Edit: My server which runs HG612 stats at home takes 17.5 seconds, which is an i3 540 @ 3.07Ghz although it probably is doing other things, but that represents normal usage.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 01:59:14 PM by Ronski »
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
 

anything