Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 42 43 [44] 45 46 ... 65

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 382675 times)

vic0239

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #645 on: October 24, 2016, 04:04:04 PM »

@j0hn Thanks for posting the link to the 8924 firmware.

 I've been following this thread waiting for a solution to the high FEC counts and hoping for a new version for my 1312s and at last here it is!

http://www.zyxel.com/euosearch/dl-search.aspx?mci_country=uk&mci_lang=en&keyword=1312&submit=Search

I had been using a beta version with no high FEC count apparent for a couple of weeks so am hopeful the final release version will be ok too. It incorporates the new modem code A2pv6F039v.
Logged

youngsyp

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #646 on: November 04, 2016, 12:01:32 PM »

Is anyone else seeing issues where web access seems to drop but the link stays up? I get reports of issues with DNS which means web pages don't load. I notice it when connected to my TP-Link Archer C7 that's acting as a wireless access point, connected to the Zyxel via ethernet. A reboot of the Archer sorts the issue or re OKing the Home Network DNS settings in the Zyxel also sorts it. So I don't think it's the Archer that's at fault.

I'm on v14 firmware and have all DNS settings set to 8.8.8.8 for the primary and 8.8.4.4 for the secondary. Could this be the issue? Should I try another DNS service?

Paul
Just in case this is useful for anyone else, I think I've found the issue.

I set up all my fixed devices with a static IP address. There's a feature in the Zyxel to add these to the static list. It uses the MAC address of the device to assign the IP address to. As we know, the C7 has 3 MAC addresses, one for the LAN NIC, one for the 2.4GHz WLAN adapter and one for the 5GHz WLAN adapter. It would seem the Zyxel was picking up one of the WLAN adapter MAC addresses and assigning that to the static IP address. This caused an issue for some reason resulting in DNS failures. I've re-added the C7 using the LAN NIC's MAC address and it's been fine ever since.

Paul
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 575
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #647 on: November 06, 2016, 01:06:45 PM »

Hi

I'm back on VDSL now and using the ZyXel with 15 firmware and finding it is rebooting at least once a day.  I'm going to put it into modem only mode and use a separate router anyway when I get around to it.  Hopefully in modem mode it's more reliable.  I've tried a full factory reset on the 15 firmware which didn't make any difference to it's reliability.

Regards

Phil

Logged

jasjeet

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #648 on: November 07, 2016, 06:59:07 PM »

Yeah I'm on the edge of dumping this router, even my parents notice the unreliability and since I swapped it from the sky router of all things, have always been asking, why is the internet so sh*t. Plus the manual connection to Sky makes it quite annoying, when it isn't the net that dropped, but the router that crashed, or wifi that got bugged.

Looking for alternatives now.
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #649 on: November 10, 2016, 01:23:14 AM »

Does anyone know how to check and increase the power of the wifi for both bands?
I would like to have a bit more coverage?
I know there is the wl command in shell i.e wl txpwr but the options in wl command are huge.
Also if I setup something with wl do those commands stay after reboot or I need to convert them
in nvram variables?
Logged

Borygo77

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #650 on: November 17, 2016, 07:29:32 PM »

Guys any way to flash zyxel firmware to locked F1000 from eircom?
Dermot says it's possible but I can't find solution here...
Logged

Ronski

  • Helpful
  • Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 3743
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #651 on: November 17, 2016, 07:34:22 PM »

I believe this is the thread you're looking for

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,13939.0.html

I have one of his unbranded F1000's  ;D
Logged
Formerly restrained by ECI and ali,  now surfing along at 390/36  ;D

Borygo77

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #652 on: November 17, 2016, 07:42:45 PM »

Yeah. You're right but in this thread Dermot explaining how to unlock f1000 using ttl cable. As I'm aware of now there is no need for ttl anymore ;) just can't find it.


edit: Well if I do understand good according to this thread http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,17361.0.html it's enough to edit header of zyxel firmware and flash it using web interface?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2016, 08:24:05 PM by Borygo77 »
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #653 on: November 22, 2016, 03:09:05 AM »

Have someone tried to utilize and test the router in WAN-LAN routing having enabled the QoS and having some port forwarding rules?
If we enable the QoS I think the hardware acceleration of broadcom is getting disabled so it would be nice to see what the router can do without it
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 575
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #654 on: November 22, 2016, 08:41:25 AM »

Hi

When I used it as a router I enabled QoS it still routed at my full line speed (80/20).

Regards

Phil
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #655 on: November 22, 2016, 02:46:50 PM »

Hi

When I used it as a router I enabled QoS it still routed at my full line speed (80/20).

Regards

Phil

Hi
Is it possible to check the loadaverage and the top?
Just to see the CPU utilization when the QoS is enabled.
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 575
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #656 on: November 22, 2016, 03:38:24 PM »

Hi

From memory it didn't really show any differences in the loading when QoS was enabled.  Unfortunately the ZyXel it is now in bridge mode and I'm using pfsense on a home brew router so can't easily check. 

Best Regards

Phil
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #657 on: November 22, 2016, 03:47:48 PM »

I am trying to understand if the router is capable enough to route the full potential of the VDSL2 i.e 100Mbit down.
I have read that Broadcom has this cut-through NAT acceleration and Zyxel indicates that the EWAN port
has 950Mbits routing performance but I think all these are in this NAT acceleration mode.
When we activate QoS with some rules, we have port forwarding, and maybe firewall/parental enabled
things can be completely different.
If someone can test all the above would be nice
Logged

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 575
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #658 on: November 22, 2016, 04:17:14 PM »

Hi

I had port forwarding set up, QoS fully working, firewall was enabled, SIP phones connected, and there was no problem with 80/20 as speed tests were the same and my full line speed and I was sync'd at 80/20.  I think the QoS is done by the switch and not the main CPU anyway, and of course any LAN to LAN traffic just goes via the switch in the ZyXel anyway.

There is no need to worry, I think you could enable everything possible on a modern Broadcom based router and it wouldn't struggle routing 80/20 or a lot more.

Regards

Phil

Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #659 on: November 22, 2016, 07:39:33 PM »

Hi Phil
That is good to know.
Thanks
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 42 43 [44] 45 46 ... 65