Kitz ADSL Broadband Information
adsl spacer  
Support this site
Home Broadband ISPs Tech Routers Wiki Forum
 
     
   Compare ISP   Rate your ISP
   Glossary   Glossary
 
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 64

Author Topic: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware  (Read 347560 times)

PhilipD

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 450
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #630 on: October 21, 2016, 10:35:09 AM »

Hi

It seems that the RegulatoryDomain in the config is ignored. I've tested with both "EU" and "US" (which have easy-to-spot differences) - but the offered channels/bandwidths are identical.

I monitored the airwaves for beacons and/or management frames broadcast by the AP containing Country Information Elements and there are none. I didn't observe any Country Information Elements on 2.4GHz either.

So it seems as if:

a) the default factory configuration for each SSID definition contains a RegulatoryDomain element but it is not used to tell the Linux kernel via cfg80211/nl80211 or CRDA which domain is active.

b) No beacons or management frame Country Information Elements are broadcast

Sounds like a bug in the firmware and of course there are legal implications with selling a device that doesn't comply with the necessary rules and regulations regarding frequencies used.

The router is Wi-Fi certified and was tested with firmware version 1.00(AAKL.1)b1_20131205 and  V1.00(AAPQ0)b2, , if you can find that firmware it would be interesting to see if that works correctly, which then shows it has broken since, and given it's certification you might be able to get support to look into it.  However looking at the certificate, it appears to only be Wi-Fi certified for 2.4GHz and not 5GHz.  So 5GHz may never have worked correctly with regulatory domains.

Regards

Phil
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #631 on: October 21, 2016, 01:07:57 PM »

It'll depend very much on how busy the network is and what services are enabled but here's a VMG8924-B10A v15:
Code: [Select]
~ # cat /proc/loadavg
0.89 0.99 0.97 2/101 25705
~ # free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:       123664       107932        15732            0            0
 Swap:            0            0            0
Total:       123664       107932        15732

I see that your CPU utilization is pretty high. Are you running a lot of services? Is there a big network traffic?
Also have you noticed any sluggishness with the router?
Logged

Starman

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #632 on: October 21, 2016, 05:05:16 PM »

Code: [Select]
Mem: 116956K used, 6708K free, 0K shrd, 0K buff, 40244K cached
CPU:  1.3% usr  5.2% sys  0.0% nic 88.5% idle  0.0% io  4.5% irq  0.1% sirq
Load average: 1.18 1.30 1.19 2/101 31392
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM CPU %CPU COMMAND
 3501  3498 supervis S     7216  5.8   1  2.0 swmdk
26175   275 supervis S    11824  9.5   1  0.8 httpd -m 0
27111   275 supervis S     8820  7.1   0  0.2 sshd -m 0
31306 31305 supervis R     2152  1.7   0  0.2 top
    7     2 supervis SW       0  0.0   0  0.2 [sirq-net-rx/0]
 3500  3498 supervis S     7216  5.8   0  0.1 swmdk
 3658   265 supervis S <   2568  2.0   1  0.1 /bin/mm.exe
 3810   265 supervis S <   2568  2.0   0  0.1 /bin/mm.exe
26176   275 supervis S      812  0.6   0  0.1 cpuload
27138 27111 supervis S     8948  7.2   0  0.0 sshd -m 0
  278   275 supervis S     8788  7.0   0  0.0 ssk
  271   219 supervis S <   8656  6.9   1  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
  279   271 supervis S <   8656  6.9   0  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
  280   279 supervis S <   8656  6.9   1  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
 1488   275 supervis S     8628  6.9   1  0.0 mcpd -m 0
 4504  3200 supervis S     8540  6.8   0  0.0 celld -m 0
 3200   275 supervis S     8540  6.8   0  0.0 celld -m 0
 2593   275 supervis S     8356  6.7   0  0.0 wlmngr -m 0
 3382  3381 supervis S     8260  6.6   0  0.0 voiceApp -m 0
 3186   275 supervis S     8260  6.6   0  0.0 voiceApp -m 0

 > uptime
44D 7H 46M 13S

 > cat /proc/loadavg
1.08 1.25 1.18 3/101 394

I'm currently downloading at max speed on my VDSL connection stable ~7.8MB/s.
Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #633 on: October 21, 2016, 05:21:34 PM »

Code: [Select]
Mem: 116956K used, 6708K free, 0K shrd, 0K buff, 40244K cached
CPU:  1.3% usr  5.2% sys  0.0% nic 88.5% idle  0.0% io  4.5% irq  0.1% sirq
Load average: 1.18 1.30 1.19 2/101 31392
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM CPU %CPU COMMAND
 3501  3498 supervis S     7216  5.8   1  2.0 swmdk
26175   275 supervis S    11824  9.5   1  0.8 httpd -m 0
27111   275 supervis S     8820  7.1   0  0.2 sshd -m 0
31306 31305 supervis R     2152  1.7   0  0.2 top
    7     2 supervis SW       0  0.0   0  0.2 [sirq-net-rx/0]
 3500  3498 supervis S     7216  5.8   0  0.1 swmdk
 3658   265 supervis S <   2568  2.0   1  0.1 /bin/mm.exe
 3810   265 supervis S <   2568  2.0   0  0.1 /bin/mm.exe
26176   275 supervis S      812  0.6   0  0.1 cpuload
27138 27111 supervis S     8948  7.2   0  0.0 sshd -m 0
  278   275 supervis S     8788  7.0   0  0.0 ssk
  271   219 supervis S <   8656  6.9   1  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
  279   271 supervis S <   8656  6.9   0  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
  280   279 supervis S <   8656  6.9   1  0.0 /bin/icf.exe
 1488   275 supervis S     8628  6.9   1  0.0 mcpd -m 0
 4504  3200 supervis S     8540  6.8   0  0.0 celld -m 0
 3200   275 supervis S     8540  6.8   0  0.0 celld -m 0
 2593   275 supervis S     8356  6.7   0  0.0 wlmngr -m 0
 3382  3381 supervis S     8260  6.6   0  0.0 voiceApp -m 0
 3186   275 supervis S     8260  6.6   0  0.0 voiceApp -m 0

 > uptime
44D 7H 46M 13S

 > cat /proc/loadavg
1.08 1.25 1.18 3/101 394

I'm currently downloading at max speed on my VDSL connection stable ~7.8MB/s.

This is better. I can see from the first portion of the screenshot which looks like a top command
that the CPU is 88.5% idle but the loadavg shows values above 1 (I thought values close to 1 are values close to 100%)
Is there a way to find out your total NAT connections?
It will be a good idea to find out how well the BCM63168 performs under load
downloading and uploading almost the max of the vdsl having enabled firewall and maybe having few thousands NAT connections
Logged

lockdown

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #634 on: October 22, 2016, 02:55:37 PM »

Hi All,

I've just ordered a VMG8924, been digging through the forum but can't find a definitive answer. Does.it use the same f/w aa the 8324? Either way which is the most stable to be using from off the bat. I'm coming from a PN HubOne that has caused me nothing but issues so switching to a Zyxel go start logging stats.

Cheers

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Logged

j0hn

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2683
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #635 on: October 22, 2016, 03:23:54 PM »

Yes, they are the same. I initially loaded the 8324 v15 firmware on my 8924 before they released the 8924 specific firmware. everything worked, including 5ghz Wi-Fi which isn't even in the 8324.

They may at some point split them and release separate firmwares that aren't compatible with each other so best practice would be to use the 8924 firmware

http://www.zyxel.com/euosearch/dl-search.aspx?mci_country=uk&mci_lang=en&keyword=8924&submit=Search

v15 is the newest, I find it very stable. v14 was the next previous stable firmware. Some had issues with very high FEC on v14.
Logged
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 -  ECI now Huawei cab
retx low @ 3dB target SNRM
Zyxel VMG1312-B10A bridged with 1508 MTU + Asus RT-AC68U running Asuswrt-Merlin

lockdown

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #636 on: October 22, 2016, 04:28:21 PM »

Yes, they are the same. I initially loaded the 8324 v15 firmware on my 8924 before they released the 8924 specific firmware. everything worked, including 5ghz Wi-Fi which isn't even in the 8324.

They may at some point split them and release separate firmwares that aren't compatible with each other so best practice would be to use the 8924 firmware

http://www.zyxel.com/euosearch/dl-search.aspx?mci_country=uk&mci_lang=en&keyword=8924&submit=Search

v15 is the newest, I find it very stable. v14 was the next previous stable firmware. Some had issues with very high FEC on v14.
Thanks j0hn, very useful.

In terms of initial setup and line connection, are these original instructions still valid? Do I need to worry about anything else with PlusNet?

http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/zyxel_VMG8324-B10A_vdsl_setup.htm

Appreciate the help!

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Logged

Chunkers

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Brick Wall head-banger
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #637 on: October 22, 2016, 04:34:43 PM »

Do I need to worry about anything else with PlusNet?

I have one connected to PlusNet in bridge mode and I did nothing except put the account details in, not having any major issues and seems to be working fine.

Chunks
Logged

roseway

  • Administrator
  • Senior Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 39555
  • Penguins CAN fly
    • DSLstats
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #638 on: October 22, 2016, 04:41:18 PM »

I think the configuration screens may have changed slightly since the instructions were written, but it's quite clear what to do. Like the above, I have one in bridge mode with Plusnet, and all I did was follow the instructions and add the account details.
Logged
  Eric

Chrysalis

  • Content Team
  • Addicted Kitizen
  • *
  • Posts: 6006
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #639 on: October 22, 2016, 11:57:19 PM »

Whilst I initially thought my modem in bridge mode was fine on v15 I have reverted it back to v14 for now.

The main reason for this seeing the power dbm dropping from 4.1 to 2.7 and the upstream snrm changing from 12.4 to 9.5.. changed the modem back to v14 and resynced around the same time of day and the 2 things that changed are back where they were pre upgrade.

Perhaps others could have a look pre & post upgrade at power dbm and upstream snrm (eci cab user).
Thanks
worth pointing out the US power can vary from sync to sync as it seems to be something that is not hard configured to a specific value
Logged
AAISP - Billion 8800NL bridge & PFSense BOX running PFSense 2.4 - ECI Cab - LINE STATISTICS CLICK HERE

Iam_TJ

  • Reg Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #640 on: October 23, 2016, 08:03:05 AM »

This is better. I can see from the first portion of the screenshot which looks like a top command
that the CPU is 88.5% idle but the loadavg shows values above 1 (I thought values close to 1 are values close to 100%)
'top' only shows instantaneous busy-ness. If you're interested in the typical system load then Load Average is the measurement to evaluate - it represents the total utilisation of the CPU(s) over a sustained period (1, 5 and 15 minutes) where for each CPU 1.00 is the perfect value - for a dual-core device 2.00 would be perfect. These routers have two cores. Therefore anything less than 2.00 indicates under utilisation.
Logged

ejs

  • Kitizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 2010
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #641 on: October 23, 2016, 08:56:17 AM »

But what useful work does the CPU have to do all the time? A typical desktop CPU will be sitting around with nothing to do most of the time (and saving energy by entering a low-power idle state).

My TP-Link 8970/9980 always reports of a /proc/loadavg of 2.99, while sitting around doing nothing besides acting as a network switch, and that's after I've killed off a lot of processes. So I suggest checking the /proc/loadavg value periodically, if it's always the same value, it's probably not very meaningful.
Logged

jstallan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #642 on: October 23, 2016, 12:25:06 PM »

Hi All,

I've just ordered a VMG8924, been digging through the forum but can't find a definitive answer. Does.it use the same f/w aa the 8324? Either way which is the most stable to be using from off the bat. I'm coming from a PN HubOne that has caused me nothing but issues so switching to a Zyxel go start logging stats.

Cheers

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Hi - I have a 8924 v14 firmware just working as a wireless router sitting behind an Huawei HG 612 modem and both are rock solid. Originally I wanted a one box solution (for neatness) but the 8924 would 'lock up' about every 5-6 days and the only option was to reboot it. I this the box just runs out of resources. Tried all different versions of firmware (v15 wasn't around then) but it didn't make any difference so opted for the 2 box solution. So far the 8924 has been up for 44 days.
Logged

lockdown

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #643 on: October 23, 2016, 01:06:24 PM »

Hi - I have a 8924 v14 firmware just working as a wireless router sitting behind an Huawei HG 612 modem and both are rock solid. Originally I wanted a one box solution (for neatness) but the 8924 would 'lock up' about every 5-6 days and the only option was to reboot it. I this the box just runs out of resources. Tried all different versions of firmware (v15 wasn't around then) but it didn't make any difference so opted for the 2 box solution. So far the 8924 has been up for 44 days.
Good to know, thanks. I got it up and running last night on v15, much happier with it than the dreaded HubOne/HH5. Apart from the obvious reasons for the switch I also wanted a one box solution and to monitor stats so next task is to get it DSL stats running in my Pi. My old HubOne would reconnect every few days so if I make it past a week with the 8924 I'll be happy. I'm pretty confident it was the hardware and not the line but I'll get the stats on the go and we'll see!

Thank again

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Logged

george7272

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: ZyXEL VMG8324-B10A Firmware
« Reply #644 on: October 23, 2016, 04:29:24 PM »

'top' only shows instantaneous busy-ness. If you're interested in the typical system load then Load Average is the measurement to evaluate - it represents the total utilisation of the CPU(s) over a sustained period (1, 5 and 15 minutes) where for each CPU 1.00 is the perfect value - for a dual-core device 2.00 would be perfect. These routers have two cores. Therefore anything less than 2.00 indicates under utilisation.

I agree with you. The top shows the load average as well and we can see some of the processes that consume more cpu time.
I dont have the router yet (I am waiting to get it) but it would be a good stress test if someone here does that test as we can see
how well the CPU behaves in load
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 64
 

anything