Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 45 46 [47] 48 49 ... 65

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 382430 times)

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #690 on: February 08, 2017, 10:17:46 AM »

Firmware V1.00(AAKL.16)C0 available here:

ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/VMG8924-B10A/firmware/

I haven't tried it yet, hope to install it this evening.

Thanks Ronski, correction to second link
https://www.studerus.ch/de/support/download/201620_1


« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 01:58:05 PM by npr »
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3740
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #691 on: February 08, 2017, 10:26:13 AM »

Thanks for posting. The last link is wrong though, it links to documentation for a switch.
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #692 on: February 08, 2017, 10:32:48 AM »

Just done an in place upgrade on my VMG8924-B10A although I personally don't use it as a modem.
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5848
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #693 on: February 08, 2017, 10:45:43 AM »

How did you find this as it doesn't show when searching the Zyxel UK site (still shows V15 as latest)?
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #694 on: February 08, 2017, 11:00:45 AM »

I'm assuming by keeping an eye on their global FTP server has its generally more up to date than the UK specific site.
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1177
    • Zen ECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #695 on: February 08, 2017, 11:10:57 AM »

I wonder if its compatible with the 8324 and if there are any updates to the modem side of things..
Logged
Zen 80/20 - Zyxel VMG3925-b10b(bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for ECI VDSL cab line stats


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei VDSL cab 

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #696 on: February 08, 2017, 11:14:28 AM »

I wonder if its compatible with the 8324 and if there are any updates to the modem side of things..

I believe they are cross compatible and looking at the change log I don't see any reference to an updated DSL firmware.

Compared v15, and v16 release notes no changes at all to the bootbase, kernel, DSL modem code, or DSL driver unfortunately.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 11:22:11 AM by Starman »
Logged

skyeci

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 1177
    • Zen ECI line stats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #697 on: February 08, 2017, 11:15:51 AM »

Ok cheers. Will stick with v14 for now. V15 seemed to reduce my upstream snr to much. Thanks for looking
Logged
Zen 80/20 - Zyxel VMG3925-b10b(bridge mode) + Opnsense(i5 Qotom) with IPV6 , AC-88U WAP- ECI cab,

click for ECI VDSL cab line stats


click for line stats by pi3/Huawei VDSL cab 

lloyd

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #698 on: February 08, 2017, 01:07:34 PM »

Here's an interesting line in the release notes:

[#31023][System] The password of supervisor would be "zyad1234"
Logged

tubaman

  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 5848
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #699 on: February 08, 2017, 01:26:04 PM »

Here's an interesting line in the release notes:

[#31023][System] The password of supervisor would be "zyad1234"

Perhaps they've been reading this forum and have realised its no use hiding the password any more. :lol:
« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 01:28:48 PM by tubaman »
Logged
BT FTTC 80/20 Huawei Cab - Zyxel VMG8924-B10A

highpriest

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 265
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #700 on: February 08, 2017, 02:19:29 PM »

I wonder if its compatible with the 8324 and if there are any updates to the modem side of things..

They are practically identical. The 8924 has a removable Wireless AC card included (in what looks like a Mini PCI-E slot). It is left unpopulated in the 8324.

The PDF accompanying the firmware lists it as VMG8X24-B10A Standard Version.
Logged
Zen | Zyxel VMG8324-B10A (with RFC4638 patch) | EdgeRouter PoE | UniFi AP AC Pro + Lite

npr

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 257
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #701 on: February 08, 2017, 04:34:05 PM »

Install V1.00(AAKL.16)C0, every thing is running ok.

Can't see any real changes, the GUI is still a tad slow and the memory usage is running higher at 80% -- tried a reboot which usually brings it down to 70%, but not this time.

The supervisor password I configured on the previous FW still works.

BT TV still works but the youview box needed resetting.


Logged

jaydub

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #702 on: February 08, 2017, 05:51:52 PM »

Installed on my VMG8924-B10A.  Memory usage running at 61%, which was roughly where it was at before.

I would like to think they've fixed the incorrect display of the up time in the xDSL stats, but can't see any indication in the change logs that they have.
Logged

Geekofbroadband

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #703 on: February 08, 2017, 10:48:27 PM »

Installed on mine, seems fine. Although I have a separate question....

On the manual set up page for the ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A on Kitz, it says to select 802.1p : (1) or, (2) for BT or TalkTalk http://i.imgur.com/nl1nZmR.png

1: I did the automatic set up and it has put it on (0), is that OK? The internet works but I don't really understand it. Should I put it on 1?

2: And is it recommended to use Google's DNS server 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 on static than the dynamic option which I assume is Plusnets DNS servers http://i.imgur.com/8yuyiu6.png?

THANKS  :D
« Last Edit: February 08, 2017, 10:51:11 PM by Geekofbroadband »
Logged

burakkucat

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 30503
  • Over the Rainbow Bridge
    • The ELRepo Project
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #704 on: February 09, 2017, 12:25:05 AM »

Although I have a separate question....

I see two questions!  :D

Second query answered first: The dynamic setting for the DNS server address(es) will take whatever your ISP/CP passes down the wire to the device. So if your ISP/CP is Plusnet, then it will be their DNS server(s) that will be used. In dynamic mode it doesn't make sense to populate those two boxes with any IP addresses.

First query answered last: I seem to recall that 0, 1 or 2 will be o.k. I have a vague recollection that Kitz has written some more about that parameter but I can't find the link . . .

[Subsequent edit to fix a spelling mishap.]
« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 06:32:11 PM by burakkucat »
Logged
:cat:  100% Linux and, previously, Unix. Co-founder of the ELRepo Project.

Please consider making a donation to support the running of this site.
Pages: 1 ... 45 46 [47] 48 49 ... 65